We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“First Class Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
279 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“First Class Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The Best Western's Hotel Bamberg was modern with nicely decorated rooms that were large (US size), clean, and well laid out. The breakfast offered a good selection of yogurts, cereals, pastries, jams, meats (sausage, bacon (speck), cold cuts), cheeses (sliced, hard, soft), breads, and fruits (fresh, dried). A parking garage is located under the hotel. All hotel personnel were cheerful and accommodating. Overall, there was a strong sense that this was a well managed hotel.

Located about a 10 minute walk from the old part of town, the hotel is not quite as atmospheric or picturesque as some of the other hotels, but I have stayed at several of them in the past and will make the Hotel Bamberg my choice when I come back to Bamberg.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    140
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
190
24
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As the title suggests this was our 2nd hotel on our holidays.
This is a modern hotel in the centre of Bamberg so is very close to all what the city has to offer it also has its own parking (Underground and charged)it was safe so i don't mind being charged for that service the hotel is modern so lacks the old feel but that did not let it down in any way, check in was good and we where given passwords for the free wi-fi without having to ask so a plus for that our room was a modern hotel room very nice well appointed and very clean with plenty of shampoo and shower gel.
We ate out at night and hotel staff where good at advising us of dining options we did have breakfast and that was excellent a good hotel to explore Bamberg i will return as Bamberg has a lot to offer and i will use this hotel when i do

Room Tip: Modern hotel all room are alike
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
252 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found this hotel in a great location, well within walking distance from all the major landmarks of Bamberg. The room is extremely clean and well lit and comfortable. Breakfast is terrific and attached underground parking is convnenient. It may be on the expensive side but it is kept in great conditions. Elevators could be congested so it's best to walk if you stay on the lower levels. There are not many resataurants near by as they are located in the old part of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown, pa
Level Contributor
430 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Seriously, the buffet breakfast was superb...many meats and cheeses, scrambled eggs, speck, sausages, pickles, olives, nine types of jams, three different honeys, five muesli, assorted breads and fruits, and a coffee machine with at least six different drink settings. The room was pleasant, and if it weren't raining, you could enjoy patio dining. Our room had a large king bed( two twins together), and might have been for handicapped persons. It was clean, bright, and had ample storage. The wifi was okay, but you had to sign in every time you used it. We appreciated the additional amenities....coffee and snacks in the reception area, and especially the washer and dryer, which we were happy to use. The location was fine, within walking distance to town. Parking was cheap compared to other cities, and nice and convenient. We too used our AAA discount!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is easy to reach and is situated at walking distance from the historical heart of the city. There is a good closed but payable parking. The room and the bathroom are clean and spacious. The breakfast is up to the standard but no more. This is a clean, adequate modern hotel lacking atmosphere and personality, like most hotels of big chains.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Position is good, just a little bit outside from the old part of the city. Few minutes walk to the main attractions. The price is little bit high. Breakfast is excellent. Free coffee at the reception. Wireless lan coverage quite bad, at least in our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in Bamberg, easily walkable from the train station. The rooms are very well designed, fitting a lot into a smaller space. Beds were comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The front desk personnel were very helpful and nice. There were even complimentary tea, coffee, and croissants in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was superb, with everything you could want. Although there was a free clothes washer and dryer on the top floor, it was always busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aloudnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#3 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing