We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a relaxing and restful stay in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a relaxing and restful stay in the country”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

This was our stopover in Durham, chosen because it is close to Beamish Museum, which itself is a definite must if in the area.

Hotel itself is quite an imposing old building, set in own grounds, well worth exploring if only to work off the lovely breakfast. Our bedroom was large, with nice ensuite.

No leisure facilities but we were too tired anyway, staff were very friendly and attentive, you find that around here a lot. Would go back but not sure when.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twoscompany55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    334
    136
    66
    36
See reviews for
251
662
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Paid £70 stayed here for one night in a room for two people, room was really nice, extremely clean. Dined at the Stables restaurant, food was a little strange - 2 soups in one cauliflower cheese and carrot and coriander which sounded nice but tasted off. staff were ok not the best. The people in the room next door we could hear all night through the walls, could even tell what they were watching on their T.V. also their music sounded at 5am and clattering and banging throughout the night! English Breakfast was ok but not worth £12.50 pp I would recommend the Continental as they had a nice selection of pastries, juices and cereal. Peaceful surroundings far from peaceful inside!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of england
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Receptionist was friendly.Room was quite small but adequate and clean.The bed, supposedly a double was disappointing and not comfortable.The food in the Stables restaurant was good although the veg was underdone.We were waited on by several different staff members who obviously didn't know where they were up to and kept asking us the same thing.Not an unpleasant evening though. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice in a beautiful room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellothereitsmehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

A one night stay with my wife whilst we visited Beamish Museum, about a mile up the road.
Pre arrival enquiries and booking dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner, as was check in and check out. Room clean and well stocked with “hospitality tray” and toiletries.
On site microbrewery supplies the Stables Bar with a great selection of superb ales, which were used to wash down the equally superb food served up by the friendly and efficient staff in the Stables Restaurant and/or Courtyard. Beer and food are reasonably priced – a lesson a lot of other establishments could do to learn. Breakfast in the Eden Room was excellent, well-cooked, good selection, good quantity and friendly helpful staff.
We had a Premier Room that, whilst clean and spacious, was a little over hyped in the advertising blurb found on the web site “expect the ultimate in style and splendour by enjoying an evening or two in one of these delightful individually designed bedrooms”!! The refurbished en-suite bathroom with double Jacuzzi and good-sized shower cubicle certainly did have “style and splendour” but the old CRT television with a cheap freeview box sat on the top of it did not. The view from the room was excellent.
The only other small area of disappointment was the entrance to the hotel which was suffering a bit from heavy footfall - a bit more attention to keeping this door area clean and welcoming by ensuring the mat was changed or at least well brushed a few times a day would have made a big difference to our initial impression and would have been more in line with our overall impression of the hotel.
Should we need accommodation in the area again we would definitely be happy to return to Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landcruiserBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed at this hotel 23 June 2010, excellent location if visiting Beamish museum. We had a problem with our mattress in our room, reported the problem to reception, this issue was resolved quickly and efficeintly. For all you people who winge about problems when you get home on trip adviser you should always give the management chance to resolve your problems before giving a bad review. The Stables bar and Resturant was good value for money the staff friendly and helpful, breakfast in hotel excellent. We would definatley stay in this hotel again and have recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira34WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Just spent a night at this hotel for a trip to Beamish museum which is on the doorstep.
Right , to start with , lovely hotel on the outside and did not disappoint when entering .
check in efficient and very friendly and our room ,although small ,very nice ,clean and comfortable.
NOW FOR THE BEST BIT on sight is a pub /restaurant called the Stables. On entering you are met with the sight of eight hand pulled beers all made on the premises and are served by some of the friendliest staff i have ever come across you are made to feel very welcome here. The food in the restaurant is beautiful and well presented and above all very reasonably priced .
All in all a great place to stay and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hutchoWorksopUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We wanted to visit Beamish Open Air Museum (Discounted tickets from hotel at £14 each)and Hadrian's Wall, and couldn't have chosen a better hotel,which actually felt more like we were guests at a country home. On arrival , afternoon tea was being served upstairs in the Eden Lounge, and I immediately regretted stopping for lunch on our way , Went round to the Stables bar which has such a lovely courtyard and were able to try the Micro Brewery Ales which Beamish Hall make on site, excellent ! and at only about £2,.20 a pint. The evening meal was served in the Stables Bar and Restaurant. I had the steak , he had fish and chips ..both excellent...served by wonderful staff.
As we only stayed two nights we didn't find time to try the Birds of Prey or the Adventure Ropes ... but they did look interesting. Breakfast was served on the second floor in the beautiful Eden Room, and could not have been better, fabulous choice of fresh fruits e.g. strawberries,blackberries,melon etc.Northumbrian full breakfast , and all served with such cheerfulness to set you up for the day.Our host was Tony, and he was an absolute treasure , like he said " I come up that drive in the morning to work and think " I've arrived ! " Hope you get that feeling too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patty444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
12.6 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing