We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bamberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backpackers Bamberg
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Backpackers Bamberg is one of the greatest hostels I've ever been to. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and pretty but cheap at the same time. The location of the hostel is also great. It's close to the inner city but very calm. Bamberg is a wonderful city to visit! I love the historical Altstadt with its old builidings and churches. Thumbs up! Thank you for this experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zasselmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 50 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2012

This is a nice hostel close to the train station, within a 5-10 minute walk. The Old Town is within walking distance also but a little farther at about 15 minutes by foot.

Check-in was quick and easy. The owner was nice and helpful by giving us a map and answering our questions. There isn't someone at the reception desk 24/7 so be sure to ask up front if you need anything.

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm (3 bunks) on the second floor right next to the kitchen. The room itself was clean and spacious enough so we didn't feel cramped. It had several electrical outlets in the room, small lockers, a small table with 2 chairs, a full length mirror, and each bed had its own lamp.

The kitchen is well equipped with 2 small refrigerators, oven, stove, pots, pans, dishes, dish washer, etc. There's a small common area with a couch in the dining room. There are also plenty of bathrooms and sinks on each floor with separate showers.

We were pleased with this hostel. It's a quiet and budget friendly choice for Bamberg.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie_and_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

A very clean, comfortable and well-stocked hostel only a block or so from the train station. There are numerous bathrooms with good water pressure and very clean. There is a kitchen with free cereal, tea and coffee (and fridges to store your own food in). And a small patio if you prefer to eat breakfast outside. There is often no-one at hostel reception but there is a number on the door to call if you arrive early (and they come reasonably promptly). It can make it difficult if you have questions to ask though. For that reason it is good to ask things when you check in, such as getting the password for the wi-fi (which is free to use and I had a good signal from my room).

The location is very handy to the train station but not so close to the old town. It is an easy 15 minute walk but if you want to stay right in the thick of the old town perhaps this is not the place for you. It was very quiet when I stayed so also probably not the place if you are looking for a party atmosphere.

The hostel was perfectly adequate for my stay - I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I stayed here for 2 weeks because I had to do research in Bamberg. The hostel is extremely clean, very comfortable, and friendly. Solo backpackers and young families alike stayed here, and though it was a sociable environment, everyone was respectful and not too loud. The kitchen is well equipped for cooking, there is a nice terrace, and the rooms are quite spacious and bright. It is a 15 minute walk to downtown, 5 minutes to the trainstations, and 5 minutes to some of the best breweries in town! When I visited, the floors were plywood, but this didn't bother me as I had flip-flops to wear. I would advise anyone staying here to alert the owners of your arrival time, as they're not there absolutely all the time otherwise. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Very nice little hostel, just a few steps from the train station away. Friendly staff, fair price, realy all inclusive.
The rooms were confortable and modern, plenty of plug ins for netbooks etc. It was clear that the owner put a lot of offort on the design and ammenities.
I would certainly recommend it to other users.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anastasia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Bamberg was a fascinating city. It's filled with lots of history and has a charming atmosphere. It has been very well preserved since the middle ages because it was not bombed during WWII. Bamberg is known for having more breweries than any other city in Germany. It is a UNESCO world heritage site as well. The city can easily be explored by foot in a couple days. I visited Bamberg in the summer of 2009 and stayed at Backpackers Bamberg. This is the only hostel that i know of in Bamberg, but it was the nicest hostel I stayed in during my 3 week trip through Europe. It is also quite cheap.

1  Thank delliott918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peregrina060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bamberg hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Bamberg
Ibis Budget Bamberg
#7 of 40 in Bamberg
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
Ibis Bamberg Altstadt
#6 of 40 in Bamberg
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Welcome Hotel Residenzschloss Bamberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bamberg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa Bamberg
Hotel Europa Bamberg
#2 of 40 in Bamberg
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nepomuk
Hotel Nepomuk
#3 of 40 in Bamberg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Bamberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Bamberg

Address: Memmelsdorfer Str. 21, 96052 Bamberg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bamberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bamberg
Price Range: $19 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing