We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect home from home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Braemar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quirky and characterful, cosy Scandinavian styled Cornish getaway.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Quirky and characterful, cosy Scandinavian styled Cornish getaway.
View from the deck across to Treyarnon Bay.
Cosy and comfortable, with high beamed ceilings bringing style and space.
Large open plan multi zoned lounge area.
Huge Super King sized bed in master bedroom, for the ultimate in space and comfort.
Be sure of a relaxing night in super comfy beds
Tranquil bedrooms.
Vintage with a contemporary twist.  Simple clean styling in the second bathroom.
Great spot for breakfast or morning coffee.
Rustic charm of the tranquil cacti house, your own mini Eden.
Have a relaxing evening around the fire bowl.  If it rains retreat to the cacti house.
For a change from the beaches, stay and explore the garden.
Happy and content playing in the sand.
Stunning coastal walks, a view across Harlyn.
With crystal clear waters like these, who needs to go abroad?
Lifeguarded beaches, or secluded little coves.
Garden or decking, patio or balcony, cacti house or sunny pebble patch.  Spoilt for chill out choice
Pirate ship, castle, or just a hammock for the grown ups? Let your imagination run wild.
Watch the sunset at Constantine Bay.
The simple pleasure of a good book in a comfy rocking chair.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St Merryn, Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DrAPhil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What an incredibly flipping lovely house! Braemar is just magical - lovingly restored by the owners, this house is modern and quirky but with beautiful traditional furnishings. The kitchen has everything a cook could want, there is a fab dining area which makes the downstairs really sociable, then upstairs the views from the two living areas are just beautiful, including a glimpse of the sea!

The garden is really something - out dog loved exploring the rockery planted up with exotic palms, we loved watching the sun set over the sea from the raised terrace at the end. The cactus house and outdoor snug, and pirate ship (!) are a bit magical.

St Merryn is the perfect location too - several fantastic places to eat in the evenings, a great chippy, amazing local shop with everything crammed into it that you could need, and a bakery with delicious pasties.

We regularly had a pheasant or a rabbit visiting us in the garden.

There are loads of great beaches very close - Constantine was our favourite for big dog walks. Padstow is extremely close too.

Stay here! Really, really just stay here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2016
Thank you Amy for such a great review, and kind words. It was lovely to meet you. Hopefully see you again sometime. Enjoy the rest of your summer! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect House in Cornwall”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Braemar when we visited St Merryn over the Easter Weekend. In much need of some rest and recuperation the house was just what the doctor ordered! Braemar is perfect in every way and if you are planning a trip to Cornwall then don't hesitate to book. The location is ideal for both the beautiful beach (short walk away), Padstow and the best Cornish pasties I've ever had the pleasure of eating. What more could you want?! The local village gives a warm welcome to its visitors and the surrounding area is beautiful. The house enjoys beautiful, unspoilt views from the rear garden and there is a lovely raised decked area to enjoy a seat by the chimnea of an evening with a glass of local wine. Wine which you can buy from the local shop which boasts the only walk in fridge in the UK! The house itself is like a stylish boutique hotel. The owners have lovingly created a serene and calm oasis and have a great eye for design balanced with comfort. We enjoyed relaxing upstairs by the fire looking out over the countryside and waking up to beautiful blue skies viewed from the terrace doors. The kitchen is the heart of the home here and it is full of light and warmth whilst providing everything you need and more to create a feast or indeed unwrap the fish and chips from the local village and set them on a plate. As if all this wasn't enough, you can treat yourself to a daily sauna which you will find in the cacti house and enjoy the sun setting in the heat! The family who run the house are warm, welcoming and thoughtful hosts who couldn't have gone to more trouble to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. At the end of the trip they even gave us some cuttings of their amazing plants to take back to London. So now every time I look at them, I am transported back to what was perhaps the best weekend away I think I have ever had. Don't hesitate to book this place, whether its for a weekend getaway or a 3 week holiday, couples, families, friends, this place is idyllic.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2018
Thank you for your wonderfully kind comments, and taking the time to leave a review.
Hope you are all well. It would be lovely to see you all again soon in sunny Cornwall! :-)
Best wishes,
Paul and Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laceyfami...
UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great House and Location”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A very clean and modern house. The views are unbelievable, with excellent access to nearby walks and a short walk (along a busy road much without footpath) to the St Merryn village centre. The owners have clearly worked very hard to make this place relaxing, really focusing on the very beautiful garden and views. Our group ranged from 6 months to 84 years and the house did struggle to cater for such a wide age bracket. The steep internal stairs and the bunked area in the master bedroom (accessed via a steep ladder) could be (and were, for us) a nightmare for those with inquisitive toddlers and also those not so good on their feet. The master bedroom adjoins one of the double bedrooms as it does not have its own separate door - perfect for families but I guess not so good for a group of friends. Guests staying on the sofa bed in the lounge could retain more privacy if the owners were to separate it from the rest of the lounge via a screen and also move the tv into the other (more comfortable) lounge.
I would definitely stay here again with my husband and children (once they're a bit older) but the lack of carpet and comfy furniture didn't suit my nan unfortunately!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and location
Liked least: Lack of comfy seating in the tv area and also could benefit from a tumble dryer/heated towel rail
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOmisK_13
Toton, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent house with a wow factor”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What an excellent and interesting house with a wow factor for the designs and unusual things to look at. From the cacti room which has two levels, or the balcony or the decking overlooking fields into the distance to the subtropical plants around the garden, this house is fab. Retro light bulbs in the upstairs lounge is a nice touch as well as clotted cream and scones and milk on our arrival. Really enjoyed our stay. Plenty of tables outside to use and a fire pit, a pot chiminea and new barbeque with coals and firelighters supplied.
There is a pub which genuinely does good food and two small restaurants and a few shops including an off license, petrol station 5-10min stroll up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Balcony, decking area with views and upstairs lounge with views.
Liked least: No heated towel rail or tumble drier and we could not find a clothes line. We had issues trying to dry towels. Extractor fan in downstairs bathroom would also be beneficial.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Warm regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie H
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Your search is over...”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

..as you’ve found the most gorgeous holiday home that we have returned to for many years. Lovingly restored by genuine owners, this is well positioned for the beaches of the Seven Bays within five minutes’ drive and is a quality home from home that means you quickly relax into holiday mode…. Braemar will meet your expectations and more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2018
The summer is here! See you again soon! :-)
Hope you are all well.
Best wishes,
Paul and Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andissimo...
Germany
1 review
“Great 11 days in Cornwall”
Reviewed July 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

All rooms are spacious and very clean and offer lots of space to relax and to enjoy the holiday. The owners have invested lots of love into this house, you can feel that everywhere. The garden and especially the greenhouse with these excotic plants are amazing for everybody with a green thumb. House located near by the 7 bays, all reachable within 15 min by feed or car. Also Padstow, Wadebridge or Newquay need just 15 minutes by car. We will definitely come back to St Merryn if time allows and Braemar will be our favourite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Many thanks for your kind words. It was great to have met and your lovely family. Hopefully we will see you again next year. Warm regards,
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BridgetJL...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic holiday cottage!”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We've had a brilliant time staying at this fabulous cottage. The photos really don't do it justice. We loved the huge family lounge with the wood burning stove - there was so much space for everyone to chill out - adults, small children and teenagers alike. Our kids loved the garden and late nights playing cards in the unusua, funl cacti house. The views from the lounge/balcony were lovely - I can imagine it being even more so in the summer. We can't wait to come back! Gorgeous, relaxed and stylish house in a great location.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2018
Thank you for such a lovely review, and taking the time to write.
Hope you are all well.
It would be great to have you all back again at Braemar soon.
Best wishes,
Paul and Cheryl
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing