We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-rating must be a mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western in Bamberg due to friend's hotel choice. There is nothing you can set your finger on besides the location, which is a fair distance from the old city center. Nonetheless Bamberg has numerous more charming hotels than this very bland Best Western hotel. Ok room, very clean bathroom, good breakfast and so on. You could be anywhere in the world, but if you enjoy the safety of Best Western standards, then go for it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birgit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 508 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

As has been stated before, this is a well managed hotel.

The Receptionist was very helpful and informative about the hotel in general and also in locating potential places in the locality on a street map for us to have dinner.

Our room, a standard seemed to be compact, but I suppose to be expected for a city hotel, although the hotel was on a busy road, once the air con was cranked up the traffic noise was not too noticeable until morning. The modern ensuite was a wet room shower, which suited us better than a bath, in my opinion the sink was far too large and as a result the surrounding surface too small, so we had to live out of our wash bags instead of spreading out. I think this was probably a design feature, which looked good, but was not so practical, except for the chambermaids.
Overall the room was comfortable and breakfast very good, the breakfast staff were very unobtrusive, but willing.

It's a short walk across either of the bridges into the old town. We were pleasantly surprised to find that two of Bamberg's many breweries were just a few feet, staggering distance from the hotel. The Spezial Brauerei and the Fassla Brauerei, both serve food, although can get very busy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llanarmonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Ignore the three stars on the hotel's entrance. This is really a four-star hotel, and it certainly deserves its high rating on TripAdvisor.

Yes, the façade is modern. It more than makes up for it with its amenities and service. I booked a double room - upgraded to a spacious suite at check-in. The suite was great, very comfortable, excellent sound isolation. Very clean. Excellent bathroom amenities (shampoos and soaps in different small bottles).

The service was top-notch. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, without exception. I had a cappuccino in the breakfast room in the morning on day one, and this was instantly remembered and offered without my asking over the next several days. The breakfast itself was very praiseworthy: a buffet with a lot of choice, very filling and tasty.

Location, it is true, is outside the old town, but it's only a ten-minute walk and a pleasant one at that. Conveniently, it's also ten minutes away (walk) from the train station.

Bottom line: can't recommend the place highly enough and I will not hesitate to stay here again if I am ever back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the courtyard, it's quieter that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipperley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHotelTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Bamberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely report about your recent stay with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you found our reception staff incredible. Everyone in our team is very passionate about providing only the very best personalized service at all times to make all guests feel valued and special, so we are pleased that we did everything possible to make your stay.
We really do appreciate your wonderful review, and on behalf of the entire team here, we would like to thank you for your very kind words.

We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

BEST regards,
The Team of Best Western Hotel Bamberg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a well located hotel in a delightful small medieval city. Hotel Bamberg is a short straight walk from the railroad station and a 10 minute walk to the heart of the Alt Stadt or old town. Rooms are well laid out and clean. An excellent breakfast is provided and internet wifi is free and completely functional. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Coffee and tea are always available in the lobby.We had a wonderful stay in a most picturesque setting.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLNCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a hotel i have stayed in three times.The location is great,five minutes walk from main train station.One road straight from the main exit to hotel.Then only five to ten minutes into old town.Best to book early for best prices,as Bamberg is very popular.Breakfast very good and staff all extremely friendly.Tourist info centre is only ten minutes away also.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waffen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Best Western's Hotel Bamberg was modern with nicely decorated rooms that were large (US size), clean, and well laid out. The breakfast offered a good selection of yogurts, cereals, pastries, jams, meats (sausage, bacon (speck), cold cuts), cheeses (sliced, hard, soft), breads, and fruits (fresh, dried). A parking garage is located under the hotel. All hotel personnel were cheerful and accommodating. Overall, there was a strong sense that this was a well managed hotel.

Located about a 10 minute walk from the old part of town, the hotel is not quite as atmospheric or picturesque as some of the other hotels, but I have stayed at several of them in the past and will make the Hotel Bamberg my choice when I come back to Bamberg.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As the title suggests this was our 2nd hotel on our holidays.
This is a modern hotel in the centre of Bamberg so is very close to all what the city has to offer it also has its own parking (Underground and charged)it was safe so i don't mind being charged for that service the hotel is modern so lacks the old feel but that did not let it down in any way, check in was good and we where given passwords for the free wi-fi without having to ask so a plus for that our room was a modern hotel room very nice well appointed and very clean with plenty of shampoo and shower gel.
We ate out at night and hotel staff where good at advising us of dining options we did have breakfast and that was excellent a good hotel to explore Bamberg i will return as Bamberg has a lot to offer and i will use this hotel when i do

Room Tip: Modern hotel all room are alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#8 of 40 in Bamberg
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $108 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing