We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel with an exceptional breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Graf Zeppelin
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As was usual on our trip, we drove late and got into Konstanz late. After driving between Switzerland and Germany (the border seems to be right in the middle of town) a couple times and being unable to drive up the pedestrian walks, we found Hotel Graf Zeppelin. The hotel was quaint on the outside and equally nice on the inside. The rooms had everything we needed for our short stay. There is free WiFi, but connectivity varied depending on where in the hotel ones room is. The included breakfast was exceptional and the staff very accommodating. The only problem we had was getting a parking ticket even though the pay parking machine was broken. Parking could be a problem depending on what time one arrives in the city, but that's pretty much the same in every European city. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 192 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed for three nights to Graf Zeppelin!

Pros:

1) simply furnished rooms but clean..
2) average breakfast and the restaurant food is delicious
3) centrally located 10min from the lake

Cons:
1)Free wifi connection only in the lobby.When you go to the first floor the connection is lost!
2)At the lobby you have to sign in a couple of times if you don't use always the internet
connection which is very boring!
3) My room was looking on the blacked-out side of the glass elevator so no outside view from the room...
4) My bathroom was quite small...no space for my legs!!!
5)Expensive and the service is not worth for money!
6) I did not find the staff particularly helpful or friendly..
7) You need a lot of patience to call the elevator..

In overall it's very expensive for the facilities that the hotel offers!!!

For susch a hotel I found many details that did not much my expectations!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well located close to the old quarter of Konstanz, clean, tidy and recently renovated. BUT no parking (and you can sort yourself out on that one), staff neither particularly friendly nor helpful and there is a construction site immediately outside. Pass.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Room fine though floor felt sticky underfoot. No tea or coffee in room. Not a tissue or notepad either.
Receptionist that checked us in was bright & helpful. Spoke good english.
One member of staff seemed resentful of the patrons of the hotel - happier to say no rather than yes & never smiled. I suggest some customer service training for him!
Hotel in a great spot - close to train station, harbour & the old, interesting part of town.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked hotel without knowing that a wine festival would be in the square adjacent. Location of room meant we weren't disturbed by the music and hoards of festival goers. Liked location for old town, shops and wine, liked room but disliked view very much- looked onto the blacked-out side of the glass elevator so no outside view from the room at all. Surely something could be done to improve this. Apart from view the only other negatives were the lack of any tea /coffee facilities in the hotel at night. We arrived back at 2240hrs and when requested coffee were told everywhere was closed, nothing is avaiable and also the attitude of the waiter / receptionist (same person). Could do with some customer service training.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Graf Zepplin Hotel, Konstanz, Germany.

The hotel is well situated in Konstanz, it’s certainly walk able from the train station unless you have exceptionally heavy luggage. Ten or fifteen minutes of casual strolling through gorgeous medieval streets gets you there. It really is worth the walk. If you get lost or need assistance the hotel is on the same square as the cathedral / church, everybody knows where that is.

Rooms are reasonably nice, if a tad expensive for what’s on offer. The rooms were clean, well maintained and tastefully updated for such an old building.

The building itself had also been tastefully updated but in such a way as to keep a sense of continuity and history. The massive oak beams and some of the carvings were a fantastic reminder of what has gone before. The murals on the outside of the hotel were tasteful and left no doubt in the travelers mind that there was history here.

The staff was consistently helpful and friendly.

Food in the restaurant was excellent, the continental breakfast was of very high quality with a good choice of cereals, breads, teas and coffees with some more sugary items for those with a sweet tooth.

Internet access in the rooms was difficult, for us it meant crouching by the radiator in the corner to obtain a stable signal.

All staff that we had the good fortune to encounter had excellent linguistics, English was never an issue, and the staff dress wasn’t exactly lederhosen, but certainly in keeping for the culture and location – it added to impression that we were in a different, pleasant place.

It was only a three day visit, and the first day was spent unwell, in bed. I would wish it was a longer stay because everyone in the hotel and surrounding area was very pleasant and very welcoming. There was no issue, or extra charge for bringing breakfast up to the room in these circumstances, and the staff were very helpful to my husband in finding an apothecary [chemist].

There are lots to do in and around the hotel, almost all walking distance for Konstanz/Constance. There’s the Graf Zepplin Museum, the ferry rides on Lake Konstanz, the bistros and shopping, gardens and walks, café’s and restaurants, brew houses and centuries old architecture.

The square that the hotel is located on also appeared to be a restricted traffic area, so vehicular access is poor in the immediate vicinity. The upside there was little to no vehicle noise and most traffic we noticed were official vehicles like street sweepers and police etc.

Average older hotel with great staff and a price in keeping with all aspects.

Room Tip: Upper floor near the square - if you get a room on the side facing the relatively busy street you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelpie_Noir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent there two nights (originally booked for three). The room was advertised for four people but was nothing else just a normal room with one extra bed. (opened sofa bed). Old furniture, poor room amenities. Expensive and the service is not worth for money even the staff was helpfull. The breakfast is avarage. Only positive is the location, close to the old town but no parking for hotel quests.

Room Tip: For four people families rather two separated rooms, expensive compared to other European hotels wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Csaba07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.3 mi away
Augustiner Tor Hotel
Augustiner Tor Hotel
#30 of 34 in Konstanz
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Constantia
Hotel Constantia
#16 of 34 in Konstanz
177 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Graf Zeppelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Graf Zeppelin

Address: St.-Stephans-Platz 15, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range: $107 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Restaurant Graf Zeppelin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Graf Zeppelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Graf Zeppelin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing