We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Hotel Constantia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Constantia
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited the hotel Constantia in Konstanz, Germany for one night in May 2013. It served our purpose after very long drive behind us very well and the advantage was the of street parking. The location is very good, close to the old town and to the lake. Our room was very clean, with nice design and seemed quite new. The only problem was that it is very small. Very good for a short break but more difficult for travellers with more luggage. Other unusual and slightly puzzling feature was the tiny bathroom behind the glass wall. I probably would stay in Constantia again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel for a short break and to visit the Island Gardens of Mainau. This hotel is at the outskirts of the old town and is easily accessible from the train station - we travelled by train. Friendly staff and a good breakfast, with pleasant rooms and at least one English tv channel, with free wifi. Seems to have been recently refurbished to a good standard. Quiet and peaceful - we were advised there is a gym locally. No restaurant but there are plenty within close walking. Free bus pass too. Good value.

Room Tip: Junior suite was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetrosCoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room was small and our bed even smaller and the service wasnt wonderful but the hotel is nice and very good located so overall it was not perfect but it was a good experience.
Breakfast was ok and pets are welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CintiaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is different from the traditional hotels in Konstanz: Friendly service, good value for money and a tasteful modern room architecture. The rooms are very small -as in most hotels in KN, but the designed interior is interesting and functional. And mainly, the rooms are clean which also makes a difference to other KN hotels. The front rooms can be noisy, what might be a problem in summer with open windows, the backyard rooms are looking over the dirty reverse side of KN, so a view of the real KN: dirt and dangerous architecture hidden behind painted fronts: Potem-KN. KN indeed is a village which failed to solve living problems of the 19th century, and the KN aboriginees seem to be proud of it.
BUT: the hotel is in the midst of downtown, it offers parking places, wlan,and a very good breakfast in a nice modern environment. So really a surprise in this backward oriented village.
We have been in many hotels in KN, cheap hotels, expensive hotels. This is one of the best alternatives at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: sleep i Zuerich and have a short visit to KN if somebody told you it's worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mk A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Perfect for Business, but also for leisure, holiday, romance. Great location just a few minutes walk from Konstanz city centre. The perfect value for money hotel. Service is also good.. A nice breakfast too with fresh materials. Try this hotel, worths it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everyone talks about the modern touches at this hotel but we found them horrible if you had to share a room with anyone. The rooms were tiny and the bathroom walls were clear glass, offering virtually no privacy for the water closet at all. Even if you wanted to shower in the separate bath area, there was a glass window from shower to toilet!

With no a/c, it was a must to leave windows open but the street traffic was so loud - and what looked to be a bar/strip club next door, sleep was impossible.

The location within the town was nice - straight across from Swiss border, but after NO sleep, I didn't have the energy to do much exploring.

Breakfast room was nice with a large selection - and the best water closets offering privacy, in the whole hotel.

Parking was impossible. People blocked you in and made it dangerous to leave.

We will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, don't stay in warm months or at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mmtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Originally stayed at two different hotels in Konstanz, Germany and now stayed at a very clean and quiet place. One of the other hotels is far from the train station and required a taxi to get to and from the town and the hotel. The second hotel is across the street from the train station, but was noisy due to the traffic and the trains. The Hotel Constantia is less than 5 minutes walking from the train station and is in a quiet part of town. It is very convenient to get to shops and restaurants. Better yet the hotel is just a block from the Swiss border crossing, so you can walk to Switzerland for shopping and dining, but make sure you bring your passport in case the borders decide to check. The Hotel Constantia was renovated in the recent past, the rooms are very modern and clean, and the price is much better than the other two hotels I previously mentioned.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shermanlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
ibis Styles Konstanz
ibis Styles Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#10 of 34 in Konstanz
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Augustiner Tor Hotel
Augustiner Tor Hotel
#29 of 34 in Konstanz
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constantia

Address: Kreuzlinger Str. 13, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range: $125 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Constantia 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing