We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved only by Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Merryn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harlyn Sands Holiday Park
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Saved only by Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really disappointing and very frustrating this place, it could so easily be good, after all, nature provided a tremendous, breath-taking location. Pay, pay, pay, if there is a way that this site could extract an extra sum of money out of you, they will have found it. We ran out of water and I drink an awful lot of it. Padstow Tesco charged 17p per litre, they charged £1.20! When I went to buy a bottle of wine, about 8'o'clock one night, the shop had shut. I went to the bar and the young fellow behind the bar said that he wasn't supposed to serve me but would. To cut a long story short, he had charged me £12.50 for a cheap bottle of plonk!! The story goes on, if you might want to swim, it'll probably be most cost effective to buy a family ticket, £28 per week. Sad eh? So disappointed but the area is absolutely magnificent and well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Try to have everything you want and need so that you don't have to buy there. They didn't ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanAckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJA78, Manager at Harlyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to read that you felt un-satisfied by your stay here with us. We are constantly trying to keep our prices for every day items for sale in the shop low, but do not have anything like the buying power of Tesco! The price you quoted was actually for a larger bottle than a 1ltr! Obviously we can not keep our shop open all hours, but do state that we will always be happy to try and get whatever you need during reasonable hours! The swimming pool, like a lot of parks with big indoor pools, has to be charged for, for a number of reasons, mainly to make sure we can control the numbers going into the pool at any time - we do not feel that £28 for unlimited swimming for the family is expensive! As I mentioned I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and hope that these explanations will go some way in helping you too understand our reasons behind why we do what we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    35
    30
    15
See reviews for
137
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just got back from a fantastic week at harlyn. Its a truly magical place fot the little ones which makes a perfect holiday for the parents. Zany zed and tricky rickys ability to remember each childs name made going to the club house a highlight for our daughter. Having stayed at bigger sites and just being one of the crowd as a four year old means not many chances to win prizes as the big kids are more capable. At harlyn every child gets a chance every child wins something. Well done ricky and zed you made our girls holiday. The site has a lovely park and a little train comes out to play daily which the kids love. The Indoor fun pool is great for wet days or just 2 mins walk down a dirt track is the beach a real sun trap sheltered by rocks its full of rock pools and places to explore at low tide. You can walk right round to the main harlyn bay but the cove on boat bay is perfect and easy to keep an eye on little ones. I Braved the sea chilly but beautifully clear water. There are numerous beaches to explore nearby and some great walks. Boobys bay is beautiful for the well able as bit of rock climbing needed to get down to. But we did it pushchair an all as they are like steps not a cliff face. Life guards keeping watch of the sea at all times. The caravan was spotless the staff friendly and helpful the clubhouse serves fresh homemade food a 3 course carvery less than £9 and children eat for £1 all the usual favs. Cant fault the place if your looking for family fun the children will adore caravan hols camping or touring dont expect 5 star luxury its a campsite! But by god they know how to make you feel right at home. No heirs and graces just friendly faces. Thanks so much for another great holiday. Please pass on our thanks and graditude to Zed and Ricky Natalie jon and Alissia Kent. xxx See you next year xxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwright82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJA78, Manager at Harlyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you guys for your review! We are glad that you have once again enjoyed your holiday!! It makes us feel soooo good to read that families are enjoying Harlyn Sands! We will pass on your comments to Zed & Ricky and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked three caravans next to the track,that takes you down to the beautiful sandy beach,myself my husband mother and father in law,son and daughter in law and their two children.it was a great place and everyone enjoyed it,there's plenty for the kids to do,(oh!nearly forgot the two dogs as well,)the adult evening entertainment was good my father in law especially loved the comedian,the kids love tricky Ricky the ,dogs loved the beach,all in all there was something for every one.the caravans were immaculate we had the rio which is brand new and very spacious,and we were allowed a dog.there are some nice pubs nearby,not far away is padstow always worth a visit we like the ship pub,Newquay isn't far either,Jamie Oliver's 15 is worth a visit,we came back very relaxed and happy even though the weather wasn't very good my mother in law wasn't to happy that she couldn't make it down to the beach though as a short part of it is a bit steep and her legs are not that good but that was the only drawback we didn't win the bingo either!the shop is very handy,not to expensive,the restaurant food is not bad,none of us were keen on the fish and chips though way to greasy,but to sum it up a good all rounder would recommend for family's with kids definatly

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleypage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJA78, Manager at Harlyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very happy to read that you have all enjoyed your stay here with us! We will look into the fish and chips and maybe consider frying the chef!! We hope that we will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Just got back(literally) after a 5 hour journey from Harlyn Sands and had a fantastic time down there.We had 1 week of brilliant sunshine and came back with as good a tan as we would of got going to our regular place in the canary islands.As for the camp we could not fault it at all from arriving to leaving.Every member of staff we met from reception to maintenance to bar and entertainment were very very friendly whether we met them on or offsite.We stayed in a private caravan which was ideally situated and had everything needed for the holiday including beach gear.The site is ideally situated to visit other areas of the North coast and we visited Tintagel and Port Isaac (they were filming Doc Martin on the day we were there) and saw the seals at Newquay harbour.Would we visit again?who knows but we would certainly recommend Harlyn Sands to anyone, especially families

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StaffsMurphyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJA78, Manager at Harlyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are very pleased to read that you had such a great time with us at Harlyn Sands. We do hope that if you are thinking about coming back to Cornwall we will one of your first choices!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights at end of April.
Friendly and efficient check in. Stunning location. Caravan was very clean and well presented.
Had a sizzling steak in the cafe, which was very tasty and good value. Thoroughly enjoyed the 70's group. Both holiday makers and staff dressed for the occasion.
Have booked to go back in August with our grandchildren, as it is such a family friendly site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamarTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJA78, General Manager at Harlyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your short break here with us. Our aim is to provide great value family holidays, and your comments mean that we are still achieving this 30 years on from starting out!! We look forward to seeing you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have stayed here for 3 years running (and we travel from Cheshire!!), and whilst I cannot comment on camping or touring facilities, we haven’t had any issues with the site as a whole. It’s clean and tidy, but above all it’s very safe.

We’ve stayed in 3 different private statics, and always found them to be reasonable, well maintained and clean. The only general facilities we’ve used are the laundrette (which is a godsend in bad weather) and the swimming pool, which is very reasonably priced. If the pool isn’t for you, try Oasis Pool at Hendra in Newquay!

It’s not Haven, so don’t expect Haven. It needs some investment, particularly to the games arcade. The entertainment crew are cheesy and a bit naff, but this is a holiday park geared up for kids! My 4 year old loves kids club and the kids entertainment, and for us, that’s all that matters. Tricky Ricky is ace – very camp and tongue in cheek! After reading other reviews, I can say hand on heart, we've never had any issues with the staff and always found them to be pleasant and helpful. We had a problem with the water on our last caravan and the maintenance crew had it fixed in no time at all.

The location is fabulous, only a 5 minute walk to the nearest beach, with various other stunning beaches within short drive. Padstow is 5 minutes’ drive away, and Newquay only 20. It’s a great base to explore the North Cornwall coast.

We have eaten a few times in the restaurant, and whilst it’s not gourmet it is reasonable and good value for money – kids eat for 50p!! The chippy is expensive, (but when self-catering, it’s handy to be able to bob across to buy chips to go with your main meal), but it is far cheaper than Friar Tuck’s, the nearest chippy in St Merryn. Can highly recommend Waves pizzeria nearby, as well as The Harlyn Inn and The Harbour Inn (Padstow). Don’t expect top quality and you won’t be disappointed. When you get talking to other site guests, you’ll discover that most are repeat visitors! Can’t all be wrong!

Room Tip: It's a family run site, for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJA78, General Manager at Harlyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is always pleasing to read when families have such a great time here with us. We are always trying to keep the park up to date with its facilities, and are currently upgrading the children's arcade as well as a few other areas of the park.
We hope that you will like the changes when you next visit us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at Harlyn. I cannot fault it at all. We had a lovely caravan overlooking the bay (The view was amazing). The staff were very friendly & the park was very clean & tidy.

We will certainly be booking again next year.

Room Tip: We had a souper douper caravan it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
0.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porth Beach Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#4 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harlyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harlyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Harlyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Lighthouse Road, Trevose Head | Harlyn Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing