We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern and Close to the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Modern and Close to the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Very modern western style hotel close to the heart of the city. This hotel conveniently sits next door to a nice organic grocery store and has an underground parking garage. Room was bright, air conditioned and very clean. Just a short walk to the heart of the city and shopping.

The only two complaints were that the beds were typical hard German beds and the water pressure in the shower was lacking, but being a new hotel, I assume they had many regulations to deal with on that.

We considered staying in a more typically German hotel, but in the end were glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EskimoTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    156
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
60
206
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
461 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I always try to find hotels with a soul, which is hard to find in hotels in modern buildings. But in Bamberg I decided to try this hotel, because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and because it was easy to park our car in their garage. And I didn't find the other hotels in Bamberg too interesting when browsing the Internet.
The young lady in the reception was utterly friendly and our superior room was spacious and good. The breakfast was really great and professionally managed. A waiter was all the time checking that nothing were missing at the buffet. But it was not a hotel with a soul..............

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Looking_for_charme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the train station and about 10 minutes from the pedestrian heart of Bamberg.

On 3 separate occasions over the course of 10 days, we stayed in 3 different rooms (as we traveled through Franconia) and all were clean, modern, and soundproof.

And then of course there's the buffet breakfast: everything you could wish for, and delicious and plentiful.

On top of all that, staff at the BW are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I decided to take my wife to Germany and being an army brat, my father was stationed in Bamberg so being back brought back wonderful memories of this town. In any case, we decided to listen to the recommendations of Tripadvisor and stay here. I must say that it was probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The location was phenominal and is about a 10 minute walk into the old town. The rooms were clean and there was free internet access there. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Whether business or pleasure, I really recommend this place here. Also, it was close to the train station as well.

For a little late night snack, there is a pizza joint across the street from the hotel which I think delivers. It appears to be a chain pizzeria but it hits the spot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boyblue4502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Try as I might, the only criticism I have is that the bathroom lighting, although bright, cast dark shadows on the face. Excellent reception, plentiful information including city map, large breakfast buffet with everything from smoked salmon to pastry, white & dark bread, American coffee + espresso coffee machine. The service was attentive and quick. When the weather permits, there are table on the terrace. Reasonable priced garage parking under the hotel, free WLAN, excellent location only minutes from the old city. We would certainly choose this hotel again, although not cheap, the hotel is worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moxnix35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a very pleasant 2 nights in Bamberg at the Best Western. Our room was comfortable, clean, and they honored my request on booking for a quieter room-- we were way at the end of a hall, far from the elevator. The location is excellent (easy and scenic walk into the old town) and the hotel comfortable to return to at night. Our only gripe would be that the breakfast could be a lot better-- there was a large spread, but the quality seemed low and very "big box hotel." For the price we were paying (€122/night for our double with breakfast) I think breakfast could be improved.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room away from the elevators and at the end of a hall. We ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S E ENGLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is our 2nd stay at this hotel. We stayed there when they first opened 3 years ago. Many of the same staff are still there. Always the sign of a good hotel. We arrived late morning but were still able to check in and go to our room. The same one as our last visit which we had requested by phone just 2 days before. Staff are helpful cheerful and very professional. The breakfast is excellent with a very wide choice. Really sets you up for the day. Location is excellent. Just 5 mins walk from both the town centre and the railway station. No tea and coffee making facilities in room but both are available free of charge in the reception area. Only minor downside is that very little literature is available in English on the town and surrounding area. Will definitely use this hotel again when visiting our family in Germant

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLIDAYGIRL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.7 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#5 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#13 of 41 in Bamberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#4 of 41 in Bamberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Welcome Kongresshotel Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg
Address: Luitpoldstr. 7, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bamberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bamberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing