We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”
Review of YHA Treyarnon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Treyarnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a Youth Hostel, so don't expect five star luxury, but you do get a five star welcome and fantastic beer.

It can be a bit tricky to find. On a dark night it can be easy to end up on the steep road down to the beach... ignore the beach road and drive along the track just to the left of the campsite entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 167 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

The best location; ever.Although a youth hostel with basic rooms; some are double or family rooms with en-suite. Comfortable and quiet. Superb and well priced food;far superior to food I have had in any other hostel. Licensed bar with excellent range of local beers.There seemed to be nothing that was too much trouble for the staff; very friendly and helpful. Very regular music events. Surfing within yards of the front door. Wonderful walking from the front door. Views to die for. Perfect, perfect
Open all over Christmas with open fire. Cafe / bistro / bar was open all day and evening. Staff amazingly welcoming.
DOG FRIENDLY CAFE / BAR

Room Tip: On e of the most beautiful family beaches within yards of the hostel. Surfing, swimming, rock pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

we called into the YHA and immediately met the chef, manager, Buddy and all round good guy through the window of the kitchen!... we couldn't get in because we had no key code.
after check in which was simple, we had a cuppa tea.... the best!
Room, although small was clean and adequate... after all it's a place to lay our heads.
Wi-fi available to members and 2 or 3 computers available to general use.....
We're here for the night and have breakfast included in our £33.00. Glad we bought and renewed membership. Breaker review tomorrow.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeY20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We held a 40th birthday party for my husband here and we had an amazing time. The rooms were what you would expect in a YHA, basic, but they were clean and the beds were comfy. Staff were lovely. They catered for us and it was great, good price too. Not exactly cheap to rent out the whole place for a night but well worth it. Such an incredible location and a perfect party room. Our guests loved it too. Highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank nikandzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My Husband, myself and our 6 year old son have recently returned from a 3 night stay during October half term. We arrived to a very friendly greeting and were allocated room 3, WOW what an amazing sea view. Our 6 year old was immediately off exploring as we unloaded the car and unpacked. He had an amazing time we hardly saw him. We stayed over Halloween they put on an amazing Halloween party with pumpkin carving, fancy dress, live music and Karaoke. A good time was had by all.

The burger meal we ordered on our second night was delicious and amazing value for money. It came with a glass of wine or beer or cider all for £6.49. Try the house red it is one of the best red wines I have tasted.

We have already booked to return for 4 days in May half term next year. This YHA is right on an amazing beach and we intend to hire wet suits and try out body boarding.

Thanks to Matt and his team for the amazing job you do at YHA Treyarnon. Cant wait to see you all again in May.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 with the most amazing sea view. Also rooms 1 & 2 have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the hostel in October for three nights and were very impressed with Matt and all his staff everyone was very helpful and friendly at all times. The room we where in was simple but very clean and comfortable. The hostel was in a great location overlooking an amazing bay and a short walk to Constantine Bay. The hostel also had a great cafe that served very good coffee and was very lively without being noisy. The weekend that we stayed they had very good singers who came and did it all free that was a great evening. We would recommend this to anyone who wants an inexpensive holiday but like to be near to local attractions such as the Eden Project and Padstow. Great place
Jan and Mike Davies

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 695traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

On the 28/9/13 Matt, General Manager, and his team hosted our perfect wedding reception in a marquee next to the hostel. Words cannot describe our appreciation for the team who made every effort to make our special day very memorable. Catering for 120 guests with a three course meal was exceptionally delivered by Paul the Catering Manager. The quality of the food presented would certainly not have been out of place in a 5 star restaurant. Every guest commented not only on the quality of the food but also the generous quantity.
Matt remained very patient with us prior to the wedding and on the day delivering a reception of the highest class. He was always smiling and on hand to speak with guests which was very much appreciated.
Not only were the guests incredibly well looked after on the day but also in the exclusive use of the hostel for the weekend. The accommodation was very clean and the food once again very good.

Treyarnon bay is truly an idyllic location by the sea, which alongside the high standard of service delivery from Matt and his YHA team made it a truly memorable day /weekend for us and our guests

We cannot thank you enough for all your hard work on the best day of our lives. Thank you so much!
Mark and Karen Jarvill. X

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jarvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
0.4 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
3.9 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,500 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge Wadebridge
Travelodge Wadebridge
#2 of 4 in Wadebridge
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
16.6 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#6 of 37 in St Austell
373 reviews
21.6 mi away
YHA Boswinger
YHA Boswinger
#1 of 1 in Boswinger
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Treyarnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Treyarnon

Address: Treggonan | Trayarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JR, England (Formerly Treyarnon Bay Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range: $18 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Treyarnon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Treyarnon Bay we offer a relaxed youth hostel experience with a beach-side pub feel. We are currently offering meals from 10am until 8:30pm seven days a week and our bar is open from 10am until 10:30pm offering Cornish ale, lager and cider on tap.We are literally a stone’s throw from one of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall and are very proud to support our local community.We also offer group breaks and young people’s activity holidays, as well as business and corporate breaks and functions.We have plenty of parking and field we use for camping or wedding activities.Looking forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your YHA Treyarnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treyarnon Bay Youth Hotel St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing