We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

As the title suggests this was our 2nd hotel on our holidays.
This is a modern hotel in the centre of Bamberg so is very close to all what the city has to offer it also has its own parking (Underground and charged)it was safe so i don't mind being charged for that service the hotel is modern so lacks the old feel but that did not let it down in any way, check in was good and we where given passwords for the free wi-fi without having to ask so a plus for that our room was a modern hotel room very nice well appointed and very clean with plenty of shampoo and shower gel.
We ate out at night and hotel staff where good at advising us of dining options we did have breakfast and that was excellent a good hotel to explore Bamberg i will return as Bamberg has a lot to offer and i will use this hotel when i do

Room Tip: Modern hotel all room are alike
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Bamberg
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 499 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We found this hotel in a great location, well within walking distance from all the major landmarks of Bamberg. The room is extremely clean and well lit and comfortable. Breakfast is terrific and attached underground parking is convnenient. It may be on the expensive side but it is kept in great conditions. Elevators could be congested so it's best to walk if you stay on the lower levels. There are not many resataurants near by as they are located in the old part of town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhlchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Seriously, the buffet breakfast was superb...many meats and cheeses, scrambled eggs, speck, sausages, pickles, olives, nine types of jams, three different honeys, five muesli, assorted breads and fruits, and a coffee machine with at least six different drink settings. The room was pleasant, and if it weren't raining, you could enjoy patio dining. Our room had a large king bed( two twins together), and might have been for handicapped persons. It was clean, bright, and had ample storage. The wifi was okay, but you had to sign in every time you used it. We appreciated the additional amenities....coffee and snacks in the reception area, and especially the washer and dryer, which we were happy to use. The location was fine, within walking distance to town. Parking was cheap compared to other cities, and nice and convenient. We too used our AAA discount!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is easy to reach and is situated at walking distance from the historical heart of the city. There is a good closed but payable parking. The room and the bathroom are clean and spacious. The breakfast is up to the standard but no more. This is a clean, adequate modern hotel lacking atmosphere and personality, like most hotels of big chains.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacques V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Position is good, just a little bit outside from the old part of the city. Few minutes walk to the main attractions. The price is little bit high. Breakfast is excellent. Free coffee at the reception. Wireless lan coverage quite bad, at least in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice hotel in Bamberg, easily walkable from the train station. The rooms are very well designed, fitting a lot into a smaller space. Beds were comfortable, and the room was very quiet. The front desk personnel were very helpful and nice. There were even complimentary tea, coffee, and croissants in the lobby. The complimentary breakfast was superb, with everything you could want. Although there was a free clothes washer and dryer on the top floor, it was always busy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aloudnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Best Western Bamberg deserves its excellent rating on Tripadvisor. This is a clean modern hotel midway between the train station and the old town; about 15 mins walk to each. We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and that is exactly what we got, plus free internet, lovely breakfast and a coupon for 2 welcome drinks in the bar.

The room for our 2-night stay was modern, with neutral furnishings, a good size, bright and well laid out. The bathroom was lovely...compact, with complimentary toiletries, a great walk-in shower, and quality fittings with everything working well. The twin beds were fabulous with firm mattresses and 2 large pillows. We had a mini fridge too but we are not sure if this is a standard inclusion. Other room features include 2 chairs, small round table, flat panel TV (about 26 inch), desk with lamp, small cupboard, a few drawers and some extra hanging space for coats etc. Internet was free and worked well although it did seem slow at times. The TV here has many channels but only about 4 in English, including CNN, BBC News and Eurosport. The room was bright as a result of the large (opening) windows

In the foyer there was free coffee and snacks on a help-yourself basis. There is a supermarket in the building (20 m away) so it's easy to buy anything you may need. The hotel breakfast was great, with a good selection of quality hot and cold food. The breakfast room was spacious and bright, a nice place to linger just a little longer over great coffee.

We would definitely recommend the hotel to other travellers. We were able to use our AAA membership too which is not always possible in Best Westerns in Europe.

Room Tip: Corner room had windows on 2 sides which made the room bright. Rooms away from the elevator would be...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#8 of 40 in Bamberg
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bamberg

Address: Luitpoldstrasse 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range: $110 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing