We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great weekend stay”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband had booked a weekend stay at the Beamish Hall Hotel as a Christmas gift for me to be enjoyed in March. This included two nights B&B with one evening meal to be taken at the Stables restaurant.

Overall we had a lovely, relaxing weekend break. Just what was needed after a long week at work!

It is a stunning hotel from the outside and it is lovely turning up the drive and getting the first glimpse of this impressive looking building. Inside it is decorated in keeping with the period and style of this hotel. I think that in some places it may start to need a bit of attention on the decorative front (some of the passageways and back door to the courtyard area) however on the main it was a lovely hotel.

Our welcome to the hotel by the reception staff was excellent. They were very efficient and helpful and we were checked in very quickly. Any questions throughout our stay were dealt with in the same manner. One apparent issue being when we locked ourselves out of the room!

Our room was comfortable, clean and well presented with good amenities. We had a beautiful wooden bed, wardrobe, dressing table and desk all in keeping with the traditional and period theme of the hotel. Our bathroom was more modern with a bath and very powerful shower. We had room 1 on the ground floor. There are only four bedrooms in this area so we found it to be quiet as there weren't many people passing by, plus we only had one neighbouring bedroom. Additionally, we were close enough to still enjoy the free wifi from reception!

The Stables is a cosy and welcoming bar/restaurant. We enjoyed a few drinks on both afternoons during our stay and had a pleasant evening meal as part of our package. The customer service from all staff in the Stables was excellent. Everyone was happy and willing to help no matter how busy it was. It seemed to have a good flow of customers throughout the day and was busier on an evening with guests and non guests of the hotel. A lovely place to stay and have a relaxing drink/meal.

Breakfast in the Eden room was a pleasant way to start the day. It is a beautiful room with lovely views across the gardens. Again staff customer service was excellent. A special mention to Tony who welcomed us on both mornings and explained how it all worked and where everything was. Breakfast itself is nice but won't blow you away. There is a self serve section for continental style breakfast and you can also order hot breakfast meals including a traditional cooked breakfast.

We had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend couples break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    334
    136
    66
    36
See reviews for
251
662
16
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south shields England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Thoroughly, we enjoyed our short stay at beamish hall the day before Christmas Eve the deluxe room we had was lovely the meal we had in the stables restaurant was excellent the hotel looks grand and also beautiful surroundings. Also on a whole the place was brilliant and we came home feeling very relaxed due to our stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a deluxe room make sure you ask for a room. With a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed overnight on a champagne and dine night which was a part of a retirement present from my ex work colleagues. We were upgraded to a fantastic room with a jacuzzi. We dined in the stable bar and restaurant and the food was first class along with some locally brewed beers. Breakfast was a proper full Northumbria feast! The staff we found very helpful and nothing appeared too much trouble. The room itself was immaculate with views over the front and side of the hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islandlovers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Visited Beamish Hall Hotel for Mother's Day lunch on Sunday, along with my daughter, her boyfriend and his mum. They took us there as a special treat and we were so looking forward to it. The welcome was good, the dining room beautiful and the starters were a delight. However, come the main course and the quality of the food was just simply awful. Overcooked meat, raw vegetables, cold and tasteless and on really cold plates. We really did try to eat it, but after choking on what was described as a roast potato, I gave up. Recovering from thyroid surgery, I wasn't prepared to continue to eat such terrible food and risk further choking hazards. Every one of our plates was returned almost full of food, save for the samples we had tried, and we weren't the only ones sending the plates back or complaining. They did offer us an alternative meat, but as the plates had obviously all been previously plated up and the meat added just before serving, my daughter's boyfriend said that changing the meat was not really going to change the rest of the terrible food on the plates so we all declined. For desert, we thought that that the choices were good and went for our favourites - 2 x Lemon Tart and 2 x Sticky Toffee Pudding. The inside of my Sticky Toffee Pudding was still cake mixture consistency and although I appreciate it is meant to be very moist, this just wasn't cooked. My daughter had the same, her's tasted burnt, so two more plates returned, barely touched. They offered us a bottle of wine which we declined, as two of the party were driving, but what they should have offered was a full refund. I can't believe that Kathryn and Chris had to pay in full up front and then spend the whole of the meal apologising for the terrible food. I appreciate that it was going to be busy, but that does not in any way excuse the terrible quality of the food. Our kids had forked out a considerable amount to spoil both of us mum's and we felt terrible for them. So the only good thing about the whole experience: the starter. Would I go back or recommend - absolutely not. This was the first time us two mum's had been out for Mother's Day lunch and Kathryn and Chris had booked Beamish Hall after reading the glowing reports on Trip Advisor. I feel they were ripped off and mislead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRayners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Took my mum for afternoon tea. The whole experience was fabulous.
The gardens and hotel were beautiful. The staff friendly and welcoming. The selection of sandwich cakes and scones were mouthwatering. Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cramlington northumberland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Just been to Beamish Hall for afternoon tea which had been a xmas present from a lovely friend, and wow we were not disappointed. It is the first time we had been to the hotel and from the moment we drove in it just got better and better. We were served in the eden suite by Tony and he made our visit special. He told us the history behind the hall and then went and got us an information sheet. The afternoon tea was superb, and the cakes were to die for, we ended up with a doggy bag. Ample coffee with the right amount of attention. At the end Tony showed us one of the superior rooms and then where the stable bar was. The hotel has a gem in Tony and he is an excellent advocate for selling the virtues of the hotel. We will be back, this time to stay.

Room Tip: Room 102 was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 102 (premier room) last night for my birthday. When we arrived the reception lady was just lovely and very helpful. Sometimes it can feel like staff just reel off a script and lack interest but this lady was quite the opposite. She made us feel very welcome. The room was splendid, and absolutely massive as well as in keeping with the period of the building! Loved the four poster bed and jacuzzi bath, luxury! Only one thing that was bad, it was too hot in the night, but this was probably down to us having the heating on too high for too long. Good breakfast too, and made to order! Thanks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beamish
0.9 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
9.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
22.4 mi away
Best Western Walworth Castle Hotel
12.6 mi away
Best Western Whitworth Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Beamish, Beamish DH9 0YB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Beamish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beamish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th-century listed hall is set in 24 acres of parkland, just 5 miles from the A1(M)Junction 63. Beamish Hall is situated halfway between the City of Durham (8 miles) and the City of Newcastle upon Tyne (8 miles). Beamish Hall is next door to Beamish Museum - The North of England's Open Air Museum. Close to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beamish Hall Country Hotel
Beamish Hall Country Stanley
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing