We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel in picturesque city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel in picturesque city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. In fact, this is one of the better hotels we have ever stayed at in Europe. The room was large, modern and very well equipped. We were lucky enough to be located right next to the free washing machine and dryer and they got very well used! The hotel is located within a comfortable walk from both the railway station and the old town. A supermarket is right alongside the hotel. The breakfast was very good also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietravellers05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    144
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
195
25
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Pretty much all the positive things have been said in other reviews so I'll just say we were really satisfied with our choice to stay here.

One thing we felt was a plus is that there are two local breweries right around the corner and another 4 in a short walking distance.

If you sign up for the Bamberg beer discovery walking tour you'll be walking right by the hotel in case you need a break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. It is new, fresh, modern, clean and inviting. The lobby is spacious - 24 hour bar and snacks. Convenient parking. Our room was huge, had a great layout and was very comfortable. Little bags of gummy bears on our pillows instead of chocolate was a charming touch. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to the old town. There is a little market next door which is very convenient. I highly recommend and would be thrilled to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Recently stayed one night here while visiting the charming small city of Bamberg.

Hotel location is about as far from the main centre as you'd want to be before it became inconvenient, about 10-15 minute walk. Hotel has the benefit of underground car parking which is essential if travelling by car to this historic city.

Check in was friendly and efficient and a room was immediately available even though we arrived mid morning (had a prior reservation).

Room was large and fresh - corporate style design, you could have been anywhere but it was perfect for our needs. The two single beds were comfortable if a little firm and very generous in size. Bathroom was a pod style wet room, quite stylish but the WC pan was set too high we thought ! Toiletries and towels provided were adequate. The a/c was good to have too as it was warm weather.

We had breakfast which was served in a first floor breakfast room. We were surprised how busy it was, we thought the hotel quiet, so maybe not many guests but there obviously were. Breakfast was very good - ample selection, all constantly replenished and very good quality.

Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this hotel while driving from Heidelberg to Dresden. They have a very convenient underground parking. The staff was excellent. The rooms were very nice, modern, but what was really appreciated was the air conditioning on a hot day. They also conveniently have a washer, dryer, and iron for the guests' use. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Only a short walk from the old town. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank isla-soleada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very modern western style hotel close to the heart of the city. This hotel conveniently sits next door to a nice organic grocery store and has an underground parking garage. Room was bright, air conditioned and very clean. Just a short walk to the heart of the city and shopping.

The only two complaints were that the beds were typical hard German beds and the water pressure in the shower was lacking, but being a new hotel, I assume they had many regulations to deal with on that.

We considered staying in a more typically German hotel, but in the end were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EskimoTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
433 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I always try to find hotels with a soul, which is hard to find in hotels in modern buildings. But in Bamberg I decided to try this hotel, because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and because it was easy to park our car in their garage. And I didn't find the other hotels in Bamberg too interesting when browsing the Internet.
The young lady in the reception was utterly friendly and our superior room was spacious and good. The breakfast was really great and professionally managed. A waiter was all the time checking that nothing were missing at the buffet. But it was not a hotel with a soul..............

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#6 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
0.5 mi away
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
Villa Geyerswoerth Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing