We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely European feel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in December 2012.
Booked a standard room for 65 Euro and paid a 15 Euro per night upgrade to a top floor room with a beautiful view over Lake Konstanz. Well worth it.

I really liked this hotel. It has that very solid feel of a well run and long established European hotel. At the same time all the fixtures and fittings are classy and modern.

Pros :
Location - Directly opposite the railway station. 1 minute from the platform and you're in the hotel. And right in Konstanz so lots of restaurant choices and shops nearby. Konstanz is one of those great European towns - not too big yet big enough to have a lot of eating and shopping choices. A choice of eclectic artisan clothing and jewellery shops. Modern yet especially in the old town you can feel the history with buildings going back to 1300. Hotel Halm is perfectly placed to walk to all of it. And really close to the lake which is beautiful.
Service - All the staff were without exception professional, helpful and friendly. And of course at least bi-lingual.
Room - Very comfortable. Not a large room but by Euro standards, not small. Arm chair to relax in, comfortable bed, nice linen, good black out at night, safe, closet for hanging clothes, nice soft carpet. Well fitted out and maintained. Clean, modern bathroom with nice toiletries. Quiet.
Ambience - It feels very comforting and relaxing to walk into this hotel and feel the solidity of it. That they know what they're doing and have been doing it for a long time. And it's a very nice solid old building. Classy.
Wifi - Fast and reliable.
Other - Nice little cafe/bar on lobby level with plush leather chairs for a drink or coffee/tea. Hot tea, fruit, cakes/biscuits and when it's cold Gluhwein available in the lobby.

Cons :
None for me. Didn't eat there so can't comment.

Would I stay there again? Definitely. Lovely modern European hotel with an established, classy feeling. Great service.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with a lake view are worth a bit extra. Lovely to sit and watch the sunset over the...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Halm Konstanz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 543 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful hotel in Konstanz. The front Desk staff were fantastic, and the rooms were nice and quaint. I had a view of the City, but I heard the view of the Lake would have been better. Cannot say enough about the very helpful staff! Internet is slow and sometimes hard to logon or stay connected. Very close to restaurants and was there during Fashing/Karneval .what a great time and very colourful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breitling_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comment. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Regards
Team of the Hotel Halm Konstanz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times on business and have never been disapointed.
The hotel is situated directly across from the train station, so ease of access from Zurich airport is good.
I cannot explain how superb the service is at this hotel, from the moment you walk in you are looked after, the rooms are of high quality.

Located in an area close to the lake and shopping, i have been both in summer and winter and both have the best to offer.

The christmas market is spectacular,

I cannot reccomend this hotel enough, i stay here at every possible chance i get

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scumfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind comment. We'll looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in June. It is well situated to access the medieval city centre and the modern additions. The room was great and the staff were very helpful, happy to talk in German or English and happy to go the extra mile to help out. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind response.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were very lucky and found a parking space out front where we could unload our bags. If you ask the receptionist they will provide you with a little sign that allows you to occupy a parking spot in front for about 20 minutes. We checked in to a room on the second floor. I asked for a room with a little bit of a view but was told there wasn't any. I initially felt the staff was quite unfriendly but actually as I had to dialog with them a few more times they warmed up a bit. There is a parking garage for 14 Euro per day just past the McDonalds. The hotel is very centrally located which was great. Internet was quote at 8 Euro per day and breakfast was quoted at 16 Euro per day per person. Rooms were adequate and clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Konstanz is a resort area so in late September we encountered rain and it was a bit chilly. I probably would not visit this city again and probably would also look for another hotel where internet was free and breakfast a little less costly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GooseSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your reply. We are looking forward to serving you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First of all, the hotel is in great location, right across the train station. And the major tourist attractions such as Imperia(statue) and Swiss border are within walking distances. Also, a big shopping mall called Lago Shopping is just a block away. The hotel itself is a very nice one, even though a bit old and needs some renovation. The staff here are very kind, too. If I am going to Konstanz in the future, I will probably stay at Hotel Halm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vertio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comment.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I have been there a couple of time during the past 24 months. I always complained about the very very slow internet. the receptionists always tell me that they are aware of it an they are planning an upgrade. So if you need to work don't go there or bring you own mobile internet. all other aspects are ok. the hotel deserves its 4 stars. rooms are clean and well equipped. the small bar allows smoking which creates a bad smell. breakfast is good. staff is friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: take the upper floors for the view of the lake
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralf b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele W, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Halm Konstanz, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
692 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#10 of 34 in Konstanz
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
291 reviews
0.8 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
0.9 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Halm Konstanz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Halm Konstanz

Address: Bahnhofplatz 6, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany (Formerly Golden Tulip Halm Konstanz)
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Konstanz
Price Range: $117 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Halm Konstanz 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
99 comfortable arranged rooms in different sizes and equipment are waiting for our guests. From a luxury suite with a marble bathroom, big balcony with a wonderful lake view to comfortable junior suites and superior rooms with jacuzzi to cosy family rooms, standard or single rooms.All rooms offer TV, telephone, comfortable beds, minibar, a desk, bath tub, shower and hairdryer.Some of the rooms are equipped with air conditioning and jacuzzi.We wish you a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Halm Konstanz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Konstanz
Konstanz Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing