We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional. Reasonably priced. Authentic.”
Review of Brauerei Spezial

Brauerei Spezial
Ranked #9 of 229 Restaurants in Bamberg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
113 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Traditional. Reasonably priced. Authentic.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is where you will get to taste the lesser known, but better smoked beer in Bamberg. If you want an authentic experience as a tourist, with reasonable prices, this is the place to go. Have a beer and food, or just beer. It's all tasty. They even have very basic hotel rooms. (Which I have stayed in, and are great for the price.) Definitely at the top of my list next time I come to Bamberg.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TankerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    77
    20
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“German Dining Experience ...”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went here on my first night in Bamberg due to its proximity to my hotel and the fact that it was pouring with rain! Be prepared for a typical German dining experience - long shared tables and you get directed to wherever there is a gap. Clearly very popular with locals - several tables had been reserved but I managed to get a place okay (don't be offended if you're shuffled around a bit by the staff as they try and anticipate demand!).

Not an extensive menu but absolutely fine if you want something substantive - the portions are substantial! More importantly, the prices were mostly half the Munich equivalent. Tried the Rauchbier - if you are visiting Bamberg it's a 'must do' - but it's an acquired taste! Be warned - the efficient and friendly staff will be assuming that you will be going for the Rauchbier first - so place you order quickly if you want something else! Menu in German, Looked like cash only - but at these prices - should be ok.

Great atmosphere, good place to 'people watch'. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LonePhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Tyrolean beer and dining experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This brewery is one of the oldest breweries in Bamberg (together with Schlenkerla), which continues to produce the famous smoked beer, a.k.a. Rauchbier, and which is a must-visit if you are in the city on a beer-related occasion. Thanks to being very close to our hotel where we stayed (see another review on Best Western Hotel), we decided to start experiencing the traditional Bavarian beer in this resto.

We came here in the evening, and the place was fully packed with people and really buzzing. We were lucky and managed to take a seat at a long table sharing it with another group of diners from Bavaria, who spoke good english, and who were a lot of fun to talk to.

The beer was really good - a very interesting, solid taste with a strong smoky scent. As for the food, we had some traditional sausages with standard side dishes - the portions were big and everything was quite tasty as expected.

Overall the place is very traditional, with positive and friendly atmosphere, great beer and prompt service. Do not miss this one in Bamberg, and make sure to book in advance if you are with a big company!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AeroOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favourite beer in Bamberg”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very traditional and can feel a bit intimidating until you work out how things work - but persevere. It serves a fantastic Rauchbier

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JVMCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Brewery is located opposite the Fassla brewery. Place has a courtyard for outside drinking area and two main drinking rooms inside. Beers are very, good, food is local, unfortunately I didn't eat there. Staff was quick and friendly, atmosphere excellent, worth for a stop.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bubak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brauerei Spezial also viewed

 
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 

Been to Brauerei Spezial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing