We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clasic Ibis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Konstanz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clasic Ibis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

I have stayed in a few Ibis hotels now and the good thing about Ibis is the consistency, I think they are great value for money compared to other "budget hotels". In a city like this I don't spend much time in the hotel at all so the cheaper it is then the more things I can do! Great night sleep!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskonstanz, Manager at Ibis Konstanz Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear FraserD,
Thank you very much for your positive Review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    331
    116
    19
    9
See reviews for
96
266
66
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Service was excellent, both on arrival at 11pm and on departure at 8.30am the next morning. The room was large, the bathroom too. But the bed was uncomfortable with flat foam pillows. Breakfast was extra on my rate, and so, as a basic continental breakfast, was pricey. However, the room rate was very good, overall I was pleased with the value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskonstanz, Manager at Ibis Konstanz Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Amanda,
Thank You very much for your positve review of our hotel.
We are a bit dissapointed however, that you did not fully enjoy the quality of our new bedding, which we only recently changed to insure the best possible sleeping experience,
We nevertheless do have some thicker pillows available on demand.
We apologize for any inconvenience and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Modern hotel close to the lake. Pleasant enough experience upon arrival, but the individual was covering both the desk and the bar. I like the security pass lifts, which stops people travelling up to the rooms without a valid room card. Comfortable small room and bed, clean and tidy. Large bar area, which also doubles for the breakfast room service. Nice presentation of breakfast. Note the parking is below ground and you may struggle with 4x4 as a 2.05m height restriction - your alternative would be to park along the river edge or a few streets away in a supermarket car park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are planning a trip to Lake Constance (Boden See) in Germany, this hotel might fit the description. From the train station of Konstanz, the walk to this place takes you across the bridge and then you turn left and then it is there on your right side, it is not a long walk. Just beware of the complicated walking (and cycling) loops from the centre (where the station is, and the landmark of the city centre is the tall unmistakeable "Munster") to get to the bridge in the right direction! And beware of those fast cyclists too, keep to the pedestrian paths.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, and reasonable rates (i paid Euros 59 for 1 night, brekki is 10 extra, and till 12 midday). WiFi (called "Wee-Lan" in Germany) is free in rooms and in the lobby and is quite fast. My single room had a double bed with view out to the Rhine River which feeds into and drains the Boden See. The reception is open 24 hours, the girls were helpful. They gave me a free small-ish map of the area with its highlights, in German of course, none in English.
A nice long-ish walk would take to the ferry terminal to catch one to go to Meersburg (recommended), etc. Or take bus no 1 to the ferry (make sure you see the sign for the bus no "1" on the bus stand where you wait, heading away from the city centre). Baggage storage service is available for free.
Remember that all shops and offices are closed on sundays in Germany! So, specially if internet is not accessible, plan ahead if you are going to get a train or bus on a sunday for detailed prior info on ongoing travel, as the tourist offices in some places are closed on off-peak season, as it happened with me this month, November 2013, not generally a good month to travel in Germany, its cold and sometimes wet, although there are less queues. Its a beautiful place to visit, regardless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Lake Constance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeyandMeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskonstanz, Manager at Ibis Konstanz Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear JoeyandMeSydney.
Thank you very much for your comment.
Kind regards from Constance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I stayed four days. The hotel is well connected to the city centre by bus (less than 5 minutes walk) or by feet (15-20 minutes) and close to the lake. The room was comfortable, but service was quite poor: towels were not changed when I left them in the basin after two days, the floor was a little dusty. In the average, a good cost/benefits balance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l-gRg-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskonstanz, Manager at Ibis Konstanz Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Capuani,
Thank you for your comment and the valuable feedback on your stay in our hotel.
Kind Regards from Constance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent one night here and came to the conclusion that this was better than your average Ibis. The location is just outside the old town centre (only a 5 minute walk), very easy to find and with adjacent secure, underground car parking at 6 euros per night. The room was bigger than normally experienced in an Ibis and was very clean and comfortable. Again, it has the new Ibis beds - which in our opinion are a big improvement. The bar area is modern and spacious. Service was good. Breakfast was very good - more choice and quality than the usual Ibis. All in all, we would recommend this as an excellent value choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riflerangeblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskonstanz, Manager at Ibis Konstanz Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Riflerangeblues.
Thank you very much for your comment.
Kind regards from Constance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights in late September 2013. The room was clean, bright and spacious with a separate bathroom. the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and available until 11am at the weekends.

The bar prices were also very reasonable but they would have benefited from an extra member of staff on in the evenings - the one person was covering the bar and reception.

It was an easy (10 minute) walk into town.

My only complaint is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room - only a small thing but I do like tea in the room!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou310578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiskonstanz, Manager at Ibis Konstanz Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Lou310578,

Thank you very much for your comment.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
1.2 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#12 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Konstanz
Ibis Styles Konstanz
#6 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
0.5 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Konstanz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Konstanz Hotel

Property: Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Address: Benediktinerplatz 9, 78467 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Konstanz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-built 3-star Ibis Hotel Konstanz is centrally located, a mere three minute's walk from Lake Constance. The hotel has over 115 soundproof, air-conditioned rooms and family rooms. In addition there are three seminar rooms. Take advantage of our 24-hour service, generous breakfast times from 4 am till noon and free Wi-Fi. A playground, beach, swimming pool and public car park are all located in the immediate vicinity. The old town offers the ultimate shopping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Konstanz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing