We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional food, done well, reasonably priced”
Review of Muensterhof

Muensterhof
Ranked #32 of 310 Restaurants in Konstanz
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 5, 2019

Just over the border from Switzerland is Konstanz. Highly recommend this town on a day trip from Zurich. This restaurant was very good. Fortunately we were able to get a table at this local place. There is no nearby parking since this is in the old part. However the food is worth the walk and is reasonably priced. Euros only

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank almenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 180 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019

The Münsterhof offers casual dining for couples or groups. I had the Schweinegulasch and found it perfectly delicious. The service was efficient and courteous. Not noisy, so it is a good place for conversation,

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeorgeBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

The Münsterhof is a relatively unassuming restaurant situated next to, what else, Konstanz’s cathedral. In the summer there are a lot of tables outside where you can eat, however as it was so hot on our visit, we chose to sit inside. The décor of the room is nothing special and gazing at the menu, we were afraid we had made a bad choice, as the dishes listed were pretty standard. Service was friendly but also a bit slow although the lunch rush was already over with.

We ordered Wiener Schnitzel with salad, and the frankfurters with lentils and a salad. Both dishes were really good; attractively plated, freshly cooked and well-seasoned. We were pleasantly surprised. As we swapped salad for the starch side dish that normally would come with the food, we had to pay an extra €1.50 each. They have a menu in English if you ask for one.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jackson9305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

On a lovely summer evening it was no surprise that the tables outside were full, so we went in to the small air-conditioned bar for a meal. We'd been staying in a posh hotel and for once passed on the elaborate 4-course evening meal and just wanted something simple and local.
I had cured salmon (lachs) with new potatoes and a huge and deliciously varied salad, washed down with a large (25ml) glass of local Muller-Thurgau white wine., while himself settled for goulash and dumplings with various veg and drank Radler (German equivalent of shandy). Portions were more than adequate, and there was no skimping on the salmon or the goulash, which was pronounced almost as good as his mother's (!) but a little hotter. [I could write a paragraph here on the difference between goulash made in various parts of Austria, Hungary and Germany and the proportions of hot and sweet paprika and whether you should add dumplings, noodles or potatoes - but will spare you].
Service was fast and friendly and the bill at about 30 euros was pretty good for a central restaurant in a tourist town. They have a menu in English if you need it.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leeGlosUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We were here for a dinner with a friend. He ordered the schnitzel which was good, and I ordered the Argentinian filet steak. The steak was horrible, not tasty, dry and overcooked. I do not recommend ordering the steak there. Also, they serve the steak with a salad knife which makes it so hard to cut it. Restaurant has a convenient location nearby Muster church.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ytawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muensterhof also viewed

Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Muensterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing