We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow ! location ! location !”
Review of YHA Treyarnon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Treyarnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

we arrived at Treyarnon after a long day at the Eden Project to find a warm welcome in a delightful hostel that was buzzing with atmosphere.
Treyarnon Bay is a lovely spot with little to spoil it's natural beauty and when we arrived it was all wild and windy, with surfers bobbing around in the sea - and the hostel bar/cafe was busy with people enjoying the good food and excellent quiet live music.
Our twin room with en-suite was extremely spacious and well ventilated and the hostel throughout was clean and cosy with everything you might need to self cater or dine in with wifi available in public areas - the kitchen was very well laid out so that it was easier than is often the case in small hostels to cope with lots of people cooking.
The team including the one toothed cat were friendly welcoming and outgoing, with a nothing is too much trouble attitude - altho' the cat did expect a bit of petting.
At night it was peaceful and nothing disturbed our sleep.
Would we go back - you bet! - it was at the same time a real get away from it all place and yet unintrusively lively and vibrant - the team I am sure are central to that experience - so thankyou!

Room Tip: book well ahead or travel out of season
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INVERNESS-margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 178 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

My friend and I spent one night here whilst walking the Cornish coastal path. We had a twin room with ensuite shower and everything was fresh and clean. Ben was very friendly as were the rest of the staff and the whole place had a buzz about it - you could feel how enthusiastic they all were. We had an evening meal there and it was such good value and very tasty as was breakfast the next morning. This place deserves to do well. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreas1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ben & his team could not of made us feel more welcome. They were on the go all the time. The food was so good that we ate there both evenings of our stay and even treated ourselves to breakfast and we were not disappointed. Yes the rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable, in fact the bedding all looked new. You do have to make your own beds but at least you know that it's all clean & pressed. Not all rooms have en-suites but there are plenty more toilets & showers right outside the rooms. A drying room was most welcome especially with our British weather. The place was alive & buzzing with life which was great especially when you have kids & adults that are not exactly quiet. ( even naughty rucksacks) Private joke that split our sides laughing
Can't not finish without mentioning the fabulous views over the beach, all in all 10/ 10. Will def return in the near future. Many thanks Ben & team.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheps_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yha Treyarnon B, Manager at YHA Treyarnon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Awesome!
So glad you liked us. We're trying really hard to become the best at what we do.
Thanks for the review and come back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fantastic area to stay, right on the beach with fantastic walks, the staff were very friendly and helpful with a very nice and helpful manager, the food was excellent and value for money, alot better than we thought it would be, a very relaxed place with a good vibe. The beds could be improved on felt hard and only one flat pillow supplied but now we know that would take extra one.
The only thing i think could off been a bit more clear for self catering is the achohol, the sheet we were given when we arrived said we couldnt drink our own but other people who were eating their own cooked food were, this was confusing, also as we were classed as self catering but decided to buy our food as was so nice, we brought our own non alcoholic drinks down eg.. J20 and our children were quizzed by a member of staff, this was also confusing as people were making there own drinks including tea coffee orange juice etc...this could be a little more clear so people do not feel awkward... Overall though would visit again and thankyou to all the very hard working staff.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After having had a disappointing stay at a different youth hostel in Cornwall last year, we were overjoyed to find Treyarnon. Our two night stay was superb. The hostel had everything we needed including a large drying room; crucial as the weather was iffy! The staff were lovely and created a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Having self-catered last year, we decided to take a chance on the cafe at the hostel this time and weren't disappointed. The food was excellent with a great choice, large portions and brilliant value for money. We would definitely recommend eating in and saving on boot space in the car, that would have been taken up with food! The rooms were functional and clean and the showers were great. We spent a wonderful evening in the bar/common room playing games and relaxing with the other guests.
The location really is the star of the show here, with the hostel perching on top of the cliffs overlooking the beautiful beach - a walk along the top to the next two bays is a must, and the 'blow-hole" was astonishing but take care as you approach! Fantastic stay and brilliant value for money . . . we will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rucksack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yha Treyarnon B, Manager at YHA Treyarnon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for you review, i know the team appreciates it.
We've been trying hard to deliver great food and service and these reviews mean we are making a difference to people's holidays.
We hope to welcome you back soon, thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently stopped in for a cream tea whilst enjoying Treyarnon Bay and Constantine beach. Having now devoured quite a few scones and cream my husband and I consider ourselves to be something of an expert and these were amongst the best we tasted!!
Excellent service, good prices and magnificent views which we were lucky enough to experience on a lovely sunny day. Looking forward to staying here out of season.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summergirl14743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had an excellent family meal here after a day on the beach - food was very good good value (Better than Rick Stein's in Padstow) - service was excellent - Ben Stevens and his team work really well together - everybody was very friendly - bar staff were pleasant and polite - the place is really clean.
I always compliment when I have received good service - Ben really appreciated the feedback !!

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Merryn hotels
2.4 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 14 in St Merryn
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#5 of 14 in St Merryn
181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waves Rooms
Waves Rooms
#2 of 2 in St Merryn
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
St Merryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to YHA Treyarnon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Treyarnon

Address: Treggonan | Trayarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JR, England (Formerly Treyarnon Bay Youth Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range: $22 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Treyarnon 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Treyarnon Bay we offer a relaxed youth hostel experience with a beach-side pub feel. We are currently offering meals from 10am until 8:30pm seven days a week and our bar is open from 10am until 10:30pm offering Cornish ale, lager and cider on tap.We are literally a stone’s throw from one of the most beautiful beaches in Cornwall and are very proud to support our local community.We also offer group breaks and young people’s activity holidays, as well as business and corporate breaks and functions.We have plenty of parking and field we use for camping or wedding activities.Looking forward to seeing you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your YHA Treyarnon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treyarnon Bay Youth Hotel St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing