We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative and helpful host, room compact.”
Review of Hotel Bella Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bella Vista
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had a polite welcome from the host who immediately put me out of my embarrassment [dire German!] and spoke fluent English. She recommended a local restaurant [which was ok, but nothing special] and offered to store my motorbike in her garage which was greatly appreciated.

I was in Room 11 and while i'm used to small rooms travelling alone this one was on the small size, the bathroom equally so. That said, for an overnight stay, it was adequate and i didn't feel cramped.

It is also worth noting that this room is immediately opposite the reception desk on the ground floor and you could hear any and all conversations at reception when in the room and rather more concerning, vice versa. I'm not paranoid about privacy but you don't really want to feel that you have to tip toe around so as not to be heard eh? Anyhow, not a deal breaker but for awareness.

Breakfast was fine, standard fayre, offered in a lovely sun lounge, so a lovely way to start the day.

Probably borderline 4 stars / very good if i was pushed but 3 stars is not being desperately harsh.

Room Tip: Be aware of rooms immediately opposite reception, they offer little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BikingChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 95 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Hotel Bella Vista is conveniently located within a few minutes’ walk from the auto ferry dock in north side of Konstanz, and a 15 minute walk to a really great local restaurant, the Porter. For our room for 3 adults we were given their Family Suite, which had 2 bedrooms, a room with a table & 4 chairs, and one and a half baths. It was vary spacious, but was located in the basement of the hotel, so there was no view out the windows of anything besides the bushes surrounding a private patio. We missed the pleasant breezes in the area throughout our stay, especially at night since there was no air conditioning. It was definitely not elegant, but it was more than adequate. Their beds were very comfortable and large. One of the real treats was their breakfast room located on a glass enclosed patio just off the main dining area. It was sunny and bright, with a delightful breakfast that included some fine pastries, and a perfect way to start a day. The staff was multi-lingual and very helpful, but the desk clerk wasn’t able to give us good directions to the catamaran shuttle port in Konstanz. We followed the city bus directions we were given and ended up at a beautiful public beach area that was very popular with local folks. With help from a young college student we were able to catch a bus into Konstanz and another very helpful local there actually walked us to the port. The people of Konstanz were all very friendly. I recommend that you take the catamaran to Friedrichshafen and visit the Zeppelin Museum. It was fascinating!

Room Tip: Family room in the basement is huge, but no view and no breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomBrandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were driving through Lake Constance and figured that spending the night in Konstanz was the most convenient thing to do before heading back up north to Frankfurt the following day. Hotel Bella Vista was the most value-for-money hotel we could find, and we weren't disappointed. The rooms were simple, big and clean, and the toilet/WC was likewise. The receptionist was a chatty and friendly German lady who was astounded that we had managed to get a parking ticket in Konstanz (the ticket machine was not working), and tried her utmost to find out how we could go about paying the fine. Breakfast was simple but filling. All in, a good place to stay if you just need a room for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esquire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

While the hotel had a very good breakfast and was very clean the rooms are very small and bathrooms tiny. Also the free wifi is not in all rooms as the signal in too weak. We had to sit in the hallway in order to check our emails.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where you can get the wifi...not #26. There are only 2-3 restaurants within walking d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for one night on trip to Switzerland. Rooms were nice and clean and the hotel provided us with a baby bed. Breakfast was sufficient. Location is a bit outside town but it is easy to get downtown Konstanz by bus. Staff was friendly. Parking place right in front of hotel. Can recommend at least as brief overnight stay!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lindaomika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in late August. The room, though small, was immaculate and well designed. The bathroom was very nice with hair dryer and amenities. The breakfast was delicious, presented beautifully, with a wide variety of food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WordyWormReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in July. We paid about $360 US (or 270 Euro) for a room for 3 people. It was a little pricey for a small room but it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is very clean, and offers a very good breakfast for its guests. The room is small but comfortable and modern. There is no elevator in the hotel so it can be a problem for people who are elderly or disabled but it was not a problem for us. Also, we liked the location of this hotel. The hotel is located within walking distance from the lake Konstanz. It is also very easy to get to Insel Maunau from the hotel by bus. The price of stay in the hotel includes free public transportation passes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
1.6 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
703 reviews
2.3 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
307 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ko'Ono Hotel
Ko'Ono Hotel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#10 of 34 in Konstanz
126 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bilger Eck
Hotel Bilger Eck
#15 of 34 in Konstanz
139 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Vista

Address: Schiffstr. 12, 78464 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range: $111 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bella Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Bella Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing