We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVER LOOKING THE MOSEL RIVER”
Review of Moselschloesschen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moselschloesschen
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Traben-Trarbach
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
537 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“OVER LOOKING THE MOSEL RIVER”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Positioned at the edge of the Mosel River this hotel is ideally located close to the nearby bridge to the old town.. When we visited the river was very swollen which meant that the water was too high to allow boat traffic under the bridges. This hotel is multi level hotel with the spacious bedrooms rooms over looking the river. Car parking is underground with a vaulted roof. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    67
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
118
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is really a beautiful hotel. It is located in the twin town of Traben-Trarbach at a bend in the Mosel river, set a little back from but overlooking it, the older town on the far river bank, the lovely spanning bridge and its gate. The hotel seems to have been completely renovated and the decor is interesting, tasteful and artful. There are some spa facilities I think, but I did not have time to use them. There is an outside area to enjoy drinks when sunny, a wine tasting bar, and a beer bar, and it has its own restaurant. I was lucky to be upgraded, and my room had a spectacular view. The room itself was ultramodern, with walk in shower, good quality products, and modern lighting. It had a minibar, a large double bed, automatic shutters, and a flat screen tv with more stations than can be scanned in a single sitting. Free wifi was also provided. The one minor issue might be the lack of air-conditioning (well at least I could not find a control) but I have found its absence to be common in German hotels in which I have stayed. As I had only one night in the town, I decided to eat outside of the hotel and was recommended to go to Alte Zunftscheune which is less than 2 minutes from the rear entrance. That turned out to be great fun, and the restaurant is also recommended by me. Try the trout with horseradish sauce as a starter, but regardless you will be spoilt for choice from the several pages of offerings. Breakfast at the hotel was very good, and consisted of a generous buffet with warm and cold food provided. The staff was without exception friendly, smiley and warm and they looked after me extremely well. In all, this is a hotel that I am happy to recommend to you and one I look forward to bringing my wife to on my next visit with her.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DndG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel as a last-minute booking, in one of the newly renovated 2-floor loft-like rooms (seemed like the room had been finished the morning before we checked in). Bathroom area was spacious and comfortable, as as the living area, and top floor where the bed was located was equally pleasant. The room had large two-floor windows overlooking a courtyard with a fountain, which was very quiet. The hotel retains some of its historic characteristics in spite of the renovation, which is a nice touch. The staff was very sweet and accommodating, serving us a generous breakfast even though we showed up after breakfast time was over (and the buffet had already been put away) and recommending various restaurants in the area. One night we had dinner at the German traditional-style restaurant just across the street from our courtyard room. Another night, we ate at the Art Nouveau-style Hotel Bellevue, just a short walk from the Moselschloesschen along the river. Both were excellent. Note that the town has an extensive collection of Art Nouveau buildings, doorways, etc., which makes for a very nice evening walk after a day of visiting winemakers.

Room Tip: Stay in a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012.

It is located overlooking the Mosel River in the old wine town of Traben.

We stayed in a newly refurbished room in the main building which was furnished with high quality modern materials and decor, and was very clean. In fact the entire hotel and grounds are very clean. The bathroom was excellent and spacious with modern quality materials and an amazing spacious shower.

The restaurant had excellent food and wine, and service was usually efficient although not perfect.

Breakfast was very good, hot and cold self service buffet and ample.

The hotel makes a great base for exploring the twin towns by foot as it is near to the bridge taking you over to Trarbach, and for taking one of the boats up the Mosel to Bernkastel from their moorings just outside the hotel. You can also drive to various vineyards/ winemakers.

The hotel has nice gardens and terraces leading down to the river, a wine tasting cellar and a bistro.

We parked easily in front of the hotel but the is a covered locked garage if you want for 6 Euro per day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vincas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice specious rooms in the new part, fabulous breakfast, good modern style food menu, friendly staff. Nice surroundings belonging to the hotel, including a well kept garden, a evening bar and a small wine shop.
The hotel has its own parking garage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxMassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
248 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We were amazingly suprised with this hotel and wished we were there not just for the one night our cycle tour allowed for. You could live in these rooms quite happily for a week! Our 'room' was really a spacious apartment. We had a lounge area with office space to work (fantastic view of the river from the window seat), walk-in wardrobe and good size bathroom downstairs, and up the spiral staircase a very large bedroom with another lounge area (and a second toilet) and a velux overlooking the river. Even though our stay coincided with the last stages of the hotels renovation we were not affected by any disturbance from builders. Breakfast is really excellent, good choice of breads, croissants, jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, smoked slamon, cold meats, cheeses, hot options, fruit juices etc. We didn't use the bistro but had a great pizza just across the road, 22 euros inc wine. I would very happily stay here again. If you are in the area it is a must!!!!

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room (apartment) in the villa overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights here during the Open Wine Cellars. We arrived late and first didn't find the reception at all. It seemed that the taxi dropped us off on the 'wrong side' of the hotel as later we found out that the reception was next to Bistro. Eventually we found someone to take us to our room. The hotel was still going through some major renovations and the first impression wasn't the greatest. It really looked like a work site. Our room was in a brand new wing and seeing the room (no 12) made all the doubts go away. The room was very big with seating area, 'office', very comfy beds, a walk-in closet and a luxurious bathroom. The best hotel room we've had. The view was stunning too.

The breakfast room was on the ground floor. It still looked a bit outdated but I'm sure it will get a face-lift at some point too. The breakfast was everything we hoped for and after getting out tummies full, it was no problem to make it until late afternoon. We didn't go to Bistro and the restaurant seemed to be closed for the renovations. That didn't bother us though as there are several nice places near-by.

The location was great, right beside the bridge and in walking distance from everything.

After the renovations are done, the hotel is going to be great. If we even decide to go for a third visit at the Open Wine Cellars, this is the hotel for us.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kihaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Traben-Trarbach
0.1 mi away
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevue
Romantik Jugendstilhotel Bellevu...
#2 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trabener Hof
Trabener Hof
#3 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
87 reviews
5.2 mi away
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
Weinromantikhotel Richtershof
#1 of 3 in Mulheim an der Mosel
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moseltor
Hotel Moseltor
#4 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Traben-Trarbach
Parkhotel Traben-Trarbach
#5 of 11 in Traben-Trarbach
45 reviews
3.7 mi away
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfuersten
Vital & Wellnesshotel zum Kurfue...
#1 of 24 in Bernkastel-Kues
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moselschloesschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moselschloesschen

Property: Moselschloesschen
Address: An der Mosel 15, 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Location: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Traben-Trarbach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Traben-Trarbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moselschloesschen 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moselschlosschen is home of a 100-year-old wine trader dynasty, authenticate atmosphere located right on the Moselle Promenade, historical buildings "Fachwerkhaus," "Schlechengasse," "Villa" with 61 maisonettes/suites, park/well courtyard - the ideal setting for connoisseurs, family and business events. Regional and seasonal delights include culinary wine tasting and cooking events, bike tours, guided rambling, excursions, sporting activities, roman wine culture, history, Art Nouveau and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Moselschloesschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moselschlosschen Traben Trarbach
Moselschlosschen Hotel Traben Trarbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing