We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live music at a youth hostel!”
Review of YHA Treyarnon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Treyarnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The men's dormitory I stayed in was standard youth hostel fare. It even had a sea view. The showers and toilets could have been a bit cleaner but were OK. The food was good, but they had run out of fish & chips by the time I ordered. Ate in the common room just before an acoustic set by a girl with a guitar that was appreciated by most of the guests. That certainly makes a nice change and is a regular Saturday night event. One quick tip: You can get a mobile phone signal about 1/4 mile walk up the road out of Treyarnon Bay, outside a house named Waterbeach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here during my walk along the South West Coast Path. A good location overlooking the bay, it is also a café/bar for non-residents with plenty of outdoor seating in fine weather plus camping at rear. I stayed in room 4 which was very comfortable. I really enjoyed the roasted vegetable lasagne with garlic bread. Nice local beers etc. Even live music on some nights. Breakfast was excellent - unfortunately, hiccup on first morning but following day normal service was resumed with everything ready by 7.30am. Shower rooms very small so don't take your clothes in there! Staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

OK the good, nice rooms and toilets, good bar and great kitchen, best sunsets, best location. But if you get room 5 there is no power plug, the showers smell bad and are small, so small that you cannot change properly. Having said that sunsets are on the world bests, staff is fabulous, be prepared for no wifi or pay highly for it. Because a good shower is top of my list, I have to give an honest rating of average. Although this is on the Coastal Walk, there are no maps available.

Room Tip: The sea view room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powpow4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here with a group of 39 students . An excellent stay at a beautifully situated youth hostel. Rooms are basic but clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was one of the best I have had, and the most comfortable bed I have slept in in any Youth Hostel.
Be aware however if you are travelling by coach - the Youth Hostel is inaccessible - as we found out to our cost. We were not informed of this, nor is there any information about this on the website, or notices on the roads. If you are in a coach party you need to park above the hostel in Constantine village and walk down through the caravan park.

Room Tip: Comfortable double bedded rooms - ensuite; are available if you are travelling as a couple or own yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelteacher50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We used the space made available behind the hostel to pitch our tent, having found out from the Boscastle hostel that this was an option. We enjoyed two nights and made use of the bar for medicinal purposes and can recommend the local ales/ciders. We only used the kitchen for washing up etc but it had all the equipment necessary if cooking in the tent wasn't an option (possibly could do with more tea towels though). The cafe has reasonably priced meals and although we didn't try any as we cooked our own this time round, the food certainly smelt yummy! The toilets and showers were also all clean and user friendly.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially when our car keys got locked in the boot of the car !
The location is fantastic and we are looking to make this our new base camp for future visits to this neck of the woods. I can think of nothing that would stop me from coming back again (and again).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fozzeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

So ... it's a hostel. And you have to share a kitchen and a bathroom with other people and it can get noisy ... but we don't care !! It's clean and they have a bar and if you want to buy (pretty decent) food you can and if what you want is the bestest views ever in the best location you could wish for ..... Oh, I'm regretting telling you all about it in case you all rush and book !!!

When I say I wouldn't swap the best hotel for the views you get from this Hostel, I mean it. I'll put up with the sharing any time.

Just so special.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have 'ensuite' but they do get booked up pretty quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A fabulous hostel in all respects .... a perfect spot with magnificent views and fab walks! The staff were very friendly and highly efficient .. a great energy to be around! Thanks folks for a wonderful stay x

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the dorm overlooking the seat ... not only are you likely to meet and share wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Merryn hotels
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 14 in St Merryn
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#5 of 14 in St Merryn
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waves Rooms
Waves Rooms
#2 of 2 in St Merryn
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St Merryn Bed and Breakfast
0 mi away
Carnevas Holiday Park
Carnevas Holiday Park
#4 of 14 in St Merryn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Treyarnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Treyarnon

Address: Treggonan | Trayarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JR, England (Formerly Treyarnon Bay Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range: $22 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Treyarnon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Treyarnon Bay we offer a relaxed youth hostel experience with a beach-side pub feel. We are currently offering meals from 10am until 8:30pm seven days a week and our bar is open from 10am until 10:30pm offering Cornish ale, lager and cider on tap.We are literally a stone’s throw from one of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall and are very proud to support our local community.We also offer group breaks and young people’s activity holidays, as well as business and corporate breaks and functions.We have plenty of parking and field we use for camping or wedding activities.Looking forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your YHA Treyarnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treyarnon Bay Youth Hotel St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing