We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel near the ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ringhotel Schiff Am See
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Reviewed December 25, 2011

I stayed here with my family for 3 days and really enjoyed the location, nice spacious rooms, friendly staff and good breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loic78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 93 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

What a gorgeous hotel. We (sadly) were only able to stay for one night but found the hotel and staff fantastic! Everything was comfortable and the food outstanding. On top of that the prices were very reasonable. Will definitely be going back for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary-louiseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

The hotel has a wonderful view of the Bodensee, although is quite a long way from central Konstanz. The rooms are okay, but the furnishings are rather dated. There is no internet access. On arrival I wanted a drink with a colleague. We were able to order one drink, but then the bar closed at 10pm before we were ready to leave. The breakfast however, was excellent, and I saw an amazing sunrise over the lake from the breakfast room. When I tried to check out, the credit card machine wasn't working and the receptionist had the cheek to ask me to go to the cash machine down the road. I refused to do this (and she took my card details instead). Overall, the hotel is okay, but don't expect too much from the service or the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We had a problem with our Expedia booking, noted that this has happened previously according to the reviews.

However the new owner was very friendly and accomodating, we had our confirmation from Expedia with us and were quickly booked into the hotel.

The room was a reasonable size, it was dark at the end of the corridor to our room which made intial entry somewhat slower than necessary. The decor was a little dated but the bedding was all new and clean. The bathroom was dated but very clean with a good shower.

The restaurant (run by the new owners husband I believe) was very quaint with terrific views and great food.

Enjoyable stay. We really enjoyed visiting Meresburg and would greatly recommend this.

Cheers from Australia.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AussieSheilaBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We stayed at the 'Schiff am See' July 28 - 30, 2006. Hotel itself was fine. Our reservation, through Expedia, was not. I booked a room for 3 (myself and 2 teenage children) and a roll-a-way bed, they had a single room for us - sleeping 1!. The woman who checked us in was accommodating and able to move us to a double room, but could not fit in the roll-a-way, so they placed a small mattress on the floor. Quite crowded, but it worked. Hotel has nice view and easy bus access to town and was comfortable enough, but is quite remote. I would have give the place a decent review until we checked out. The friendly woman who checked us in was in the breakfast room, we were checked out by a man I assume was the manager. When I gave him our key, he commented, 'So you're that one.' I expected that comment would proceed an apology about how they didn't get the reservation right and a enquiry as to whether we were satisfactorily accommodated. Wrong! He went on to inform me that I cannot show up with a reservation for one person and expect a place to accommodate 3. I showed him my confimation for 3 people and the roll-a-way bed, but apparently he didn't consider that sufficient proof that I was not wrong. He explained 'everyone knows' you cannot put an extra bed in a single room and that no way can 3 people stay in one. I calmly explained that I did not request a single room and did indeed have written confirmation of my needs and reservation. He said that didn't matter and that I should not have shown up with an improper reservation. He said I should have contacted the hotel directly to let them know our requests. Actually, I had done that. I emailed the hotel directly 2 weeks before our arrival, but received no reply from them. I did not know I had reserved 'incorrectly' as I have booked using Expedia before without problems. There was no communication issue as I am fluent in German. This man spent 10 minutes telling me I was wrong! I have never had anything like this happen to me at a hotel anywhere before. I was charged for a double room for our two night stay but not charged extra for the mattress on the floor (he told me they were generous providing this). I had no issue with the cost. Although I thought I pre-paid through Expedia, unfortunately I did not have proof with me. I paid the higher rate before leaving. If I was indeed charged twice, I will provide an update. The manager's parting words were that they have had similar problems with bookings before. This came, finally, after 10 minutes of being berated by him. Unfortunately for the hotel, had my check-out gone well, I would have written an entirely different review. Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this place.

11  Thank Victora_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2005

We stayed in a suite, costing 140 euros a night. Very nice rooms with views of the lake in two directions. The restaurant is run separately to the hotel and serves excellent, fine cuisine. As in many places in Germany, the service is not speedy, especially since the restaurant was full.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HeatherGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2003

Right next to the ferry crossing terminal, our room had a nice view of Lake Konstanz and a small balcony. We must have been upgraded to a suite as our room was huge with a separate sitting room and a king-size bed. Excellent family run hotel - very good hospitality and best continental breakfast we had during our week's trip to Germany!

6  Thank Zana711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
1.9 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
2.6 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
320 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Barleben am See
Hotel Villa Barleben am See
#17 of 34 in Konstanz
70 reviews
2.7 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#9 of 34 in Konstanz
130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Schiff Am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Schiff Am See

Address: William-Graf-Platz 2, 78464 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range: $140 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ringhotel Schiff Am See 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ringhotel Schiff Am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing