We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceeded expectations.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We arrived at this hotel with an extremely warm welcome from reception. Everyone was very friendly to our 15 month old baby and reception very helpful. The room was nice, modern, air conditioned and spotless. The breakfast was excellent. There is easy parking underneath for 8 Euros per 24 hours. The Hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the altstadt, just a couple minutes walk away. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimiChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    144
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
195
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Bamberg due to friend's hotel choice. There is nothing you can set your finger on besides the location, which is a fair distance from the old city center. Nonetheless Bamberg has numerous more charming hotels than this very bland Best Western hotel. Ok room, very clean bathroom, good breakfast and so on. You could be anywhere in the world, but if you enjoy the safety of Best Western standards, then go for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

As has been stated before, this is a well managed hotel.

The Receptionist was very helpful and informative about the hotel in general and also in locating potential places in the locality on a street map for us to have dinner.

Our room, a standard seemed to be compact, but I suppose to be expected for a city hotel, although the hotel was on a busy road, once the air con was cranked up the traffic noise was not too noticeable until morning. The modern ensuite was a wet room shower, which suited us better than a bath, in my opinion the sink was far too large and as a result the surrounding surface too small, so we had to live out of our wash bags instead of spreading out. I think this was probably a design feature, which looked good, but was not so practical, except for the chambermaids.
Overall the room was comfortable and breakfast very good, the breakfast staff were very unobtrusive, but willing.

It's a short walk across either of the bridges into the old town. We were pleasantly surprised to find that two of Bamberg's many breweries were just a few feet, staggering distance from the hotel. The Spezial Brauerei and the Fassla Brauerei, both serve food, although can get very busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LixwmLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ignore the three stars on the hotel's entrance. This is really a four-star hotel, and it certainly deserves its high rating on TripAdvisor.

Yes, the façade is modern. It more than makes up for it with its amenities and service. I booked a double room - upgraded to a spacious suite at check-in. The suite was great, very comfortable, excellent sound isolation. Very clean. Excellent bathroom amenities (shampoos and soaps in different small bottles).

The service was top-notch. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, without exception. I had a cappuccino in the breakfast room in the morning on day one, and this was instantly remembered and offered without my asking over the next several days. The breakfast itself was very praiseworthy: a buffet with a lot of choice, very filling and tasty.

Location, it is true, is outside the old town, but it's only a ten-minute walk and a pleasant one at that. Conveniently, it's also ten minutes away (walk) from the train station.

Bottom line: can't recommend the place highly enough and I will not hesitate to stay here again if I am ever back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard, it's quieter that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a well located hotel in a delightful small medieval city. Hotel Bamberg is a short straight walk from the railroad station and a 10 minute walk to the heart of the Alt Stadt or old town. Rooms are well laid out and clean. An excellent breakfast is provided and internet wifi is free and completely functional. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Coffee and tea are always available in the lobby.We had a wonderful stay in a most picturesque setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLNCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a hotel i have stayed in three times.The location is great,five minutes walk from main train station.One road straight from the main exit to hotel.Then only five to ten minutes into old town.Best to book early for best prices,as Bamberg is very popular.Breakfast very good and staff all extremely friendly.Tourist info centre is only ten minutes away also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waffen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
282 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The Best Western's Hotel Bamberg was modern with nicely decorated rooms that were large (US size), clean, and well laid out. The breakfast offered a good selection of yogurts, cereals, pastries, jams, meats (sausage, bacon (speck), cold cuts), cheeses (sliced, hard, soft), breads, and fruits (fresh, dried). A parking garage is located under the hotel. All hotel personnel were cheerful and accommodating. Overall, there was a strong sense that this was a well managed hotel.

Located about a 10 minute walk from the old part of town, the hotel is not quite as atmospheric or picturesque as some of the other hotels, but I have stayed at several of them in the past and will make the Hotel Bamberg my choice when I come back to Bamberg.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing