We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreaming from door to roof, from dinner to bed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dreaming from door to roof, from dinner to bed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

It is said to be a 5 star superior and it indeed is. Beautiful place, great location 10yards away from the lake and a helpful and kind staff up to the room mate that great you in corridors (never happen is 99% of hotels).
Restaurant is really good (could be French and in no way German) and the view is fantastic without talking about the roof heated swimming pool with view on mountains and the lucky view on the lake in the morning...from your bed!!!!
Rooms are very big modern and the bathroom with it window store is simply amazing; full of space. And there is a spa for those who have time to relax and enjoy!
All that with easywalk from Konstanz old city center.

Room Tip: ask for a view on the lake if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TITIREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    65
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
58
170
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for three days on business. A classy, stylish little hotel. Well appointed rooms - very comfortable bed, spacious and with the toilet separate to the bathroom. There was a lovely welcoming bowl of fruit on arrival. The staff were courteous and helpful. The restaurant served delicious meals and wines. The breakfast was outstanding. Outdoor dining is available and perfect when the weather is good. Well located on the lake front with a view across to the mountains. Highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Riva hotel in Konstanz scores with contemporary surroundings, high quality finished rooms and a swimming pool. The service at the front desk is friendly and helpful, yet not fully comfortable with itself (i.e. seems a little insecure at times) and not quite 5 1/2 stars. There was no bell boy at the hotel.

The rooms have a fantastic finish with proper doors that shut out any noise, very nice bathrooms and beds. The cons are cheap shampoo and shower gel products from ADA (I would expect Molton Brown, L'occitane or the like in a hotel of this standing) and rather small TV screens. These things stand out all the more as the rooms have otherwise such high quality standards.

Breakfast was ok, but below five star standard. The cappucino was not hand-made, but machine made, there was no egg station (scrambled eggs that I ordered were not fluffy, but more like an omelette) and no cooked English breakfast options were available at the buffet (all made to order, which I found annoying). Jams were lovely, but no orange marmelade was on offer (I was shocked about that in a hotel of such a standard). Smoked salmon was of ok quality, but not outstanding. Service was good - four stars for sure. People who ordered tea were not told for how long the tea leafs were in when it arrived....It is little things like that that should not happen. There is thus much room for improvement here.

Dinner service was one of the strongest points of the hotel. The food was of fantastic quality and presentation and it was served by attentative and friendly staff.

Overall, I rate the hotel as very good, but not excellent as I miss the Steigenberger / Hyatt level of service and staff training. It is ironic that the Steigenberger Inselhotel has better trained staff, yet more dated surroundings whilst the Riva is the other way round. However, one has to bear in mind that both properties are excellent and that my critique is meant in a constructive way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute! Very relaxing atmosphere, fabulous rooms, lovely pool on the roof with a great view, very professional and friendly staff.The hotel restaurant is very nice - both for outside dining and in the dining room. I dined by myself 3 evenings and enjoyed the great food and service.
Next time I'm in Konstanz I'll certainly bedre back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A top hotel. Professional, friendly staff. Spacious, comfortable and quiet room with a superb bathroom and glorious shower. The restaurant is of a very high standard for both food and service. Breakfast the best ever. Free and very efficient WiFi in the room. Cannot recommend this fine hotel too highly.

Don & Lesley

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in early July 2012 during a road trip. I had stayed in various hotels over the past few weeks. I booked online months before and was surprised the morning I checked in about how much I had spent on the room.

Once I arrived and was shown my room my apprehension evaporated. I had a ground floor room with a small outdoor area. You can tell a lot about a hotel by the small details; the finishes, the fruit in the bowl, the quality of the linen, the layout of the room. This hotel was practically flawless. The staff were helpful, the sauna area was clean, well designed and well stocked. The rooftop pool was reminiscent of something in the French Riviera.
The position was great. Relatively easy to get to and park, easy to walk to the town proper. The walk itself was beautiful, passing along the lake and a by small island with lovely photo opportunities.

I cannot comment on the restaurant, but the breakfast buffet was as expected for this kind of hotel.

SUMMARY: An expensive hotel that lives up to its reputation. If you are comfortable to pay the price, you won't be disappointed by the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendanCroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

This is my fourth stay at Riva, and i love it every time. The hotel is new and the design impeccable, withouth sacrificing comfort andracticality. The standard rooms are spacious and comfortable, with huge showers and nice balconies. The suites are just amazing, with supersoft carpets and great care in all the detsils, including a nespresso machine, molton brown products, etc. The swimming pool on the roof is not very large, but nicely designed, with a wooden deck all around; teerature is kept at 28 degrees the whole year. The breakfast buffet is varied and great quality, without being huge. Location is also very nice, on the lake and a 15 minutes (nice) walk into town. Finally, the real attraction - amd the reason why we keep going back - is the gourmet restaurant, Ophelia, which is unique and outstanding (see separate review).... so yes, this is an easy hotel to reccomend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Inselhotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#4 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
Aqua Hotel & Hostel
#12 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
47 Grad
47 Grad
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
Ibis Konstanz Hotel
#3 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#7 of 34 in Konstanz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee

Property: RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee
Address: Seestrasse 25 | 78464 Konstanz, 78464 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your RIVA - Das Hotel am Bodensee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing