We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location but Noisy Neghbors”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tandem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tandem Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Location but Noisy Neghbors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Tandem earlier this month at the start of a Viking River Cruise. Since I booked my own travel I came in a day early and took the train from Frankfurt. Based on other posts, I had emailed to make sure that someone would be around earler in the day so that I could at least drop off my luggage. I arrived around 11:15 am and they had my room ready for me, which was not expected - but sincerely appreciated!

This is a fantastic location relative to the old town and all the sights. The staff were very helpful in recommending potential restaurants and places to visit that had great views of the city. I was even able to catch a festival on St. Michael's grounds with a traditional German Oompah band. The breakfast the next morning was excellent.

My main complaint was that the neighbors pulled a table outside and sat out until all hours drinking and arguing loudly directly under my window (which overlooked the river). The hotel is not air conditioned, so I had the windows open to catch a breeze. The lack of A/C wouldn't have been a problem (since there really was a nice breeze) except for the noisy neighbors - I ended up closing up the room at 1- 1:30 and was finally able to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjohn416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
37
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Tandem Hotel is a family run excellent place to stay for a holiday,Ideal location, quiet and yet close to all of Bamberg's amenities. The staff were exceptionally friendly and any request was greeted with a smile! Breakfast was a delight. The bedrooms were small but more than adequate. Beds comfortable ensuring a good night's sleep. Would have no hesitation recommending bamberg or The Tandem to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at the Tandem. The rooms are new (at least where we were), very clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the staff was very helpful and friendly. They were great in suggesting places to eat and have a beer and took care of all our requests right away.
As others have noted, there is no immediate parking on the property and they will suggest you park just down the road. No one seemed to mind when I parked on the sidewalk to offload our luggage, so this may be an option if you aren't afraid to drive over a curb. If you need assistance from the staff or have a special request for them, it is best to bring it up in the morning over breakfast as they do seem to disappear later in the afternoon. There is someone on the grounds that you can ring if miss them in the morning.
The location is great, you will be close to old town and plenty of places to eat.
We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldZombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

As with other reviews that I completely agree with, the Tandem is in a great location for the old town just over the river, the local breweries, the tourist attractions of castle and cathedral. The room and en suite are adequate and spotlessly clean. However, there are reservations when it comes to providing hotel services and amenities. The breakfast cafe at the time of the year we visited ( December) closed after breakfast and so there was nowhere to sit, have a coffee or just relax. There is no tea or coffee making equipment in the room, no tourist information or hotel information and although the staff were polite and friendly, they too disappeared later in the morning. If you want a clean, modern room in a great location with none of the hotel 'extras' then you would be very happy with the hotel but it did fall short of our expectations of a place calling itself a hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river at the front. Although it's on the road/ bridge, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liverbird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here in early November , the room was small but perfectly adequate , clean and functional with a lovely view over the river on two sides .Breakfast was fine in the cafe , and this hotel is only a short walk from the town and all its attractions. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon , and although we were told by e mail that parking was public and a 100 meters away it was at least this ,and difficulty in finding a place as well. You then have to get your luggage back to the hotel as parking outside next to the bridge is not possible . We used under the underpass to quickly decant the luggage . Overall a good one night stay but be aware of parking if arriving by car

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I concur with previous reviews - we stayed in the wing facing the river with its gentle flow and ducks. This interior is modern, less than 5 years old and immaculate. The other wing was redone in place rather than a tear-down. Jutta Weiss (owner) was our breakfast cook and waitress as this was the off-season. The location is perfect for the town, in my opinion. We wanted to see the Dom-area church, the Residence and Michaelkirche, which were very close at hand. Good view of town from Michaelskirche. We walked the streets around the river from the hotel down to just below the Old Town Hall - we were also canvassing for eateries, ending up at the Schlenkerla as one choice suggested by Jutta - a brewery/tavern with good food - the beer is local and has a mysterious smoky taste. We met a couple from Leipzig there whose English far surpassed our German. They were in town for nearby hot spring baths.

Room Tip: If you want modern interiors (while quiet), ask for the river side. We did not visit the other wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_anthony_75023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Small family run hotel just beside the river. The building was a wreck and has been totally renovated. Our big room was on the second floor with windows on two walls. Excellent double glazing and comfy bed meant a good night's sleep. Great shower too. Very good breakfast in the café downstairs. We came by train and used a taxi to get to hotel - under 10€. Not sure where you could park there, but they do have bike storage. Very convenient for the Altstadt and a wide range of restaurants within 10-15 minutes. Bamberg really worth seeing too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Heyhey49de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
0.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 40 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Hotel

Property: Tandem Hotel
Address: Untere Sandstr. 20, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tandem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Tandem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing