We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, if you book the right room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg occupies a former palace in the heart of historic Bamberg, walking distance from the most interesting part of town. It is a lovely, grand hotel with very professional service. However, the rooms vary SIGNIFICANTLY. We booked 2 rooms. My wife and I were given a small, modern room in one of the rear buildings. We had to walk down halls, through passageways between buildings, take a couple of elevators, go through doors, in a drawn out effort to find our room. There seem to be 3 buildings; the middle one apparently is very low-scale and stinks of cigarette smoke. The rear building was much better, but our room rather small and kind of lost. Our other family members occupied a suite in the front, main building, and it was spacious, luxurious, offered a lovely view, and felt quite grand. My wife and I wound up upgrading (for 10 euros, for some reason!) to a suite in the main building, and it was a HUGE improvement. So... I can recommend this hotel, but only if you book the suites in the main building with a view to the courtyard in front of the hotel. Pay the extra money; it makes all the difference. When we visited the restaurant at about 7:30 p.m. for coffee and dessert, after the front desk clerk told us we could do that, we were told that the kuchen and cakes they had in a display all day had been put away at 7 pm. Our server checked with the kitchen, then told us that they could serve us dessert anyway. Then another server came by to say the kitchen had told him they could not, a brief discussion ensued, and in the end we had our cake. Very strange. The breakfast buffet was not spectacular, but it was ok. Anyhow, I am sure that if you book one of the luxurious suites in the main, front building, you will be happy with your stay.

Room Tip: Book a suite in the main, front building, or be prepared to be underwhelmed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

Hotels like this are a refreshing change. Having had a very difficult journey (flying to Frankfurt on a delayed flight), collecting a car, then driving to Bamberg (a good 2 hour drive) and finally arriving at the hotel at 1.00am, I was really not in the mood for any problem of any kind!

Thankfully, the hotel receptionist was excellent. Polite, courteous, quick and efficient. I had my room key in no time at all and safely off to my room. The room (612) was located on the second floor of hotel and was huge! A nice wardrobe area, with a door leading to the bathroom was the first room, then the bedroom area beyond that. The bedroom area had a large workstation desk area too, with complimentary internet access. A large LCD TV with a good selection of channels too.

The bed was comfortable and a good night's sleep ensued.

As has previously been mentioned, the breakfast is exceptional. A wide selection of foods and drinks offered in a buffet style, set in a calm and relaxed environment.

The hotel is a beautiful building and was immaculately clean throughout. All staff I encountered were polite, calm and efficient throughout my stay. Parking at the hotel was not free of charge, but was quick and convenient and there were plenty of parking spaces.

The hotel location is in good walking distance of everything you may wish to get to in Bamberg, set on the banks of the river. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. I will definitely return again should the need require it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJohnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

At 109 euro per night, it's not dirt cheap, but this well appointed hotel makes venturing into the heart of the Altstadt an easy task.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel Residenzschloss is within easy walking distance of many shops and places to eat and is located next to the river with walking trails and close to the auditorium for concerts etc. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfasts tremendous!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WisconsinHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had booked another hotel in Bamberg, but the appartment we had booked had very steep stairs up to 2nd floor where the bathroom was. We could have got a double and a single, but the single smelled of smoke - so we decided to look for another hotel.
We went to the tourist office and as we had a Ford Transit car, we needed a good parking place outside the hotel. So they recommended Hotel Residenzschloss - 4 star. First we looked at the 4 star price - but thought: never mind - lets stay 4 star for the first time. And it was 4 star ! Very friendly receptionstaff - who welcomed us with a big smile. Lovely big rooms and lovely big bathrooms.Very very clean. The hotel is lovely inside - and outside - right outside is the canal and you can walk into Bamberg in 10 min along the river. Lovely breakfast - everything you can ask for in the morning. The staff in the restaurant are so helpful and friendly and they have a good sense of humour too! Nice - it shows that they work well together. The food is very good too - we are 2 vegetarians and the vegetarian meal we had was very good.
So: for the first time we tried a 4 star - and had a lovely time! Nice and peaceful surroundings - so if you go to Bamberg, this is a hotel we think most of you will enjoy.
Thanks for a nice stay from Nynne Bender, Grethe Bender and Ragnar Fagervold

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nynne1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

over all a great hotel, the breakfast is really top notch!!
service was good. Spa facilities are standard. Some of the rooms are a long walk from reception.
downside when we arrived we asked where we could park the car and were informed that the hotel parking could be used, however no mention of the 8.50 euros a night which we had to pay on leaving the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank towskirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

old fashioned interior. room was stuffy and had a very noisy fan in the bathroom. carpets need a remake. terrible parking garage. mostly older guests traveling in large groups. terrible breakfast. all in all: not so cool.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cb1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
Bamberger Hof Bellevue
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg

Address: Untere Sandstr. 32, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $134 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing