We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good”
Review of Bay Retreat Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Retreat Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have just returned from a five day stay at Bay Retreat. The apartment was clean, spacious and well located for exploring Cornwall and specifically Padstow.

My only disappointments and recommendations for improving the offering would be to lessen the amount of sourcing done from a certain Swedish furniture store, which does not stand up well to the high traffic volumes a rental needs to, and also to install wifi. In 2012 I was astonished that there wasn't even a paid for option and given the extremely poor mobile signal In this location meant all of my friends and I had no Internet access for the duration of our stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
Thank SDA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here as part of a deal including a meal at Beaucliffes restaurant. The villas are set on a holiday village with some permanent mobile homes. Despite some of the disparaging reviews, the mobile homes that we saw were smart, clean and in no way scruffy - quite the contrary. The villas are spacious, very clean and extremely well appointed. Our stay was very peaceful, and the villas are in a great location for exploring N Cornwall, only a few miles to Padstow, and within easy driving distance of Boscastle, Port Isaac and Tintagel. The nearest beach, Constantine Bay is beautiful. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tapgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We have just spent a week at Bay Retreat and the villas themselves are beautiful, very large, spacious, modern and clean with all amenities - washing machine/dryer, dishwasher, large screen TV downstairs and TV in bedroom, back garden with decking and patio furniture, loads of fresh flyffy towels, comfy bed and everything you could need in the kitchen. There are 28 villas set in 4 terraces forming a little square and it is very nice and pleasant.

HOWEVER the St Merryn Holiday Park on which they villas are situated is not so nice. My initial thought was "run down council estate" and my husband said "gyppo park". It is very rough and basic and really not a nice place at all. It was not clear where the Reception is for the Villas - it is in fact the Sales Office near the Londis - but read your paperwork (I hadnt!!) and you are given a PIN code with which to open a safe located in the centre of the square, near the bins, where you will find the keys.

Plus point - there is a large, new, clean Londis on site which has a free cashpoint machine and a nice restaurant, The Glasshouse, which is very family friendly and reasonably priced. There is also a chippy/pizzeria on site as well which was also good.

Location is great - 10 mins from Padstow which is BEAUTIFUL (use the park and ride, only £4 for the car and the buses are free). Beaches to visit, locally we loved Harlyn Bay and Trevone Bay, further afield Polzeath is great and Port Isaac (where they film Doc Martin) is lovely.

SO overall we have had a great holiday and cannot fault the villas or the cleaning staff who are delightful. Just be wary, the holiday park has seen better days and does not warrant venturing intp!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Bay Retreat. The accommodation was very clean and well equipped, nice clean towels and some dishwasher tablets provided. Unfortunately it was located in a not so nice holiday village which was clearly occupied by permanent residents. We were woken up by quad bikes being driven around in the middle of the night and a dog barking all night from the neighbouring pre-fab housing estate. If we had paid the full price for this 4 night break I would of been disappointed as we felt it didn't warrant the price due to the poor location. The beds were very uncomfortable and were again of a cheap quality - if you are going to charge top-rate prices then you need to make sure you have a comfortable mattress at the very least! We enjoyed our 4 night break but would not return again due to the above points.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roser69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

A great property in a great location. Very comfortable with all amenities provided. We started by having our shopping delivered by Sainsburys who deliver to the site, well worth while doing as not having to worry about supermarkets etc., With Fridge, Freezer and plenty of storage in the Villa it was not a problem to store the weeks worth of food!
Anything that you do forget there is a shop on the site as well as a pub and apparently a Fish and Chip Shop that was opening soon.
The beds where very comfortable and all towels provided were more than sufficient.
We also took our dog who enjoyed the villa and the enclosed garden was great.
Just a small recommendation as somebody else had mentioned could do with some cushions on the settee however not too much of a problem really.
A great place in a great location (5 minute drive to Padstow), we will definitely be re-visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked this stay through KGB Deals for £169.00 for a three night stay. On arrival it was very unclear where the reception area was for collecting a key, as this development is on a large complex. We ended up phoning the sales office which was closed on site but we managed to get a mobile number from a piece of paper left on the sales office door. We were then told to collect the keys/welcome pack from the bin area out of a safe.

The villa is spacious, light and has everything you would need. The seating area is cosy for four adults. Beds comfy and bathrooms are clean.

The location of the villas are very good. 10mins drive to padstow and about 40mins to st austell.

We were very happy with our stay and for what we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nuttynag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We were here in the middle of March 2012.
Our sat nav sent us up a road/track just before the site so watch out for signs at the entrance to the site and do not go up any unmarked roads.
We had a deal which included tickets to the Eden Project and fine dining; it was excellent value. The accommodation is very good in a modern terrace of two bedroom houses, bedding, furnishings, crockery appliances etc were all satisfactory. Tablets were provided for the dishwasher but no washing up liquid or pan scourer and no salt or pepper.
The Eden Project was very good and one can easily spend a day there. We also spent a day at the Lost Gardens of Heligan which had a really spectacular show of rododendrons and camelias.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Merryn
1.9 mi away
Treglos Hotel
Treglos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Constantine Bay
415 reviews
2.7 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,500 reviews
4.6 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
7.0 mi away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#26 of 37 in Newquay
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#8 of 14 in St Merryn
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Retreat Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Retreat Villas

Address: St. Merryn Holiday Village, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range: $87 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Retreat Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Bay Retreat Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Retreat Villas Hotel St Merryn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing