We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Teeny tiny room for double occupancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Limburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Teeny tiny room for double occupancy”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is well located, the staff friendly and the decor very pleasant... BUT our room was only suitable for a single bed and single occupancy. It is NOT a double room, even though there is a narrow double bed crammed into it against the wall. This means that one person has no bedside light, nowhere to put a book/mobile/glass of water.. any of those things you usually use a bedside table for. If you need the bathroom in the night it's an undignified scramble over your sleeping partner. All this for €100 a night! Never again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pineappleLimburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    84
    47
    19
    49
See reviews for
58
141
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Located about 3 blocks from the main tourist center, this hotel offered a nice room that was small, but comfortable. We paid for breakfast and were satisfied with the selections available (standard breakfast with coffee and juice). Internet access was slow and un-encrypted, but also free. There was also an older television, which had different channels than the guide in the room listed.

Parking is available for 5E across the street and breakfast was 7.50E/person (Apr 2013).

Room Tip: Rooms 1-11 are on 1OG with higher rooms on 2OG (there is an elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. Friendly reception staff who spoke good English. But the Reception is not open 24 hours so you need to be careful if you are arriving later in the day. Room was large and very clean although lighting in bathroom is not good for makeup/shaving. Breakfast for seven Euros was excellent value: cereals, breads, cold meats, cheese and fruit.
Would recommend this hotel but you need to be aware of two factors. The hotel is accessed from the street/carpark by a dozen steps and when we stayed the lift inside was not working so this is not the place to stay for the mobility impaired. Secondly the hotel is close to the older part of Bamberg, up a steep slope from the river, which is the other side of town from the train station. If you arrive by train, as we did, you really need to take a taxi, around 10-12 Euros each way. If you drive there you have to pay extra to use the hotel carpark.
Access from the hotel on foot to the tourist parts of Bamberg is good.

Room Tip: Different reviewers speak of different size rooms so perhaps need to check before confirming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UbudBaliRichard_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I really cannot understand why this hotel has some negative reviews. My room was the largest I have ever stayed in (40 sqm) and it was extremely well furnished. The breakfast was wonderful - lots of fresh fruit and home-baking. The hotel atmosphere was quiet and calm and the staff were friendly and competent.

Room Tip: Room number 11 is huge (maybe the others are too!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank houghmagandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband & I & 2 children, aged 21 & 23 stayed in a family room at the Arkaden for 2 nights in September. The room was huge & beautifully furnished & the bathroom was lovely. There is a lift. I had read in reviews that it can be a little hard to find, so I had emailed them beforehand to get the exact address to give the taxi driver & we had no problem. It is located quite a way from the station, but very close to the town, so we could walk into the town easily. Breakfast was excellent. My emails before the visit were always answered promptly & the staff were very helpful. There were restaurants within 5 minutes walking time away. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We chose th Arkaden Hotel because it featured in the Michelin Guide for accommodation. Alarm bells should have rang when we were told there was only one room left (a valuable lesson in itself) but felt comfortable in accepting it because of the Michelin Guide. The room was tiny - the smallest we have ever stopped in. It was on the top level making it oppressively hot. We asked if there was a fan available but that was not an option and there was no air-conditioning. We then bought water so we could chill it but found no mini bar or fridge to keep it cold. We stayed on the eve of the Olympic opening and thought we would make a miserable evening pass by watching a world event. There was not one english speaking TV station. All this for 120 euro. It was the most we paid throughout Germany with the least amenities. The position is up a very steep walk away from the fun of the central streets and the lovely shopping. Bamberg should have been a lovely memory but not possible with such ordinary accommodation. Yes, we should have walked but after 4 hours driving on a 30C day, we could not muster another once of energy. Thank goodness for trip advisor so others can be warned.

Room Tip: Not room 21 - extremely small and tiny bed. Not in hot weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bamberg hotels

Truckee, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2012

The large, comfortable and charming room with immaculate bathroom (not a spot!) is a terrific place to return to after exploring the lovely town all day. We expected to hear church bells (being in a monastery) but it was amazingly quiet. Great breakfast (worth the cost), very helpful staff and convenient parking made us vow to return sometime when we visit Bavaria next.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penguino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alt Ringlein
Alt Ringlein
#8 of 40 in Bamberg
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaden Hotel im Kloster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaden Hotel im Kloster

Property: Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
Address: Karmelitenplatz 1 / Westfluegel | Am Knoecklein 1, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkaden Hotel im Kloster 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arkaden Hotel im Kloster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing