We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Sindelfingen
Tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a Marriott”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am a long time Marriott Gold member business traveler and have stayed at hundreds of Marriott hotels around the world. Chose this hotel based on the name, clearly did not do any research before coming (Marriott, should I really have to?).

This is not a Marriott hotel. This is a dated version of an Econolodge.

The hotel was last updated in the early 90s. Wear paths on the carpet, 21 inch box TV, enter the time machine back to 1991...

The bed is full of lumps, might as well spread your clothes out on the floor, lay a blanket over them and sleep on it...same comfort level.

They give you a 26 digit password for internet usage that has to be re-entered every time you re-open a computer or device. Only outlet plugs are hidden well back behind the desk (hands and knees kind of stuff), nothing even close to the bed.

Loud drilling noises all day, told I had to deal with it, despite trying to recover from jetlag.

Long and short, I'm more ashamed of Marriott for allowing this hotel to put his great name on this place. Clearly they have some long term contract with U.S. G.I.'s, which is allowing them to stay in business.

Stay in business or not, Marriott you are killing your brand. Do something...fast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TokyoConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    158
    110
    31
    21
See reviews for
57
84
31
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Currently staying here on a business trip and chose it for its good location (close to venue). Marriotts are normally quite good, but this one has done little to impress. The staff is friendly, however the reservation was poorly handled: two requests to alter name spellings ended up in more mistakes being put (thank heavens for reservation numbers). The rooms are quite small and outdated and have poor socket access to plug in mobile devices, the wifi is very patchy and extraordinarily expensive. The temperature control is completely wacky. There are two lifts for the entire hotel and be prepared to wait a while (especially if your key card doesn't work). There are no coffee making facilities in the room and the minibar is barren.
There is plenty on the breakfast buffet to chose from, but the food is bland and over-cooked.
We've all agreed that we have stayed in worse hotels, but they didn't cost us or our company €120 a pop, plus poor wifi for five days. Not happy

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JujuWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sindelfingen hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I keep wondering why people stay here as I look around. Why is this place so expensive?!
Wifi is additional and it works on and off.
Room doesn't come with coffee maker or a kettle, in fact, costs extra per day to get one!
They don't offer shuttle service to the S. So if you don't have a car you are stuck (or pay a really expensive taxi).
Parking is about €20 per day
Bed is comfortable, bed sheet had a cigarette burn.
It's not a completely horrible hotel. I just expect a lot more for what they charge.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptriptraveltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I hear a lot of people whining about the decor, but honestly... why is everyone that picky?
There's nothing wrong with this hotel. Sure it could use a facelift, particularly flat screen TVs would be nice, even if I only understand 5 channels. Fortunately I don't need to understand sports commentary to watch sports.

The staff is very friendly, kind, and extremely helpful even when new in many cases. They resolve issues and take care of day to day tasks like check-in and food order with no problems, and even give good local recommendations, which doesn't seem easy for the small town of Sindelfingen.

I genuinely feel bad for the staff who have to deal with so many rude Americans who come in here and flaunt the rules and act like jerks. Can the staff renovate the hotel? No. Can the staff selectively ignore the rules on bringing food/drink out of the executive lounge? No. I've seen a number of people and incidents that really demonstrate how my fellow Americans are giving us a bad name abroad. You're in Germany, you could at least make an attempt to not force your own lifestyle and attitude on others. Maybe learn "Danke schön!," "bitte," "Entschuldigung" or some other useful basic phrases so you don't come off rudely.

Long story short -- the rooms are spacious, the price fits requirements, the staff is courtesy, the decor is 90s. Breakfast is a little pricy, so just don't eat Frühstück here. Do you really care if you get a good night's sleep and can otherwise enjoy your time in Germany? I know I don't.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD_Chivas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We lived in Sindelfingen for years. Picked the Marriott because we knew about all the good restaurants in town. The hotel room was small and needs updating. The breakfast buffet was plentiful but the same food every morning. The staff was the highlight of the stay. They made us feel comfortable and ensured we had a good stay. The take dogs and we had no problems with our pups during the visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_and_Kim_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed here many times, but unfortunately some of the outstanding staff if no longer there due to a very turbulent and drawn out contract negotiation with the owner. Finally, the long awaited improvements are to begin in March....can't wait. The current staff is trying very hard to fill the shoes of the previous ones. The food is very good and the location is convenient. It would be nice if they had an outdoor biergarten.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hortense007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

1) The rooms are dated. It neither has local style nor some Marriott standard. Just dated old style and old stuff in the room. A Motel 6 by a highway may have better looking rooms.
2) The bed had a ridge in the center. I would slide and end up on edges. Actually missed the comfort of transatlantic economy plus seat. Yes - it was that bad.
3) Not sure if the air conditioning ever worked.
4) A black ink kind of liquid came out of shower on 2nd day for about 5 minutes. Must have been some worn out lining of the plumbing.
5) We had better TVs in 1990s.

Just a shabby and rundown place. So Run ....

The only reason it gets second star is because of the staff. They are so friendly and nice people. The restaurants are good too. It will be unfair if this is not mentioned. But that's not the point - can't have a shabby looking hotel with "Marriott" brand and try to make it good by putting in good people.

Room Tip: Sorry ... there are no good rooms. I supposedly got a premium room on the 6th floor and it was rundo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils_KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sindelfingen
0.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Stuttgart Sindelfingen an der Messe
4.3 mi away
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart
Pullman Fontana Stuttgart
#13 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,042 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Sindelfingen City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Le Meridien Stuttgart
Le Meridien Stuttgart
#3 of 146 in Stuttgart
1,262 reviews
8.3 mi away
Waldhotel Stuttgart
Waldhotel Stuttgart
#2 of 146 in Stuttgart
416 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Stuttgart Sindelfingen
NH Stuttgart Sindelfingen
#5 of 19 in Sindelfingen
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen

Property: Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen
Address: Mahdentalstrasse 68, 71065 Sindelfingen, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Sindelfingen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sindelfingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen inspires both productivity and relaxation here in southern Germany. Ideally located near Stuttgart Airport and only 15 minutes from the city center, our hotel welcomes you with elegantly refurbished accommodation and terrific amenities. Strikingly designed rooms and suites feature plush bedding, large flat-screen TVs, and comfortable workspaces. Additional perks for your Sindelfingen hotel visit include a fully-equipped fitness center, an indoor pool, and a sauna - the perfect spot for unwinding after a busy day here in Stuttgart. Gather with colleagues in our bright atrium-style lobby bar, or meet for dinner at Steakhouse Restaurant. Those planning an event will be thrilled with our expansive function room space and delicious catering services - not to mention our convenient and easily accessible location. Explore the city during your visit, too - from LEGOLAND(R) Guenzburg to Stuttgart Castle. Brilliant travel begins here at the Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stuttgart Marriott Hotel Sindelfingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sindelfingen
Sindelfingen Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing