We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Treat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Merryn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ocean Blue Cornwall
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were let in by wonderful staff and found a beautiful, clean apartment. Our pre ordered shop had even been put away for us and a lovely welcome pack provided. So well equipped and top quality, hotel standard beds linen and towels. Great position and views. This is the way self catering should done!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazzagazebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 120 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

It was our first visit to cornawall but it will not be our last. My family and I stayed at this beautiful place. It has everything you need. It does not matter if the sun is not shining. It is a good location to explore cornwall. The hosts are very helpful and we hope to come back to stay in the same place.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clemence_df
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at Ocean Blue 3 times and each time we've had a different apartment depending on how many of us have gone or what's been available to us. Every time, the service and quality of the place never lets us down. The images on their website really don't do the accommodation justice.
We took my parents there for their 50th anniversary last month and stayed in the Daymar which literally made my Mum cry because it was so beautiful and the quality took her breath away. Ocean Blue had left an amazing hamper and a dozen red roses including wine, milk and butter in the fridge.
And we have just returned from staying in the Bedruthan cottage (perfect for 4 adults and 2 children) for my birthday and as well as the complimentary hamper and flowers there was a birthday cake and card waiting for us. How many places do that for you?
Don't be afraid to ask Ocean Blue for any advice or help as they bend over backwards for you, even replying to an email from me late one evening and supplying extra equipment needed for our friends baby. A stair gate would have been useful in the cottage as there are steep stairs but my fault for not asking as I'm sure they would have supplied it given half the chance.
The complex is so well situated being 10 mins drive from Padstow and 20 mins drive from Newquay and a 2 min drive (easily walking distance) from Trevose golf club which is right behind the complex. It's also only a short distance to Port Isaac (where they film Doc Martin) and Rock (amazing sand dunes and beach), highly recommend the Rock Inn or No 1 Rock Road bar and grill for a meal or drink whilst in Rock. (www.waterfrontpolzeath.co.uk)
There is no mobile phone reception in the bay but they supply free wireless connection which is excellent and if you have imessaging on your phone, you can still send text messages. But saying that you only have to walk up the road a bit and you will get phone reception anyway.
We will deffinitely be going again next year (you get 10% discount on repeat visits).
Amazing sea views, no road noise and a quality hamper on arrival. You wouldn't get these things at a quality matched hotel for the price we paid at Ocean Blue.

The only thing we miss is being able to take our dog because there are some amazing dog walks including the beautiful beach on your doorstep. Maybe they would consider making one of the apartments dog friendly?? We'd be the first ones there : )

Remember this is a self catering establishment so don't forget to take little extras that might help you like kitchen towel, extra toilet paper (they supply one in each bathroom), extra dishwasher tablets (they supply one), salt and pepper and clingfilm/sandwich bags. Just things we found useful and you'll have at home which will save you buying when you get there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arriving late in the evening, we were delighted to be welcomed by a chilled bottle of wine, bread, milk and other local delights. Being our second visit, we knew what to expect, but the location was even more special than we remembered. It always feels like we've been away for more than a week, total relaxation, with all the little extras that make life so much easier and duvets so snuggly, our daughter has requested one for home. Somewhere you want everyone to visit, but then again, want to keep a secret!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newbury01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Cannot fault the standard of accommodation on offer at Ocean Blue. From the booking process , to the welcome, to the location, it really is right up there right at the top as the very best place we have stayed as a Family.

Sebastian and Dani were very helpful and friendly, the Doyden was just the right size with all the Mod cons and comforts required. The location was excellent and the views stunning from the front of the complex. We are already looking at February!, 5 Stars, well earnt!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madgreek18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Second year in these lovely apartments - who said accommodation in Cornwall had to be damp, dingy and twee ? Ocean Blue apartments are really home from home with the most stunning location. Looking forward to next year already !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walthurstbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our 4th stay at Ocean Blue and it was as wonderful as always. Sebastian was there to welcome us and show us around and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely welcome basket left for us and we pre-ordered a cream tea for our arrival. It is so lovely to wake up to the wonderful view and be able to walk out on to the cliff top or down on to the beach. We had a couple of clear sky nights and sitting on the terrace looking up at all the starts was amazing, something you are never able to see when you live in a town. Well worth paying extra to have an apartment with a sea view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiggybdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St Merryn hotels
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
Atlantic Bays Holiday Park
#8 of 14 in St Merryn
155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bay Retreat Villas
Bay Retreat Villas
#5 of 14 in St Merryn
178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Waves Rooms
Waves Rooms
#2 of 2 in St Merryn
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 14 in St Merryn
171 reviews
1.1 mi away
St Merryn Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Carnevas Holiday Park
Carnevas Holiday Park
#4 of 14 in St Merryn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Blue Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Blue Cornwall

Address: Treyarnon Bay, St Merryn, Padstow PL28 8JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Padstow > St Merryn
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in St Merryn
Price Range: $73 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Blue is Cornwall's new premier destination - a cluster of exclusive, luxury, self-catering holiday apartments and cottages in an unrivaled position only 50 metres from the waters' edge overlooking Treyarnon Bay, Padstow - an 'Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty' - and one of the most beautiful spots in Cornwall. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing