We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Wonderful stay in July. Hotel is like a stately home, everything was very, very good.
You will not be disappointed.
Beamish open air museum was fantastic

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ForzaRobur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    334
    136
    66
    36
See reviews for
251
662
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed overnight to visit Beamish open Air Museum. Brilliant location, just a mile away from Museum. Bought tickets through them for museum too. Ate at The Stables, at the hotel. Food and service spot on and reasonably priced. There is also a bird of prey centre on site plus an adventure playground for the children and a cafe. Staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast lovely and in great surroundings. Room very clean with everything you would expect from a hotel as impressive as this one. From check in to check out everything ran smoothly. Only slight problem could be room not available till 3pm, but didn't bother us as we went straight to the museum and it was gone three when we got back.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tess&pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

Me and my mum went on a break here for a couple of nights last week. We paid what I felt was a reasonable price for such a lovely hotel. Stayed in a twin room, it was tight, I'll grant you, but suitable for our purposes. It was easy to book, and easy to find. Great location for Beamish Museum. Lovely building and grounds. Very professional and welcoming staff yet they still managed not to be snooty, and they always had time for us. Did the ropes course at Beamish Wild which is just behind hotel... I'll probably do a separate review but it was hard and I can't give enough praise to the gorgeous guy that ensured I got around the course. Stables bar/restaurant/mini brewery are also just around the back, and we went there both nights, the menu has plenty of choice and everything was of a high standard and good sized portions. The only let down for us was that on arrival we discovered that had we not pre-booked Beamish Wild we could have got it for half price as hotel residents, and people doing the ropes course could go round the Bird of Prey centre for free, which had we known, we would have left more time for. When we paid for our meal, the receipt had a voucher on it too so overall, we felt, if they are going to offer discounts for hotel residents etc then they should be shouting it loud and proud but otherwise, great great hotel, I'm really glad I found it and will be going again next time I need a lovely relaxing break. Oh and breakfast... top notch.

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank Bradfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

Stayed just the one night en route back south. I booked a de luxe room for £95 and it was just perfect; beautiful decor, comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. The hotel oozes elegance and comfort. The Stables restaurant was a revelation; obviously popular with locals and buzing with atmosphere. The serving staff and the food were excellent.
I could not praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed at Beamish Hall for one night and throughly enjoyed the experience.

We went for just the 'classic' room which was quite small but the furnishings were lovely, the bed very comfy and it was very clean. The bathroom also was very clean and luxurious. I had read on here that some people had complaints about the size of the bed but it was perfectly fine and we are not exactly small. The room came equipped with Duck Island bathroom products which was very nice and the tea and coffee making facilities were Ringtons.

The hotel itself was very grand and well kept. We stayed on a Sunday and there was a Wedding party. Despite this it was very quiet and well organised.

The breakfast was super (although i didn't enjoy the sausages). The stables resaurant was also very nice and my other half loved the real ale they had to offer. My only criticism would be that the evening meal was overpriced for what it was. I had King Prawns for my starter which was supposed to come with a chilli dip but instead it came with some sort of redcurrent one. The food however was very nice, but not worth the price paid for it.

We paid £80 for one nights stay including breakfast and it was well worth the price. Very nice hotel and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silly_Sausage01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Went for a small hotel organised music festival. excellent! Hotel at £165.00 including Breakfast a little too expensive. Really good service, food and the Stables Bar & Restaurant (which was not over the top in value). Room was small with only standard double bed, yet was, apparently,deluxe room, very clean, tea & coffee & complimentary water. Would recommend staying here but look out for deals, as we got on previous stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hill7690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
195 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Small country house hotel gives very good value in a luxury setting. Enjoy being lord of the manor with period furnishings in each room. Hotel gradually being upgraded and while standards of cleanliness are beyond reproach, some of the rooms are needing, and gradually receiving, a minor refresh to boost credentials. Hotel has a good country setting with lovely grounds and just a stone's throw from the Beamish Museum and Park. Best value for rates was through hotels.com

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsguy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
12.6 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing