We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great German Dining Experience”
Review of Spezialkeller

Spezialkeller
Ranked #21 of 229 Restaurants in Bamberg
Cuisines: German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great German Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Located in a historical area of Bamberg, this was a real delight. We felt like we were eating German food that was enjoyed by Germans not a tourist place.

The people were pleasant and we enjoyed a simple meal. Beer was plentiful and good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    62
    19
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larisa, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent view, excellent beer”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The resraurant has one of the best views in the town. The selections on the menu are limited because the list is very short but whatever you choose is well prepared. Their (own product) dark beer is delicious with a particular smoky taste. Good choise for lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karatsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Out of the way, out of the ordinary”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

This restaurant is a little out of the way - south of the old town centre up a hill. You'd be happy walking back, but might need a taxi to get there in the first place. The food is fairly standard in terms of type, but is a cut above the standard of other similar establishments in the city. The schnitzel is particularly good and the rauchbier has a more refined taste than most.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosamunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a beautiful view”
Reviewed March 29, 2010

If you're looking for a place in Bamberg with great food, great beer (brewed on site), good value, and a beautiful view, this is it!

My mom and uncle grew up in Bamberg and brought us to Spezialkeller on our last visit to Bamberg. Everyone enjoyed it so much, we ended up going multiple nights in a row! The food is hearty, traditional German fair (Knoedel, meats, sauces, kraut, etc)... delicious.

In the summer, sit outside and look down at the city of Bamberg... The sunsets are amazing! Also, it's fun for families with kids... There's a big meadow where kids can play if they get restless and even a trampoline.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martini_A_Go_Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite spot in Bamberg”
Reviewed July 9, 2009

If you're looking for an authentic biergarten/keller experience, it does not get any better than this. While it's a little bit of a hike from the middle of the city, the rauchbier (smoked beer - not quite as potent as Schlenkerla's) and its view of Bamberg make it worth the trip. Located on one of the seven hills Bamberg was built on, you get a view of Bamberg and its architectural landmarks that might only be beat from the air. Any time we have visitors or we have a lazy Saturday or Sunday afternoon and the weather is nice you'll find us up there. I can't speak for the food (even a lot of locals bring picnics in accordance with tradition), but the experience is awesome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narmstro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spezialkeller also viewed

Bamberg, Upper Franconia
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 
Bamberg, Upper Franconia
 

Been to Spezialkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing