We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best around, been here a couple of times and loved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Inselhotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Steigenberger Inselhotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best around, been here a couple of times and loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Very nice staff, who try their best tomake you happy. Rooms have been recently refurbished and nicely appointed / modern. A lot of history in the building, it is an old monastary so do not expect a ultro modern five star hotel. Go in summer and have lunch or dinner on the terrace overlooking the lake watching boats go, we were luckky and even saw the alps while having breakfast outside. We found that if you had a problem and asked someone it was done fairly quick. Overall we will return for our anual friends reuninon, we all used to live in Konstanz. a couple of years back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouternaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    434
    121
    31
    15
See reviews for
207
716
64
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2010

very nice rooms, cosy and elegant, a nice restaurant, close to the downtown area
the terrace and view on the lake are beautiful
a place to be when you are in the area

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

this hotel has a great location on the lake and right next to the old town. the rooms were great as well as the wonderful breakfast. it is pricey and they do charge for parking on site. would stay here again, ask for rooms with lake view. it was a former convent that has very nice ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quicktraveler91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

Having just returned from an extensive tour of Germany, I realised that this hotel was by far the most expensive of them all, and, to a large extent, the most disappointing.
Yet the location is unbelievable. The hotel sits on the lake in its own small Island. Paradise! And the views from the lakeside room, incomparable (if only you could open your balcony door....)
The reception staff are superb, friendly and helpful. There are two restaurants, one is lakeside, and if you sit outside you can have breakfast in one of the most beautiful spots in Europe. However.... be warned. There are a HUGE amount of insects everywhere. The first morning, I bagged a table right by the lake, congratulating myself on such luck. Sipping my champagne I suddenly became aware of hundreds of wasps, buzzing around everyone's breakfast tables. So, be warned. Paradise comes at a cost. Let's stay on the subject of insects. In the lakeside rooms there is no air-conditioning, but the open window has a net in place to catch bugs. You cannot open the balcony door in the evening to sit and admire the lakeside view. Oh no, You will be invaded by biting midges. An American woman complained one morning to the reception staff- "Have you seen the insects in my room?" But Madam, they replied, you opened your door! She was hot! Of course she opened her door! But Madam, you also turned on the light, it attracts the insects. "So I have to sit in the dark, in the suffocating heat?" Yes, dear, it's nature. Sorry, but the Hotel needs to seriously consider some kind of insect- repellent in the restaurant, and air conditioning in the lakeside rooms.
The spa and sauna area was very sparse and cramped, compared to the other hotel facilities we had enjoyed over the holiday.

And so to breakfast! There is a disappearing chef who looks as though he should be taking orders for eggs, but doesn't because he keeps wandering off. There are waitresses and waiters who are experts at eye- avoiding. They are all painfully young, and prefer each other's company to proving coffee for the guests.. And for a breakfast that is available from 7-11am, there is never any restocking of an item that runs out. Like grilled tomatoes!

So, inordinately expensive Hotel, set in wonderful surroundings, with poor spa facilities and inexperienced breakfast staff, and a plague of insects everywhere that the staff shrug off as "nature"

Isn't Nature Wonderful??

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank new_horizon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

A fabulous hotel located on the lake with stunning views. Rooms are very generous in size and well sound proofed. Food is some of the best we have eaten and you can eat out on the terrace when the weather is good. Breakfast also has a huge selection including eggs to order and bacon./ sausage for those who prefer a hot breakfast.
Staff are all really friendly and speak excellent English, and the hotel is ideally located for walking into the old town and also trips round the lake by boat or by foot.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would gladly go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

This is a five-star hotel beside the lake in a central location in Konstanz. It is a short walk to the waterfront cafés and restaurants, the town centre and the railway station. It is easy to take a self-guided walking tour from the hotel and the hotel itself, being a former monastery, is on the self-guide walk tour map.
Our room was good. Breakfast (price included) offered a huge array of food for all tastes. The option of eating al fresco was wonderful.
Dinner in the restaurant is expensive. There are many other places to dine on the waterfront for half the price.
Hotel staff were very friendly and very helpful. They gave us lots of help with places to visit, using public transport. The hotel has free bicycles for guests to use.
My only gripe is the price of internet access. I would have expected this to be free in a 5-star hotel, especially as most other hotels we've stayed in (mostly 4- or 5-star) offer this service for free.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheerfulchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Definately worth going to this hotel and we can recommend half board because excellent menu and still able to eat on the terrace unlike some hotels.
The hotel manager gave us a marvelous, personal welcome. Its well worth doing his guided hotel walk on a sunday. If you enjoy eating al fresco with an out of this world view I would stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ems1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.5 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
0.4 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#12 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Inselhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Inselhotel

Property: Steigenberger Inselhotel
Address: Auf der Insel 1, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Konstanz
#1 Luxury Hotel in Konstanz
#2 Romantic Hotel in Konstanz
#2 Business Hotel in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Inselhotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing sanctuary: Our 5 star hotel welcomes guests in a former Dominican cloister on a small private island by the old town of Konstanz. The picturesque setting as well as the unrivalled combination of modern luxury and historic ambience characterise the charm of the location. Also in the rooms and suites, guests can look forward to the considerable comfort, stylish interiors as well as a wonderful view of Lakes Constance. Celebrate in styles: Whether a romantic wedding celebration or successful business banquet - the unique atmosphere of the cloister island makes any event a truly unforgettable experience. Our six representative rooms offer space for up to 400 people whilst the attentive service, excellent cuisine and state of the art audio visual equipment leave no wish unfulfilled. Starting on January 1st 2014, the usage of the WLAN will be free of charge for guests of all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Steigenberger Inselhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Inselhotel Konstanz
Steigenberger Inselhotel Hotel Konstanz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing