We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant serving local cuisine”
Review of Alte Zunftscheune

Alte Zunftscheune
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Good restaurant serving local cuisine”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The restaurant is looking very quaint: lot's of old, wooden furniture, lovely decorations and a green terrace. Consequently the atmosphere is very good. They serve fantastic, local food: we had smoked trout as an entree and then a local dish served in a pan consisting of turkey, swabian noodles and mushrooms and a local fish dish. All of the food was very well-prepared and very tasty. They have a good list of local wines, some of which are made within a 5 km radius. Would recommend for food, atmospere and wine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawyergirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    66
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
245 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good food, wine and surroundings - but hot and busy”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We chose this restaurant for its looks, with it having old wooden rooms and decoration, with low lighting and an old- fashioned feel (in a good way). The restaurant was very busy throughout our time there and was over crowded. We sat upstairs and it was too hot, but still it was cosy and had a traditional feel. Due to the crowds, service was slow and the staff were running around, looking stressed (not their fault and no surprise given the numbers). However, the wine tasted great and the food was traditional, hearty German fare. All in all worth a visit and booking is recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevieC_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Restaurant with lots of old stuff”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here with the family last weekend. We had a `forelle' and a riesling soup with salmon as a starter, and a filled potato and pork medallions as the main. The food was nice. The soup + pork medaillons maybe a bit too much, but that is my own problem ;-) The kids had a kids menu, which was OK for them. We didn't like the white house wine much, the red one was much better. The service was friendly and efficient, and the environment, with lots of small, old, items on exhibition quite nice.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanJeuring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing range of meals”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The menu here is so varied that we, a group of six, had no problem eating dinner here on three successive nights. Service is usually quick and friendly, only on the last night did we have to wait for over an hour before our dinner was served.
Reservation recommended!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fotobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice place with local antiques throughout, great food, lots of variety”
Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is one of our favorite restaurants--we ate there twice in April 2010. The food is really good, and they have a lot of variety from large plates of typical German fare to small plates, noodle dishes, and absolutely great soups and salads. The menu is 10 pages long so there really is something for everyone. One of my favorite light dinners is to get one of their soups, then the salad with smoked salmon and two potatoe pancakes. They also have an extensive wine list from local growers. A good place for vegetarians (the noodle dishes without meat are really good, as are the salads), with lots of interesting things to look at in the restaurant. My German friends tell me the owners went around the area years ago and bought antique items from the local farmers, which are displayed throughout the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CSpringsDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alte Zunftscheune also viewed

Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bernkastel-Kues, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Zell (Mosel), Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Alte Zunftscheune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing