We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moseltor”
Review of Hotel Moseltor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moseltor
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Traben-Trarbach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Room we had on riverside had a nice balcony, but room itself was painfully small. Bathroom was small, too. Not 'allowed' to bring beverages from outside hotel. Schlepping bags up to the top floor was tough, but owners helped get 'em up there. Right on river great view from balcony. Kinda expensive. Breakfast should have been included in the price. Did not eat evening meals there. The place got the job done, but I would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k9nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseltor, Manager at Hotel Moseltor, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your time and your posting on tripadvisor. We don't know from where you got the information, but you can bring beverage up to your room. Also, our hotel-rates are always with breakfast from the buffet & service. This misunderstanding comes maybe from the two different tax percentage. Room has 7% and food 19%. Thats why we have to show it seperatly on our invoices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 100 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

This has a good position, near to the Mosel river. Run by a brother and sister, attention to detail is impressive. Rooms are a little on the small side, but beautifully appointed. They welcomed our little dog and gave her a treat which kept her quiet for ages! The only problem is that there is no elevator and we found the staircase rather difficult to deal with. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but breakfast was particularly good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greens222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseltor, Manager at Hotel Moseltor, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

thanks a lot for your posting. we are realy happy that you had a good time in our small hotel. we know that our hotel has small rooms, but you must know, that this old (150 years) building was never build as a hotel. but anyway, we try to make our best to create a wonderful stay to our hotel guest and let them forget, that rooms could be bigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by this family run hotel. The accommodation was spacious (even with a cot in our room) and the in house restaurant fantastic. Our baby was warmly welcomed and enjoyed the stay as much as we did!

We found that Traben-Trarbach was a lovely place to base ourselves to enjoy the Mosel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseltor, Manager at Hotel Moseltor, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice comment here on tripadisor. As our hotelrooms are not very big, we try to make it comfortable as much as possible for our guest. It is good to hear that you hade a good time in our hotel, even there was not much space with the cot. Hope to see you again soon in traben-trarbach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel is in the centre of Traben-Trarbach, a small town on the banks of the Moselle river. There is free, nearby parking for cars, and the quiet location is wonderful for touring the various towns up and down the Moselle. The hotel is spotlessly clean, pays attention to every detail, the proprietor/owner is personal and friendly, and speaks excellent English. The hotel restaurant is exceptional, and we ate there for all three evenings we stayed since the food was so good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moseltor, Owner at Hotel Moseltor, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hello crossley2! Thank you so much for your posting here on tripadvisor. We are realy happy that you had such a good time in our small hotel. Good to hear that you enjoyed the food in our restaurant "Bauer's". Maybe you have the chance to come back again one time. For you and your family all the best..... Georg Bauer Hotel Moseltor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

After a long day's drive this hotel was a lucky find. The room and bathroom were beautifully finished with a balcony looking over the river to add to the ambience.
We ate in the hotel and had a superb meal. I can honestly say the attention to detail was impressive.
Service was excellent and all the staff were most helpful.
Would we return? Yes, without question.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

The Moseltor is located on the Trarbach side of the Mosel which is a bit quieter and less congested than the Traban side. Parking is scarce with only two spaces in front of the hotel, but a public lot with free parking is only one block away. The hotel rooms were basic, but also quite spacious, comfortable and clean. The free continental breakfast was excellent. Service was good. We did not eat any other meals at the restaurant, but the menu looked quite good. More than the usual tourist fare of schnitzel and frites. This hotel provides very good value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAtouristcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were 4 adults going to Traben Trarback for good wine and food and more..
Our stay in Hotel Moseltor was very nice. Fine and clean rooms and a nice breakfast. We don't usually eat dinner at the hotel were we are staying because we find that a bit boring. But one of the winemaker we visited told us that this restaurant was good so we ending up eating a dinner at the restaurant in hotel Moseltor. VERY good!You should also try it! Nice and friendly staff and a charming dog to welcome You. Hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Traben-Trarbach hotels
0.2 mi away
Moselschloesschen
Moselschloesschen
#1 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevue
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevu...
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trabener Hof
Trabener Hof
#3 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Parkhotel Traben-Trarbach
Parkhotel Traben-Trarbach
#6 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
48 reviews
2.0 mi away
Landhotel-Restaurant Wolfshof
Landhotel-Restaurant Wolfshof
#9 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
11 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krone Hotel-Traben Trarbach
Krone Hotel-Traben Trarbach
#7 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moseltor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moseltor

Address: Moselstr. 1, 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Traben-Trarbach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Traben-Trarbach
Price Range: $127 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moseltor 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find a hotel on the outskirts at TRARBACH. The exterior of this four-story rectangular building, dating from 1838, is a masterpiece of fieldstone masonry from another era. Inside, a charming combination of new construction with antique elements from the original building creates a warm mixture of comfort and convenience. The Bauer family runs the hotel, and the light cuisine is prepared by Chef Ruth Bauer, whose reputation has spread to such a degree that German urbanites come here for a 'gastronomic weekend'. The Restaurant 'BAUER'S' is small only 11 tables The hotel located aprox. 70 Km from the famous racing course 'nurburgring' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Moseltor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moseltor Hotel Traben Trarbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing