We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and very friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafferty's Cafe & Wine Bar

Rafferty's Cafe & Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in St Merryn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $60
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just been to this restaurant for a meal greeted by very friendly staff making sure everything was fine. The meal served was well cooked and excellent (the apple and blackberry crumble to finish was superb) a very enjoyable evening my only gripe being that the meal was a little over priced . I would definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    47
    13
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Recently visuted Rafferty's on a recommendation from friends. The initial atmosphere was really nice and welcoming. The decor was simple but effective and very comfortable. The kitchen is open to the restaurant area which is fine but perhaps a bit too open seeing food handled a bit too much perhaps after chef has wiped his brow with the same hand! .
The service from our waitresses was excellent. We ordered wine and our starter between us was a mixed fish starter. Beautifully presented on a platter and it was delicious. Very tasty and a good mix of salmon, shrimp, calamari and whitebait.
Unfortunately the disappointment came with our main courses. We ordered 4 steaks with tomato, chips and a large flat mushroom with onions. The food when it arrived was tepid which was annoying.In addition we complained that one of the steaks instead of being a medium was so overdone it was black on the underside and very dry. To be fair the maitre d' immediately changed the meal and the replacement was as it should be. We were also given 4 new mushrooms that were piping hot (without the onions). The effort was made to correct the meals but to be honest we were so disappointed by then the edge had gone off the evening. We went home for coffee in the end! .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TGG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“just average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our first meal whilst on holiday in Padstow and all our party agree this was the least enjoyable of all our meals. My partners lamb was tough, my hake was nice enough but lacked taste. Would not go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank addieteesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The service here was very friendly and nice; for me the right amount of attentiveness without making you feel hassled. The food was good and my main of lemon sole was amazing but I thought my crab salad starter was a little bland. The pudding was nice and refreshing. All in all very nice but perhaps a little pricy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KateinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Small restaurant in North Cornish village of St Merryn. Special tapas menu which is varied. Good selection of well priced starters and mains although I struggled a bit to find that much on the menu that really appealed. Lots of mussels and clams etc added to dishes. Having said that what I did have was well cooked, attentive friendly staff and a good atmosphere. One comment I would make is please put cushions on the chairs......they are really hard and really uncomfortable and cushions on the base and back would make all the difference!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rafferty's Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Little Petherick, Padstow
 

Been to Rafferty's Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing