We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The basics done perfectly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The basics done perfectly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel provides all the basics about as perfectly as possible. The hotel was immaculately clean; our room was comfortable and well laid-out; our bathroom was new, functional, well-designed, and spacious; there was a free laundry room on our floor; the breakfast was ample and delicious; and the staff were friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. And the hotel is an easy walk from the train station, and an easy walk to the historic/tourism area. Of course you probably realize by now that this is not one of Bamberg's charming and gemütlich historic inns and is not located in the tourist area. But if you are looking for a well-located, comfortable, clean, and well-run modern hotel this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    156
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
60
206
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is situated conveniently between the railway station and the city centre. It seems to be quite new and the room was clean, even though not especially big. Plenty of tv channels (Beate Uhse channel didn't work, even though it was on the list...) and toiletries were available. Friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent.

However, the view from the window was rather dull, there was no fridge in the room and wi-fi connection annoyingly snapped off every time when there was no data traffic for a couple of minutes or so, at least with my mobile phone (so relogging in was needed). Diners Club was not accepted.

But I can highly recommend this place, since all the fundamental things were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Clean, modern, friendly staff, well appointed, underground parking for 8 euros per day and breakfast included. Hotel had laundry room for guests to wash/dry/iron for free. Free wifi. Located across the river from city center. All sites are walkable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BoydChicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with an extremely warm welcome from reception. Everyone was very friendly to our 15 month old baby and reception very helpful. The room was nice, modern, air conditioned and spotless. The breakfast was excellent. There is easy parking underneath for 8 Euros per 24 hours. The Hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the altstadt, just a couple minutes walk away. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Bamberg due to friend's hotel choice. There is nothing you can set your finger on besides the location, which is a fair distance from the old city center. Nonetheless Bamberg has numerous more charming hotels than this very bland Best Western hotel. Ok room, very clean bathroom, good breakfast and so on. You could be anywhere in the world, but if you enjoy the safety of Best Western standards, then go for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

As has been stated before, this is a well managed hotel.

The Receptionist was very helpful and informative about the hotel in general and also in locating potential places in the locality on a street map for us to have dinner.

Our room, a standard seemed to be compact, but I suppose to be expected for a city hotel, although the hotel was on a busy road, once the air con was cranked up the traffic noise was not too noticeable until morning. The modern ensuite was a wet room shower, which suited us better than a bath, in my opinion the sink was far too large and as a result the surrounding surface too small, so we had to live out of our wash bags instead of spreading out. I think this was probably a design feature, which looked good, but was not so practical, except for the chambermaids.
Overall the room was comfortable and breakfast very good, the breakfast staff were very unobtrusive, but willing.

It's a short walk across either of the bridges into the old town. We were pleasantly surprised to find that two of Bamberg's many breweries were just a few feet, staggering distance from the hotel. The Spezial Brauerei and the Fassla Brauerei, both serve food, although can get very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LixwmLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ignore the three stars on the hotel's entrance. This is really a four-star hotel, and it certainly deserves its high rating on TripAdvisor.

Yes, the façade is modern. It more than makes up for it with its amenities and service. I booked a double room - upgraded to a spacious suite at check-in. The suite was great, very comfortable, excellent sound isolation. Very clean. Excellent bathroom amenities (shampoos and soaps in different small bottles).

The service was top-notch. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, without exception. I had a cappuccino in the breakfast room in the morning on day one, and this was instantly remembered and offered without my asking over the next several days. The breakfast itself was very praiseworthy: a buffet with a lot of choice, very filling and tasty.

Location, it is true, is outside the old town, but it's only a ten-minute walk and a pleasant one at that. Conveniently, it's also ten minutes away (walk) from the train station.

Bottom line: can't recommend the place highly enough and I will not hesitate to stay here again if I am ever back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard, it's quieter that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#13 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing