We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grand hotel in a good location”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located, just across the road from the station and harbour. Konstanz is very busy but the hotel is calm and quiet. The reception staff were welcoming, efficient and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable with old style decor and furnishings which, rather than 'needing to be updated', added a lot of charm and elegance. We paid for wi-fi but chose not to pay 17 euros each for breakfast. We would usually select bed and breakfast wherever we stay but really felt that cost was overpriced ( over £30 for breakfast!). This would have put us off staying here for more than one night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for you review. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    250
    64
    23
    9
See reviews for
91
227
20
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asten, Österreich
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Top location right at the (small) central station. My room was facing away from the station and I was not disturbed by any noise.
The rooms are clean, WiFi reasonably fast and the staff very professional.
The breakfast buffet is highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austroswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

excellent hotel.just across the train station . A short walk to the pier .a huge lake and we had a beautiful view of the lake from our room .The breakfast was excellent a very good spread a lot af varieties the only minus point is they do not have free Wi-Fi

Room Tip: rooms on upper floors have a good view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheetal207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice, charming hotel, good location across from the train station and lake and close to the old town, friendly helpful staff, comfortable though a bit tiny rooms with good sound insulated windows, cozy beds for a good night sleep. loved their rich breakfast in the Moorish restaurant.
Huda

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huda1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind response. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Hotel is well situated directly across the road from the train station on Bahnhofplatz, right on Lake Constance.
Parking is around the corner in a public garage on Marktstatte. Take the parking tkt to the hotel to be validated & a discount is given for the parking.
We arrived early & our room was not ready so we went to an outdoor cafe for lunch & then returned to find we had been updated to a suite, offered because the room had not been ready for us. A welcome sparkling beverage is offered on arrival as well as a bowl of fruit, in the lobby.
Our suite was marvelous. The living room overlooked the lake, Imperia & the railroad station, while the bedroom, overlooked the neighbourhood homes & gardens. The bathroom was spacious & had 2 sinks, which is always a bonus. The suite windows opened so we had fresh air!
This hotel served a wonderful breakfast in a very opulent setting. Eggs made to order as well as fruit, meat, pastries & breads, cheese, cereals, juices etc. The restaurant & bar were also open for dinner. This is a full service city hotel, used for conferences & meetings.
The only thing missing for me was a public use internet service.
Across the road from the hotel is a bike rental service Kultur-Radle, which provided bikes at a good price & excellent return service, after hours. We cycled throughout Konstanz & over to the Thermal Baths, along the lakefront.
City buses pass right by the hotel. As well much of the Old Town of Konstanz is right at the hotel's doorstep & easily within walking distance. As ever in Germany, -cobblestones, so wear comfortable flats!
The young ladies at the hotel desk were charming, friendly & enthusiastic. They were very helpful with suggestions. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OntarioGinger186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your lovely review. We are looking forward to welcome you asap in our hotel.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I travelled up to Konstanz to meet up with an Aunt and Uncle of mine from South Africa. We only stayed for one night in a superior double room, which was very spacious, with a separate bedroom and lounge area. The decor was 'old world' but generally in good condition and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge 'bubble' bath but only a hand held shower, which was a bit disappointing. The bathroom was a bit dated and the area around the drain plug in the basin was cracked.
As we were out most of the time, we did not get to use any of the dining facilities and our only interaction with staff was with the receptionist and they were friendly and efficient. The hotel's location is great, close to the lake, the railway station and also the town itself.
We were a bit disappointed that in a superior double room (quite expensive at €170 per night room only) there were no coffee or tea making facilities and bottled water to drink was quite expensive. Breakfast at € 17 per person is, in our opinion, rather expensive and should be included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors, which will provide a view of the lake and there will be less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your review and looking forward to you next stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed on a second floor balcony room. Couple , one night. Staff was nice and friendly. Room clean.
In general all would need a bit of renewal. Bathrooms are a bit old as well as the room furniture.
Position is perfect!. The dining/breackfast room is SPECTACULAR !! to be seen!! Our balcony had a net all around it to prevent from Pigeons. HORRIBLE! You can not give out a Balcony room, with the balcony closed by a net !! not for 209 euro !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda P, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your suggestion. We will renovate our bathrooms in autumn 2013
and looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.8 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
1.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#6 of 34 in Konstanz
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Halm Konstanz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Halm Konstanz

Property: Hotel Halm Konstanz
Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Golden Tulip Halm Konstanz)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Halm Konstanz 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
99 comfortable arranged rooms in different sizes and equipment are waiting for our guests. From a luxury suite with a marble bathroom, big balcony with a wonderful lake view to comfortable junior suites and superior rooms with jacuzzi to cosy family rooms, standard or single rooms.All rooms offer TV, telephone, comfortable beds, minibar, a desk, bath tub, shower and hairdryer.Some of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning and jacuzzi.We wish you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Halm Konstanz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Konstanz
Konstanz Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing