We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Waves Rooms

Waves Rooms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Waves Rooms
Ranked #2 of 2 St Merryn B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in Waves and it was really lovely. Great location for us as we like to explore the north coast. We stayed in the Bay room up in the eaves which has a generous sized en-suite. It is really bright and fresh, with really good facilities- great tea and coffee selection, tv/dvd, really comfy massive bed, lovely shampoo/shower gel/body lotion, bath robes, towels- everything you needed! It was out out of season so the restaurant downstairs wasn't open for breakfast, but we were provided with nice breakfast bags containing juice, fruit and muffins. Bev suggested the local tea rooms (Nins tearooms) for breakfast, which was also really nice! All in all an amazing stay- would definitely recommend even in the quiet out of season.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank appleorange86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

This establishment has everything we wanted for our weekend break in Cornwall.
We booked last minute with friends (another couple), managing to get 2 of the 3 rooms for 2 nights. Bev sent a text message to let us know the rooms were ready for our arrival and we were very impressed with the rooms which, although not huge were big enough for two with en suite shower rooms and built in wardrobes and were very clean, and well equipped.
As stated by other guests, it is the attention to detail and the extra touches that make this place special. Comfortable beds with crisp white bed linen, ipod player, tv/dvd player, tea/coffee/biscuits and the breakfast bag which was topped up each morning. Dressing gowns were also provided and fluffy white towels in the bathroom plus Cole and Lewis soap, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion dispensers, personal grooming kits plus a hairdryer! Basically everything you could wish for. The standard was on a par with, if not better than that we are used to in the five star hotels we use each year abroad.
We ate in the Waves restaurant downstairs after managing to book a table through Bev who confirmed the reservation by text message (dinner and breakfast) and the food was excellent. Windy even brought out a sample of curry for me to try before ordering as I was unsure whether I would like it - I did end up ordering it and it was delicious!
We also made use of the lounge area for a couple of hours when the weather wasn't so good and it was lovely to be able to have a place to relax where we could have a drink and a chat. Overall I would recommend the Waves Rooms to other holiday makers looking for a clean and comfortable stay and if we need a place to stay in the area again in the future we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this as a last minute break. Windy was very helpful on the 'phone which made the booking process quite easy.

We arrived late and received texts from Bev with directions and access details. We were shown to our room by Kate in the restaurant. She was also very helpful and made us feel welcome.

The room was lovely. Nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. It had everything we wanted to make us feel at home. The tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits were very welcome after our journey. There was also a television (with integrated DVD), a small fridge, hairdryer, toiletries etc.

We didn't eat breakfast in the restaurant which incurred an additional charge. We were happy enough with our inclusive breakfast bag which contained fruit juice, a breakfast bar or muffin and fruit. It was nice to chill out in our room in the morning and have breakfast in bed!

There are only three rooms here, and we were the only guests until the last evening. This was an advantage for us as we had sole use of the delightful lounge area where we could sit and relax in peace after busy days sightseeing. There is also a small outside terrace for guests use, with a table and chairs for al fresco dining. There is wifi - although at times it was very slow.

The thoughtful extras are what makes this place special. There is cutlery, plates and glasses available for you if you decide on a take away meal. DVDs are left for guests use and even blankets to keep you warm if you decide to sit outside.

The only slight downside was that there was a lot of noise from the street outside but this was probably because the weather was warm while we were there and we left the windows open to cool down.

All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay - sorry we didn't get to meet Bev or Windy but maybe another time!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in the Nook which is a cosy room, ideal for somewhere to get your head down and having it as a base. The accommodation is in the heart of St Merryn village close to pubs and restaurants including Raffertys which we can recommend. We were made to feel very welcome and at home by Bev and her homemade brownies were delicious.
All in all good value, smart and comfortable accommodation in a great location with easy access to local beaches and amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked in for a couple of nights in the Bay room above the restaurant. The place is run by Bev and Windy who both were very friendly and quick to reply to our last minute inquiries and made the hole process from booking to checking out extremely smooth and easy.
We arrived later than expected on the friday night but Bev greeted us with a warm welcome and showed us to our stylish and spotless room which had everything we needed including some freshly baked homemade brownies which we both felt was a nice personal touch. It was suprisingly peaceful staying above the restaurant and being able to walk straight down to be shown to a table worked really well after working up an appertite from a long days sight seeing exploring the beautiful local surroundings which are among the best in Cornwall if you look in the right places. The breakfast bag also meant that we were able to prelong and enjoy a lie in with some nibbles and the sun poring through our skylight without any rush.
The bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in which was made daily. Access to the car was also made very easy with the option of a rear entrance meaning you can completely avoid the restaurant when bringing in and out belongings. I would reccomend a room at waves to any couple or lone visitor wanting a few days to get away from the hussle and bussle of everyday life and find some privacy and peace and quiet. Its far from the hostels of Newquay which attact crowds of those looking to party, but there are a number of local watering holes and places to eat within walking distance of the rooms if you fancy a few somewhere else. The local surfing is also brilliant with a variety of waves and options for all winds and tides.
A stay a waves will garuntee an attention to detail which you just won't get staying in a larger hotel or hostel and the fact there are a small number of rooms gives you that exclusive, private feeling away from what can at times be a busy area. All this came at a price that we (a couple in our early twenties) found to be very affordable. We would love to come back again at some point.

Thanks for a memorable stay!

Tim and Katie

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hunty2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
2.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Harlyn Inn
The Harlyn Inn
#26 of 55 in Padstow
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Old Mill House
The Old Mill House
#2 of 55 in Padstow
233 reviews
2.5 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
598 reviews
2.0 mi away
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
Padstow Bed & Breakfast
#20 of 55 in Padstow
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waves Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waves Rooms

Address: Crossroads, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Merryn
Price Range: $91 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waves rooms is a 4 star, stylish and cosy bolt hole for those in search of affordable luxury. Located above Waves Restaurant in the heart of St Merryn just minutes form seven beautiful sandy bays and three miles from Padstow. Our 3 en-suite guest rooms, two doubles and one twin, are stylishly decorated with some special touches to make your stay that little bit more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Waves Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing