We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, beautiful and peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Merryn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic, beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

What a fantastic Holiday park. Private beach which is a gem, very beautiful and very clean. Was very upset to leave the camp we all were, it was our second time there and we have already booked for a third. The staff are very very friendly and very helpful. The people in the on site shop were lovely people they tell you places to visit which we took their advise and was worth it. It's very dog friendly. We found the caravan to be spotless, to say we were in a 'dog caravan' you wouldn't have thought it. The coastal walks are fantastic pack up some lunch and you could be gone all day walking and taking in th beautiful views. Can't wait for the next trip. Keep up the good work MIB!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    43
    18
    10
    8
See reviews for
201
69
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our fourteenth visit to Mother Ivey's Bay. Couldn't ask for anything better. Peaceful, immaculate site in an outstandingly beautiful area of North Cornwall. We all enjoy body boarding so are ideally situated for walking to up to 5 magnificent beaches. The stormy weather for most of our stay did not detract from our enjoyment. We have nothing but praise for the staff who work tirelessly in all conditions but who never fail to manage a smile and a cheery word. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them and they always make us feel special and really welcome. The static vans are of an exceptionally high quality, thoroughly equipped and spotless. On site facilities such as the shop and launderette are extremely useful and well maintained. The grounds are stunning and a pleasure to wander around, litter free and dog fouling free. Recycling facilities have been introduced and simplified over the years, enabling everyone on site to be 'green'.

During our stay this year we witnessed the prompt, efficient and calm manner in which staff dealt with a serious medical emergency. On site first aiders may well have saved a life and the coordination of an emergency response vehicle, paramedics and the air ambulance was admirable. It was reassuring to learn how many well qualified first aiders and appropriate equipment are immediately to hand.

Many of the people we meet on site have, like us, been coming for many years and it's easy to understand why they do so. We have already made a provisional booking for 2012 and are counting down already!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We love Cornwall, we love Padstow, now we've found our perfect base. We have stayed in a range of accomodation over the past few years, in and around Padstow. Having two young children we have searched for the ideal base, where parents can relax and children can enjoy. The park itself is wonderful, clean, spacious, with fantastic views. The gold class caravan was perfect, well equipped, comfortable, spotless. The location, what can I say, private beach, cliff top walks, ten minute drive to Padstow! Some may miss a club and bar, some may not appreciate the peace and quiet. But if you're looking for a relaxing, beautiful location, to unwind and remember how holidays used to be then book in at Mothers Ivey's Bay, but not too soon, we need to book next years holiday first!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackiebellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Surrey UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

The site is wonderful. Any campsite with a private beach is good, but this one has walking access to 4 beaches, three of which are excellent surfing beaches. We have been to the site for a few years now and have always enjoyed our time there, whatever the weather! I love the site because once you are there, you really do not need to car again if the weather is good and so you can just relax into the holiday. We tend to camp and find the blend of different pitches really good on the site. The balance of mobile homes, caravans and tents is just about right, you rarely have to wait for a shower even in high season and they do the basics very well.
This year was a bit different to others as heavy winds in the area (which were forecast) caused our tent to blow down at 4:30am. We pulled our 4 kids out of the tent and camped initially in the car and then transferred to the shower block early in the morning. We will look back on the time with fond memories as you often do in times of adversity and ask 'why was it this night that our one year old slept through when he kept waking up on the other nights?' The staff were up early that morning and found us in the shower block. They took us straight to safety in one of the mobile homes, made my wife and the kids a cup of tea, and then found us a lovely mobile home to spend our last night in. The staff then took our tent down for us, finished packing the trailer and then moved all our stuff to this top notch mobile home so that we could enjoy the rest of our holiday and dry our things out.
Mother Ivey's Bay has always been a special place for us, but now it has an extra special personal touch. They couldn't have done more to help us in our time of need, and even gave us a 'Mother Ivey's Bay' teddy bear because it was our little girl's sixth birthday. We have called her 'Gail' for obvious reasons! Thank you Mother Ivey's bay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Overall this site is in a fantastic location and the private beach is wonderful and the major selling point. We have a touring caravan, and had no problems pitching. Our corner of the site was extremely sociable (so much so that we made some friends in neighbouring pitches who we are staying in contact with). It was full of young families, and our kids had no shortage of similarly aged small children to play with. The kids made excellent use of the well equipped playpark. Breakfasts involved a stroll down to the shop for croissants and bread fresh from Chough bakery in Padstow (lovely!). The beach is simply beautiful with golden sand and great surf, and very clean.

The only significant drawback was the site was very overcrowded. They opened up the 'Meadows' field and washing facilities were inadequate due to the large numbers of people on the site. Queues for the gents and washing up area were the norm, with occasional blocked toilets. The showers also got rather dirty purely due to the high throughput of campers using them. Most people remained fairly cheerful however as this site seems to attract a very friendly group of campers on the whole. There are various signs around the washing facilities about life bans and immediate eviction of campers breaking rules (eg Chinese lanterns a complete no-no following an accident involving a tent with one unexpectedly landing).

Overall a nice week, and I gather they are rebuilding the toilet / shower facilities so we hope things will improve. The staff were helpful and responded quickly to complaints about toilets. We would go back again (if only because the convenience of a fantastic beach and North Cornwall coastline is a real draw).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoentgenBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have been visiting Mother Iveys bay for the last ten years and have loved the private beach and quiet nature of the park.The site is lovely and the views are fantastic. The owners of the site shop are friendly and its well priced too. Unfortunately this year things have changed and it seams that every other caravan has at least one dog or more vising.In some cases these are permanent residents who show little consideration for the noise pollution their dogs create. We were next to caravan 409 and the occupants left their dogs unattended most evenings as they went to socialize in the caravan opposite leaving us to enjoy the chorus of their two dogs every time a child or another dog went past. At no time did i hear the owners telling their dogs off. When you pay over £1,100 a week for a caravan you would expect a more relaxing environment and not to find piles of dog poo in front of the gate that leads to the beach.
The beds in the caravans have very thin mattresses and inevitably we would wake up with aching backs or shoulders,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCL2020, Owner at Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear 'JD'

Thank you for your helpful feedback and I am very sorry to read about the nuisance you experienced during your holiday caused by noisy dogs left unattended in a neighbouring hire caravan. We could so easily have solved this problem for you if it had been reported to reception at the time and even at this late stage I will drop the customer at 409 a line to help ensure it does not happen again. Two areas of our hire fleet are designated ‘dog-free’ to cater for those customers who prefer to avoid the possibility of dogs in neighbouring caravans, but unfortunately you chose to holiday in a different area of the hire fleet which welcomes dogs. You also mention a problem with dog mess and please be assured that anyone failing to clear up after their dog is not welcome at Mother Ivey’s.

Thank you also for your feedback on the mattresses which I will pass on to my housekeeping team. We carry plenty of spare equipment for the hire fleet, including replacement mattresses, so it is a shame that you did not report your problem to us at the time, as we are sure we could have found you an alternative mattress that would have been more suited to your personal needs.

Finally, we are very grateful for your loyal custom over so many years and we wish you all the best, wherever you choose to holiday in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had our first but not our last stay in our own caravan, great value, lovely spot,great beach, friendly staff, quiet at night, lovely Coastal walks.
we looked next door at the other site, don't stay there unless you are a chav!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodys67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
1.0 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
3.5 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
4.5 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.2 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
3.0 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park

Property: Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park
Address: St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8SL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Hotel Class:4 star — Mother Ivey's Bay Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mother Ivey`s Bay Holiday Park Hotel St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing