We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly but don't bring your kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bergschloesschen Hotel
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Set atop a hill overlooking old Bamberg, our room #16 offered a wonderful view of the morning fog lifting off the dozen or so bell towers of the churches below. In the morning we noticed a few guests leaving with their pets which is fine but I wouldn't call this a familly-friendly place. For one thing the bathroom door is glass (see-through) and there is a larger- than- life orgiastic mural in the staircase. Our bedroom's theme was zebra print ... Funky for consenting adults of any stripes... The mattress offered decent comfort and the room was clean and tidy. There is an airy, modern and relaxing breakfast room and a large lounge/reception area with many comfortable sofas on the ground floor. Full windows offer the same great view of Bamberg and the surrounding hills. Very good european-style breakfast choices: cheeses, cold-cuts, pâtés, smoked salmon and the like. There is also a desert counter next to the coffee bar. Pleasant (and pretty!) wait staff. We arrived by car at 7PM in the rain so we found it a bit of a challenge to locate. However, there is parking on the premises and also a bus stop on the corner of the street. Ask the hotel for infos.

Room Tip: the rooms with a view are #11 and #16. There is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcyMontr_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 62 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2011

This property is way above town in a largely residential neighborhood on the Jakobsberg. As such there's a great view into the valley, but virtually nothing else you can walk to. Comfortably.

OK, it's a nice walk, but a long one -- I'm guessing a half mile -- down the hill. And hiking back up, especially after downing a few drinks, is likely an undertaking better suited to the young and/or the fit. Women: I wouldn't recommend climbing this hill alone after dark as the path is largely unlit.

There is (very) limited bus service. And, Yes, there's parking up at the hotel, but who wants to drive? The whole appeal of a place like Bamberg, "Word Heritage Site", largely undamaged during World War II, is the strolling and ogling and hanging about. Should you arrive during one of the (many) holidays celebrated here, you'll find a lot of the streets closed to motor vehicle traffic; then the medieval town becomes a gridlock nightmare.

So while I can't complain about the service, or breakfast, or rooms, it's the view that sells this place. If you feature gazing into lovely Franconian vistas from the outskirts, this is for you. If you'd prefer to be nearer the center of things, go elsewhere.

One more thing. This is another of those hotels that's decided to encourage intimacy among its guests. Whether they want it or not. I refer to glass bathroom doors. Could be worse. We stayed at a place in Metz a while back where they'd dispensed with the doors altogether.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exspecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank thomas e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank b1830001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer oben mit Blick über Bamberg
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gerhardwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Barock Hotel am Dom
Barock Hotel am Dom
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Wohnbar
Hotel Wohnbar
#21 of 40 in Bamberg
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
Arkaden Hotel im Kloster
#36 of 40 in Bamberg
300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palais Schrottenberg
Palais Schrottenberg
#20 of 40 in Bamberg
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bergschloesschen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bergschloesschen Hotel

Address: Am Bundleshof 2, 96049 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $54 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bergschloesschen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Bergschloesschen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing