We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, with some reservations.”
Review of Tandem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tandem Hotel
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2012

As with other reviews that I completely agree with, the Tandem is in a great location for the old town just over the river, the local breweries, the tourist attractions of castle and cathedral. The room and en suite are adequate and spotlessly clean. However, there are reservations when it comes to providing hotel services and amenities. The breakfast cafe at the time of the year we visited ( December) closed after breakfast and so there was nowhere to sit, have a coffee or just relax. There is no tea or coffee making equipment in the room, no tourist information or hotel information and although the staff were polite and friendly, they too disappeared later in the morning. If you want a clean, modern room in a great location with none of the hotel 'extras' then you would be very happy with the hotel but it did fall short of our expectations of a place calling itself a hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river at the front. Although it's on the road/ bridge, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverbird57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 82 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here in early November , the room was small but perfectly adequate , clean and functional with a lovely view over the river on two sides .Breakfast was fine in the cafe , and this hotel is only a short walk from the town and all its attractions. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon , and although we were told by e mail that parking was public and a 100 meters away it was at least this ,and difficulty in finding a place as well. You then have to get your luggage back to the hotel as parking outside next to the bridge is not possible . We used under the underpass to quickly decant the luggage . Overall a good one night stay but be aware of parking if arriving by car

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I concur with previous reviews - we stayed in the wing facing the river with its gentle flow and ducks. This interior is modern, less than 5 years old and immaculate. The other wing was redone in place rather than a tear-down. Jutta Weiss (owner) was our breakfast cook and waitress as this was the off-season. The location is perfect for the town, in my opinion. We wanted to see the Dom-area church, the Residence and Michaelkirche, which were very close at hand. Good view of town from Michaelskirche. We walked the streets around the river from the hotel down to just below the Old Town Hall - we were also canvassing for eateries, ending up at the Schlenkerla as one choice suggested by Jutta - a brewery/tavern with good food - the beer is local and has a mysterious smoky taste. We met a couple from Leipzig there whose English far surpassed our German. They were in town for nearby hot spring baths.

Room Tip: If you want modern interiors (while quiet), ask for the river side. We did not visit the other wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_anthony_75023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Small family run hotel just beside the river. The building was a wreck and has been totally renovated. Our big room was on the second floor with windows on two walls. Excellent double glazing and comfy bed meant a good night's sleep. Great shower too. Very good breakfast in the café downstairs. We came by train and used a taxi to get to hotel - under 10€. Not sure where you could park there, but they do have bike storage. Very convenient for the Altstadt and a wide range of restaurants within 10-15 minutes. Bamberg really worth seeing too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Heyhey49de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Last minute booking for a short cycling trip. Very impresssed with location complete with view of ducks and quiet enough to not feel over run by tourists. Great cycle park in cellar. Beautifully presented breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackcap67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Tandem by accident, because due to a trades fair all hotels in Nuremberg and Erlangen were either fully booked or charged ridiculous prices. Small Hotel, I had a beautiful room on the river, good bed, desk, free internet, good bathroom, great breakfast at the cafe, very competitive prices. Very friendly staff. Will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

while the tandem hotel isn't in the epicenter of all the bamberg sites, it's still a great location with a lovely view of the river and easily walkable to wherever we wanted to go. the room was very clean, modern and, overall, a comfortable place to stay. we stayed on the top floor, which was no problem at all for us, but may be a red flag for someone who can't manage the stairs.

the only hiccup we experienced was locking ourselves out of our room, which granted was our fault (my husband pushed a button in the doorknob he shouldn't have), but was a little disconcerting at the time! it was late in the afternoon and the owner seemed to have left for the day, so we went across the street to a restaurant, where a very helpful and friendly person called her for us. so in the end, no big deal, but i felt there should have been an emergency contact number. maybe there was and we didn't realize, i'm not sure.

because the tandem hotel has its own cafe the breakfast was great! fresh fruit and cheese, charcuterie--a very nice, delicious and mightily convenient meal!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tandem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tandem Hotel

Address: Untere Sandstr. 20, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $124 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tandem Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tandem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing