We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Beamish
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,693)
Filter reviews
1,693 results
Traveler rating
905
446
197
93
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
905
446
197
93
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews micro brewery stables bar afternoon tea eden room cakes old building deluxe room antique furniture beautiful grounds breakfast room evening meal brewery tour country house double jacuzzi bath walk in shower lovely room on the small side
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,693 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Second visit to Beamish Hall as so impressed the first time round with the level of service, quality and attentiveness that simply had to return. Was not disappointed second time round as the teamwork among the staff was simply the best encountered in a long while and this formulan is what makes the hotel work so well to the customers complete satisfaction. Bit tired in places in the bathroom but its an old historic building and was spotlessly clean, well stocked daily by the housekeeper and extremely comfortable.Having been a chef for several years foodwise makes me perhaps super critical but was so surprised and impressed by the Stables chefs version of the humble cottage pie. That person knew their flavours and seasonings and had the rare ability to cook simple ingredients with passion and flair. Equally the lone breakfast chef even with sudden influx and demand due to a conference taking place on one morning of our stay held it together (as did the wonderful waiting staff albiet with red faces from the sudden rush) and still produced the perfectly cooked eggs and breakfasts superbly presented - well done! We will be returning for that spoilt, pampered and totally relaxing stay in superb surroundings. What an absolute gem of a hotel made successful by its utterly amazing staff and fantastic teamwork.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank dcharlton529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DahlbergM, General Manager at Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear DCharlton,

Thank you for the outstanding review and for it construction. It pleases me immensely when our guests notice the extra mile that our superb staff go to ensure that that their stay is the best they can make it. Obviously the chef in the Stables restaurant will be proud to know that a "fellow" chef was impressed with his food. I admit that there are still areas of the hotel that need work carrying out on them, we are working tirelessly to get this finished, one of the downsides of working in a large country house which has a mind and spirit of her own!. On the flip side, its really great to see how much the maintenance team and the owner are completing and our guests are commenting on. You mention the staff on several occasions and I couldn't agree more, they do us proud and it makes Beamish Hall a lovely place to work. Once again, thank you for the brilliant review, I do hope that we see you again the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct with any reservation requirements.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disappointingly shabby room given how lovely the building is. One receptionist was lovely, but another was quite surly and not engaging. Room was reasonably priced but decidedly shabby with peeling paint, damp patch, and bathroom sink cracked. Kettle had to be plugged in on the floor as lead wasn't long enough to reach plug socket otherwise.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lucyflourish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DahlbergM, General Manager at Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lucyflourish,

Thank you for the feedback. You may have noticed from an earlier review that we are working tirelessly to maintain and enhance the site, many of our guests are noticing the vast improvements thus far. I acknowledge that there is still work to do, those areas that need attention have been audited and are on our improvements plan. I do sincerely apologise for any inconvenience caused and for not meeting your expectation on this occasion.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel lovely clean spotless Everyone helpful Just the quality of the food let it down.Noticed a lot of food from the Stables restaurand sent back and we had an issue with breakfast and evening meal.Still a lovely place to visit

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank lindala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DahlbergM, General Manager at Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lindala,

Thank you for the review and your kind comments about the cleanliness of the hotel and of course our super staff. I sincerely apologise that the restaurant and breakfast took the shine off your stay. I will certainly pass on these comments to the restaurant manager and the executive chef. I do hope that you will consider staying with us in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us direct with any reservation requirements.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent, highly recommend this hotel, staff and food. There was a problem with our first room which was changed without any hesitation 2nd room perfect. Breakfast was cooked to order and served at the table, eggs benedictine delicious.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank citybreaks2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DahlbergM, General Manager at Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Citybreaks2017,

Thank you for the excellent review, I am very pleased that we were able to deal with the room issue straight away and to your total satisfaction. I will pass on your kind comments to the chef and the reservations team, I do hope that we will see you again in the very near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct with any reservation requirements.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great afternoon, very good service, lovely friendly staff. I would suggest more savoury items it was all very sweet, maybe offer a gentlemans afternoon tea as an option. With the room being so big, maybe a bigger screen could be considered. Having said that we had a really lovely afternoon.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DahlbergM, General Manager at Beamish Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lesley,

Thank you for the lovely review and your kind comments regarding our marvellous staff. I have noted your points about the screen size and the gentleman's afternoon tea offering, the later we can certainly offer at the booking stage. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the event and I hope that we will see you again soon at a future show.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews