We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quinta dos Tres Rios
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay with Hugh and Jane in November and they really made us feel welcome from start to finish. The property itself has a beautiful setting amidst its own vines, fruit and olive trees. Our room the vineyard suite was very spacious and well appointed and we found a complimentary bottle of wine and port awaiting us. We had two lovely dinners while there both complimented by our hosts own equally good wine and Hugh and Jane made us feel more like friends of the family than guests.
Breakfast had a good selection including home produce such as eggs from the resident hens and beautiful fresh figs and we certainly started the day on a full stomach. During our time there we visited Viseu, Vouzela and Caramulo which are all a short drive away while Coimbra and the Douro port country would make easy day trips. I would certainly recommend Quinta dos Tres Rios to anyone looking to stay in the area and hopefully we will be back ourselves in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinosaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
50
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hugh and Jane were such gracious hosts, as were their helpers. We stayed for three nights. We enjoyed the food, the wine and the conversation. They are definitely off the beaten track; however, we would highly recommend making the effort. Hope to see them again in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great food, great wine (2006 Quinta dos Três Rios) and great company. We had a most enjoyable dinner with hosts and other guests. Sharing memories and experiences. Caroline, your are a great chef, and to find that in the middle of nowhere...how amazing isn't that?
Thank you all - we will for sure come back...soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had such an amazing time at Quinta Dos Tres Rios. Hugh and Jane were simply wonderful hosts and we would jump at the chance to visit again. The beautiful views of the mountains, vineyards and river complemented the amazing food and wine (grown right their on their property) perfectly. The rooms were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed socialising with Hugh, Jane and other guests over a delicious dinner. If you are travelling anywhere near Parada De Gonta you simply must stay with Hugh and Jane at Quinta Dos Tres Rios! Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KierenandJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed with Hugh and Jane for three night in the Vineyard Room, and enjoyed every moment. We found are hosts to be most helpful and charming, and the accommodation and food to be first class in every way, would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertandJuliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stayed in the oak room(s) that is/are just perfect for a family. The house has an excellent location, so it is very calm, beds are superb and so are the owners. We very much enjoyed having dinner with them. Breakfast was great, sorry we finished all the fresh raspberries, yummie!!! 100% recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithcuriosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have visited Hugh and Jane here many times but somehow I always forget how beautiful and quiet it is. Perfect place to relax and unwind surrounded by beautiful views of the vineyard and mountains with sounds of the river in the background. Lovely rooms, great company and local food and wine - what else could one ask for?
Sauy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sau-Wan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Parada de Gonta
6.8 mi away
Pousada de Viseu Charming Spa
6.6 mi away
Hotel Severino Jose
Hotel Severino Jose
#1 of 1 in Tondela
64 reviews
6.4 mi away
Montebelo Viseu Congress Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira
Pousada de Vila Pouca da Beira
#1 of 1 in Vila Pouca da Beira
166 reviews
9.6 mi away
Caramulo Congress Hotel & SPA
5.4 mi away
Casa da Estacao
Casa da Estacao
#1 of 2 in Tondela
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta dos Tres Rios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta dos Tres Rios

Property: Quinta dos Tres Rios
Address: Avenida Padre Francisco de Oliveira 239, Parada de Gonta, Tondela 3460-422, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Tondela > Parada de Gonta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Parada de Gonta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Quinta (farmhouse) was built by an Englishman in the late 1800s. The house is built of fine granite, partly into a terrace. The high ceilings on the ground floor at over 4 meters keep the house cool even on the hottest of days. The original features have been retained in a beautifully authentic restoration. The 3 suites located in the top of the house incorporate the original pine beams, giving a true "wow" factor. We have our own working winery and take wine tours to the Dao and Douro wine regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Quinta dos Tres Rios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Dos Tres Rios Portugal/Parada De Gonta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing