We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedrooms a let down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding. Hotel is great except for the bedrooms. We upgraded to a deluxe room and although very spacious and furniture was in keeping with the whole Beamish period experience the matress was really quite uncomfortable. Might as well have been on the bed since the 1930s for all the support it gave. Aslo felt it could have been bigger as it was just a standard double.
Breakfast was excellent as were the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgd058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,046 - 1,052 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Came here on recommendation and was not disappointed! Came here with my mother and we had the Tea for Two which was incredible value. Plenty of tea and the cakes were delicious. The staff were very helpful and made the sandwiches how i asked them to. The Eden Suite was beautiful, such lovely surroundings. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to the n e in the Easter holidays stayed at 3 seperate hotels this was the best of our stay we have 4 children so we booked the apartment on the top floor I checked the price out online then rang the hotel they offered me the apartment £50 more than online, I questioned them but they wouldn't offer me the online deal so I booked online.
On arriving its impressive and grand and welcoming staff however they didn't take our luggage or take us to our room apart from that fantastic apartment,eat in stables restaurant nice kids were welcome good atmosphere,breakfast in main hotel comprehensive and good service,took kids to play park which they enjoyed would definitely stay again happy with dinner b&b deal cheers,.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keepdriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I think this is the first hotel we have visited and there are no negatives, all positive. Staff friendly, room was fine and the food excellent. We were there with friends and nothing was too much trouble. Of course the men loved trying all the different beers and when we asked if we could have a tour of the brewery, the answer was just tell us when you are ready!

We have been going away every Easter time for the past 17 years and this was one of the best!

Definetly would return, well done to you all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonVivien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at this hotel provides a "wow factor" which continues in the foyer and public rooms. We were welcomed warmly and all the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant. Our room had a good view over the front lawn and was very clean as was the shower room. The only issue was that the room was very small as was the bed which was not long enough and having a foot board meant I couldn't straighten out. The shower room was also small with a virtually useless wash basin and absolutely no storage space for toiletries ( a particular hate). OK for one night or two but it would be tiresome any longer stay.
Room size was the only negative about this hotel. We had dinner in the Stables Restaurant. The food and service were excellent as were the beers from the attached micro- brewery. Breakfast was taken in the Eden Room which is very imposing, there was a wide choice of both hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TF1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a lovely night in the Beamish Hall hotel. This was just for one night but we loved it. A mini (and it was mini) brewery tour and stables restaurant was perfect, the food was great, hot, good quality and just a bit to much but my wife still managed a sticky toffee desert and I just managed the cheese and biscuits, great friendly staff made it a night out to remember. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billybob321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stay here on business at least twice per month.
This hotel does everything it say it does on the tin.
The rooms are well furnished with all the facilities that you would expect, tea/coffee making with biscuits and bottled water. They are clean with internet access in all rooms.
The restaurant come with its own brewery, there is always at least 6 real ales on tap.
The food is well priced and very good with a nice choice.
I will certainly be staying again in two weeks time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Locust1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
427 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,140 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
19.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,300 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hote...
#46 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range: $107 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing