We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Beamish Museum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Faultless overnight experience in a clean, serviceable well run way; it manages to put a balance the corporate aspect alongside a family atmosphere the staff are always available and helpful. I also found that the experience of eating and drinking in the Stable Bar was just as we had hoped for. It was relaxing and laid back, we were served by excellent young bar staff and the range of beers from their micro brewery were superb ... we only had a bar meal of Fish & Chips but they were just wonderful. Our classic room 114 was a little on the dark side and on a personal front a little too warm - solved by leaving the window ajar - but everything else was as hoped for and to be fair, a last minute booking at the price we paid ... well it was far better than anticipated. Good stuff

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thellusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,391 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

I organised a surprise afternoon tea party for my mothers 60 th birthday. With the help of Tony the tea room manager, we decorated the table with balloons, confetti and a birthday cake for 12 friends and family.
Nothing was too much trouble for him before and during the visit.
The afternoon tea was fab - plenty of choice and very reasonable. Everyone was very impressed with the afternoon. Tony is a credit to the business!

Stayed: December 2012
Thank SMS_13_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights on 14th and 15th October. We chose this hotel for it's close proximity to Beamish Hall, which is just a few minutes drive or even walk away.
We asked for an upgrade and we were offered a twin very large room with a bath. The mattress's were to our liking and the sound proofing good, we slept very well.
Breakfast was outstanding, everything was cooked fresh to order and was delicious. There was also an excellent choice of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, etc.
There was a large car park, which felt secure.
The staff were pleasant, especially in morning at breakfast, they were mostly mature ladies who were very organised and professional.
We did eat in The Stables Restaurant and found the food and the service to be very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfaithlessfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Sunday night and were really looking forward to it. We had been told by a relative that the hotel was 'sophisticated'. We were disappointed when we arrived and to us, it was not.
We stayed in a classic room which was nicely decorated but very small. The bathroom was tiny and cramped with a small shower.
The hotel was full as there was a wedding party there. Our room was above the main entrance so we could hear all the comings & goings through the night. After midnight, a group of people were messing about out side our room door, letting off a fire extinguisher. I think someone from the wedding party was staying in a room close to us. There was a lot of noise till gone 3am.
We went looking for the restaurant and found it in the bar. This is where things became quite disappointing. It is located in the converted stables, hence its name, ‘The Stables Restaurant’. It was more like walking into a pub and ordering a bar meal. The meals are served by the bar staff and their poor attitude was not what we were expecting.
We have to give credit to the chef though, the meal was beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 092711name
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Spent a pleasent afternoon enjoying afternoon tea with very relaxing 60s music in the background. Staff helpful and cheery. choice of cakes and sandwiches very good. Room large and airy we were sat by a window overlooking the garden. Dont have lunch before you go as you get six cream small cream cakes between two, but you can get a doggy bag to take home what you cant manage.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sujo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay for just one night on the way to a family gathering. The room we got was enormous, with a huge jacuzzi bath and a great shower the bathroom. Okay, so the hotel decor wasn't this year's fashion but it was clean and warm and very comfortable. The breakfast included in the room rate was one of the best we've had at a UK hotel. The breakfast staff were just brilliant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mick063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

All aspects of accommodation, food and hospitality was excellent. The furnishings were at a high standard and the management put themselves out to be accommodating. Food was excellent and wide variety. We ate in the restaurant every night.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
441 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,171 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#44 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
278 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range: $79 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing