We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Wonderland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding Wonderland”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

A wedding at Beamish Hall Hotel, England, a weekend of bliss and entertainment. The hotel couldn't do enough for us. A beautiful setting, magnificent atmosphere and excellent service. The hotel services for the wedding couldn't be faulted. highly recomend as a wedding venue and for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    338
    140
    66
    38
See reviews for
255
683
17
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just back from a lovely stay at Beamish Hall. Stayed two nights and then another two nights at a city centre hotel (Jesmond, Newcastle). We liked it so much that we drove back for breakfast even from our other hotel! Loads of character as you might expect. Room was ok, little on the small side. We booked a deluxe room and received room number one! Nicely decorated and furnished although old furniture is sometimes not ideal, i.e. the bed was rather short for me (I'm 6'4") as it was an old-style wood bed with footboard so you couldn't even stretch out. The bathroom was excellent and had a very powerful shower (I can't stand showers that trickle and take ages!). There is so much to do around the property, exploring the buildings and grounds, high-tea in their tea room (looked great, but we didn't get time to try that) and there is even a micro-brewery next door (The Stables) that serves 8 different beers brewed on the premises (tried and tested, and rather special I'd say!) as well as a great menu of traditional british options. I look forward to returning when I'm next in the North East.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I felt compelled to write following the review given my by nephew MJWPARA and also to support the comments given by my husband, Robert W ....We booked the Beamish over one year ago for our daughter Alex's wedding. The service afforded there after has been outstanding. As you can imagine, tensions run high leading up to a wedding and the wedding co-ordinator, Sam dealt with them in her stride, nothing was too much bother. Alex and Chris attended the menu tasting and when they asked to sampled all three meals before making a decision this was met with a smile and duly accommodated. The day before the wedding, Sam again offerred an outstanding service and took delivery of all the wedding favours etc and assured us she would place them in the very precise layout as Alex dictated. The day of the wedding was outstanding and all of the staff worked exceedingly hard to meet the requirements of all the guests including my nephew, who quite frankly is shorter than his uncle who did not appear to have a problem with the length of the bed!! A very heartful thanks to the staff at Beamish who made a very special day all the more special......Karen W

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went to a wedding here a few years ago and the food was fab, i loved it all and was stuffed to the gills lol. Very good quality imo, I wouldnt hesitate at choosing here to eat.Ive never stayed here but it looks fab inside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamHazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Daughter's wedding over the weekend of 4/5 May 2013. Fantastic Hotel and facilities, staff could not have been more friendly and attentive, food great, rooms beautiful (ignore my nephew mjwpara who is a whinger) absolutely stunning location. can not praise this hotel highly enough and would recommend it to everyone interested is staying in the North East or using it as a wedding location. Many thanks to the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the honeymoon suites - the jacuzzi is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beamish Hall definitely has the wow factor. Turning into the driveway from the main road your first view is of the magnificent building and the stunning grounds. The hotel has a quaint entrance and warm & friendly reception staff. Our deluxe room came with fantastic views across the gardens and a jacuzzi bath. The corridors are creaky and the floors uneven but I think this only adds to the charm of the hotel.
We had breakfast included in our room rate and this was well worth it. You have a choice of continental breakfast - toast, pastries, muffins, fruit salad, cereals and yoghurts (£8.50 per person if on room only rate) & then also cooked to order hot breakfast - from boiled eggs with toast to a full Northumbrian breakfast (£12,50 per person if on room only rate). All including juices, water, tea/coffee and the service was prompt and efficient.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_I_wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding this weekend.
Unfortunately paid in full on check-in as requested to do before we saw the room.
It was booked as a double which according to the staff it was. Firstly it featured a 3/4 sized bed, not a double. Then it was an "antique". They were obviously proud of this antique bed, but I really didn't appreciate having to have my head and feet braced against a wooden board as it was so small!
They were very sorry but as they were fully booked we could not change this.
For the money the bed was ridiculous. A real shame as the hotel was fine apart from that. See the room before you pay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjwpara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
394 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#40 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
266 reviews
19.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,137 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing