We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bay Retreat Villas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bay Retreat Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Retreat Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bay Retreat Villas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading some of the reviews about this accomdation we were somewhat hesitant to book a break away at these villas which happened to be over the New Year period. When we arrived we were presently surpised how clean and spacious the villa was. We have two youngish children in which the extra space was an added bonus and felt like being home from home. We booked our break away with Hoeseasons in which we had an excellent price over New Year. The kitchen is fully equipped and felt that there was a high standard of cleanliness throughout this property. The linen and towels were of excellent quality and would recommend this villa to anyone. The Villas overlook a mobile home park but we found that the properties adjacent to these villas were well looked after and didn't effect our outlook. The on site shop was good, there is also a bar serving food which we didn't try so unable to comment on that.
Padstow is an excellent location with gorgeous sandy beaches and bays. You are spolit for choice. You also must sample Rick Stein's fish and chips and there are many lovely eating places in Padstow itself! You can also take a small ferry over from Padstow over to Rock as there are miles of sandy beaches and also its worth having lunch at the Blue Tomatoe in Rock great food.
On the whole a brilliant break in which we are planing on returning to Bay Retreat Villas for our summer holiday. I hope other families find this review useful as I felt it was important to write something in view of some of the other comments as we couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joemar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    60
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
75
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We recently stayed here during December and our concern was that it might be cold. In spite of very poor weather, our fears were unfounded and in fact we ended up opening windows to cool down. We found that the villa was very well equipped and nicely furnished in a minimalist style. We would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Visitor73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Very clean modern accomodation, providing a great base thats within easy reach of other places of interest. We paid £289 for 5 days stay here through KGB, it is not a big holiday park, although it does have an entertainment facilitiy i.e a bar, I wouldnt recommend you rely this especially if you have a young family, they would probably get bored. The surrounding homes look like private bungalows more then a mobile home site. Padstow is a lovely town and is a must visit there is a Tesco not far from there too for groceries, although the store on site is ok for bits and is competitive with prices. There are plenty of places to visit in lovely Cornwall, the villa provides lots of leaflets and brochures on attractions etc. I would return at the same price I paid and recommend staying here if you can get it cheap enough, a self catering holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Like a previous reviewer I too booked a villa through the kgb deal and think that the stated reduction in value is slightly dubious. Nonetheless, the £289 paid was good value for the accommodation on offer - the villa was clean, comfortable and had all of the necessary features for a self-catering break. The site itself isn't the most picturesque and could do with a bit of a spruce up, but given that we spent most of our time out and about that didn't bother us. The location is slightly outside the village of St Merryn and you would struggle without a vehicle, but with a vehicle lots of places worth visiting are within a reasonable distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacake2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked our stay in Bay View Villas, St Merryn, Cornwall, through Secret Escapes. Everything was well handled and, as promised, the Villa was excellent value for money being well located for ease of travel all over Cornwall, coastal walks and beaches.
We found the Villa extremely well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!! I took my partner away for a special occasion and was mortified to find this place! These 'villas' look nothing like they do on the website! they were obviously taken when new and the place has run down significantly since. The villa is on a holiday home park slap in the middle of all the pre-fab bungalows and they are the view out of your window literally 30ft away from you, for privacy you will need to close all the blinds. The villa we were given was not clean and looked as if it had suffered long term neglect, that is without the dog hair on the floor and the pubic hair in the bed!! after lengthy discussions with the management who offered to clean it again even though this would have been insufficient as it was long term dirt that they obvioulsy didnt think was unacceptable. These 'villas' are grubby and in the middle of a nasty little holiday park and on all these issues me andd my partner refused to stay and instead stayed in Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant for £20 per night less than what I paid for this place! The manager refused point blank any type of refund and I am currently in the process of trying to reclaim it all. Padstow is a fantastic place and there are so many better options for less money than this. Please save yourself the upset and stay elsewhere!! Unable to upload pictures for some reason!! sorry!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acgriffiths, General Manager at Bay Retreat Villas, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback.

We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the standard of accommodation afforded by the Bay Retreat villa's.

The apartments are cleaned prior to client’s arrival and are maintained to a high standard commensurate with their 4 star grading by Visit Britain. However we offered to re-clean and we can assure you that our on-site staff would have arranged for a thorough inspection and further cleaning to take place at a time convenient to you (immediately or whilst you were out for the day?).

We can honestly say that we receive many outstanding reviews for the Bay Retreat villa's and the cleanliness and helpful staff who live on-site are highly praised.

The apartments are open all year round and therefore some wear-and-tear will inevitably occur but we can assure you that the furniture, furnishings and equipment are maintained to the necessary standard for 4 star accommodation. Of course, if any particular item needs replacing between the routine checks then this will be actioned as soon as we become aware, or when the matter is brought to our attention.

We are confident that the contemporary villa's and their position on the St Merryn Holiday Park are accurately described and we can only apologise therefore if you found cause for complaint on this occasion. We are disappointed that you decided to leave immediately despite us offering you alternatives.

Despite your dissatisfaction with the Bay Retreat villa's on this occasion, we hope that you enjoyed your stay in Cornwall overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just had 5 nights here on a KGB deal. It cost £289 but the KGB website which I booked this from said it was worth over £600. The welcome pack also had a price a lot loser than KGB had advertised it as. I am going to look into that.
Strangely enough for some reason I did not look on trump adviser about this place, don't ask me why as I usually do when booking anywhere. Two days before we went I looked on trip adviser to see comments saying not very nice comments. I hate caravan sites or any kind of holiday sites therefore I did not look forward to it at all. Fortunately it was not like that and was really nice.
There are lots of bungalows where people permanently lived and at the end of the road a caravan site. But it was really quiet. We never heard a sound especially at night except for the rain! There is a small supermarket called Londis next to which is a pub and a fish and chip shop. There is a big field as a dog exercise area with a dog bin. We stayed in one of their 'villas'. There are 28 in a circle with each having a car parking area and at the rear a small decking area which table and four chairs and a small patch of grass. No bbq's are allowed. No smoking inside villas but with French doors into garden this isn't a problem.

Would I stay here again? Yes for the right price but not for the prices they advertise. Although saying that there was only the two of us. But the property was for 4 adults and one child so you would get a better deal if there are that many in the party.
There was two large bedrooms, bathroom, downstairs toilet. The bathroom and toilet were really clean and beautifully tiled. Towels so lovely and actually dried you. Bedding lively although idid find bed a bit hard. Complimentary tea, coffee,milk and sugar along with some dishwasher tablets and two tea towels and washing up liquid were left for you which was great. The oven is electric which was fine but the hob was also electric which I hated. Fortunately my husband worked it out so he cooked -:))))).

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 5 but should imagine they are all more or less the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ben&Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
1.9 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
4.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Mawgan Porth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#7 of 12 in St Merryn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Retreat Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Retreat Villas

Property: Bay Retreat Villas
Address: St. Merryn Holiday Village, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Retreat Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bay Retreat Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Retreat Villas Hotel St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing