We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, not the worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Not the best, not the worst”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, convenient bike parking, spacious bathroom, fair price...

There was a bit of a funky smell in our room, and I would have preferred to be closer to the old town, but for 110/night, I suppose it was ok. I've stayed at other places in Bamberg that I've liked better, but they were a lot more expensive.

This is across the street from a great sushi place, should you need a break from German food while in Bamberg.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    175
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
234
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't bother continuing the search for a hotel in Bamberg. You will not find a better option than this hotel. It is simply the best. The location is perfect ie a few minutes walk from the train station and a few minutes walk into the old town. The room could not be faulted in any way (and after a very long flight this is the certainly the number one priority). The staff at this hotel are fantastic. The breakfast is probably the best we have had (and we have had a few!)
Just returned from three weeks staying in hotels in Germany and Austria and this was without doubt the standout!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHREWSBURY, Shrops
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for five nights over the New Year period and without rehashing what previous reviewers have authored I can only say that I have no superlatives to add; this is an EXCELLENT hotel, from the breakfast (fresh, varied and plentiful), clean spacious rooms to the staff (efficient, polite helpful and very polite).

Although not in Bamberg Altstadt itself, the hotel is ideally located with the old town being reached with a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel also benefits rail travellers with its location, the train station also being a 5-10 minute walk; turn left out of hotel and carry straight on!

As previously mentioned the breakfast is very, very good and you can certainly 'fill up' for the day. Top tip: if you are a caffeine addict you can take 'coffee to go' from the machine ( a very good cappuccino/latte etc dispenser and certainly better than some!). There is also a small machine located in the foyer where free tea/coffee is available 24/7 and occasionally croissants/buns and or biscuits. Although the hotel doesn't have a restaurant (service) there is plenty of choice for every budget in close proximity, from the ubiquitous döner kebab to Chinese takeaway.

Top tip: for Sushi lovers directly outside the hotel is Ichi San Japanese restaurant, which I found to be great value and the varying sushi platters were amazing, not far off the best I've tasted (all subjective of course). Be warned though if your partners/friends are not raw fish fans the menu appeared limited.

A great hotel in a lovely city, if I return to Bamberg in the future I know where I will be staying! Travellers do yourselves a favour STAY IN THIS HOTEL. Whilst it may lack the ambience or architectural magnificence, due to modernity, of older hotels it more than makes up with its customer service & ethos.

KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK Best Western Bamberg!

"Wir hatten eine tolle zeit"

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sith8140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is fabulous. The rooms are clean, very large(couch, chair and desk), bathroom products provided and had a kettle for tea and coffee. The bathroom had both a bath and large shower.
The hotel is sign posted from the train station and was an easy walk. The old town is about a 5-10 minute walk. There is also a supermarket next door.
Breakfast was included and was great, plenty of things to chose from.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I read that hotel excellent and I completely agree with this opinion. The staff very friendly and helpful. Very clean and spacious room. The hotel located between train station and old town. There are hot (tea, coffee) and water in the lobby at any time for free.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina555_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed at this property for 8 nights this fall. Everything about this hotel was great. The rooms are very clean and good size. The parking under the hotel works good. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is centrally located in Bamberg and it is a 5 minute walk to the downtown area.

Room Tip: The suites are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottercastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I can only agree with previous reviewers of this hotel. It is very clean the breakfast is very good, well located with only a short walk to the sights. What makes this hotel is the staff always smiling and verynh helpful. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 40 in Bamberg
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#10 of 40 in Bamberg
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Romantik Hotel Weinhaus Messerschmitt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bamberg

Property: Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing