We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Bamberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Best in Bamberg”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Exclusive resort just a short walk from all the city centre attractions. We got a large corner suite (#601) with views over the river and the city. Impeccable service, convenient parking, excellent breakfeast. But it comes at a price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    159
    57
    19
    3
See reviews for
31
164
16
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England, USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent only one night and were fortunate enough to be given a large room in the front of the hotel overlooking the hotel's very pretty front garden. Two french doors opened onto the garden. The beds were comfortable and clean. Internet was indeed spotty and the a/c was non-existent. In fairness, it was in the 60's outside at night. Europeans open windows when it is cool outside- they don't run air conditioning until it is hot!

The location was perfect for exploring the old town, but tucked away enough to be quiet and peaceful for the night. Breakfast was fine, the parking was convenient and the front desk help friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trepidation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel left us a bit cold. the entrance was very imposing. But the room could have been any hotel, anywhere, and looked a bit dated. Breakfast was excellent, but we had issues with the wifi. The staff incorrectly informed us that we had to pay some extortionate amount for T Mobile. We got the hotel wifi to work, but found that logging on with one device resulted in one traveling companion's device being kicked off the network. The hotel has parking, and is a 15 minute walk from the old town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This was a really nice hotel on the Regniz River Bamberg, Germany. The rooms are nice sized with a great bathroom space. What I really loved about this property besides the super easy walking access to the old town, was the fact they rent bicycles! The staff was professional, courteous and spoke excellent English. The only downside to my stay was the room's air conditioning was very minimal, I just shut it off and opened the windows. This resulted in hearing a lot of noise from the restaurant across the river and surprising loud partiers in the middle of the night. Overall was a great hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the walking path
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg occupies a former palace in the heart of historic Bamberg, walking distance from the most interesting part of town. It is a lovely, grand hotel with very professional service. However, the rooms vary SIGNIFICANTLY. We booked 2 rooms. My wife and I were given a small, modern room in one of the rear buildings. We had to walk down halls, through passageways between buildings, take a couple of elevators, go through doors, in a drawn out effort to find our room. There seem to be 3 buildings; the middle one apparently is very low-scale and stinks of cigarette smoke. The rear building was much better, but our room rather small and kind of lost. Our other family members occupied a suite in the front, main building, and it was spacious, luxurious, offered a lovely view, and felt quite grand. My wife and I wound up upgrading (for 10 euros, for some reason!) to a suite in the main building, and it was a HUGE improvement. So... I can recommend this hotel, but only if you book the suites in the main building with a view to the courtyard in front of the hotel. Pay the extra money; it makes all the difference. When we visited the restaurant at about 7:30 p.m. for coffee and dessert, after the front desk clerk told us we could do that, we were told that the kuchen and cakes they had in a display all day had been put away at 7 pm. Our server checked with the kitchen, then told us that they could serve us dessert anyway. Then another server came by to say the kitchen had told him they could not, a brief discussion ensued, and in the end we had our cake. Very strange. The breakfast buffet was not spectacular, but it was ok. Anyhow, I am sure that if you book one of the luxurious suites in the main, front building, you will be happy with your stay.

Room Tip: Book a suite in the main, front building, or be prepared to be underwhelmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotels like this are a refreshing change. Having had a very difficult journey (flying to Frankfurt on a delayed flight), collecting a car, then driving to Bamberg (a good 2 hour drive) and finally arriving at the hotel at 1.00am, I was really not in the mood for any problem of any kind!

Thankfully, the hotel receptionist was excellent. Polite, courteous, quick and efficient. I had my room key in no time at all and safely off to my room. The room (612) was located on the second floor of hotel and was huge! A nice wardrobe area, with a door leading to the bathroom was the first room, then the bedroom area beyond that. The bedroom area had a large workstation desk area too, with complimentary internet access. A large LCD TV with a good selection of channels too.

The bed was comfortable and a good night's sleep ensued.

As has previously been mentioned, the breakfast is exceptional. A wide selection of foods and drinks offered in a buffet style, set in a calm and relaxed environment.

The hotel is a beautiful building and was immaculately clean throughout. All staff I encountered were polite, calm and efficient throughout my stay. Parking at the hotel was not free of charge, but was quick and convenient and there were plenty of parking spaces.

The hotel location is in good walking distance of everything you may wish to get to in Bamberg, set on the banks of the river. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. I will definitely return again should the need require it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

At 109 euro per night, it's not dirt cheap, but this well appointed hotel makes venturing into the heart of the Altstadt an easy task.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg

Property: Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Address: Untere Sandstr. 32, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing